Doggie Days of Smithtown

Woof woof!  Oh man, The rains fell on Smithtown today but Doggie Day happened!  I wanted to hold this event to introduce my work grounds to a new audience of people, and we did just that.  Even though yesterday it POURED and today there was drizzle, we had about 70 or so doggies come, and those who did had a wonderful time.  We hosted an animal blessing, a herding demonstration, we played sit-and-stay musical chairs, we learned about grooming, we learned about aggression, we read doggie stories, we played around with the farm animals.  I am so glad I did it, and I think we are going to try again for next year, just in the spring.

Enjoy some photos!  And thank you to everyone who donated to our raffles!  You helped my little historical society make some new friends!

Pinkie

Me and Momma's Boss

Animal Blessing

Woof

Grooming Demo

Herding Demo

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. cecilia07
    Oct 03, 2015 @ 18:20:03

    Triple bravo for a very successful day and new friends.
    Hugs
    Madi and mom your bfff

  2. Yamini MacLean
    Oct 03, 2015 @ 18:50:32

    Hari OM
    So glad to see you…. had been wondering how things were going! Now the big day is done and a good turn out for a first event… so sorry the weather did the dump – but it doesn’t seem to have dampened spirits too much! Bravo to all and well done for already planning another!!! YAM xx

  3. Military Wife & Pug Life
    Oct 03, 2015 @ 19:18:30

    Omgosh that little pink stroller is exactly what I want to buy MaddiethePug!!

  4. Lassie Benji
    Oct 03, 2015 @ 22:05:59

    I am glad u didnt let the weather ruin your event. Also glad u made new friends at the event. Kudos to u. The springtime event sounds nice. Maybe u could do a scavenger hunt fur pets like how kids have Easter egg hunts?

  5. easyweimaraner
    Oct 04, 2015 @ 05:55:06

    what a super event! and I’m so glad that 70 doggies came and enjoyed all that cool things… I would like to watch a herding demonstration, although my momma said I’m egg-stremely far away to become a herding dog once …

  6. Kismet
    Oct 04, 2015 @ 20:41:42

    It will rain in Lon Gisland in the apring also.

  7. rubytheairedale
    Oct 04, 2015 @ 23:05:51

    OMD, how FABulous is that??!! I love it! I’m glads everyone had a great time, even if their paws got a little wet…
    Kisses,
    Ruby ♥

  8. Lee
    Oct 11, 2015 @ 14:07:08

    Rain on your day ~ why that just sucks. But it still sounds like a good turn out. It was nice that you had the Blessing of The Animals. No one can predict the weather and you certainly did a lot of work to pull it together.
    Thanks for being a friend
    Sweet William The Scot

  9. Kathy Webb
    Oct 13, 2015 @ 09:51:26

    You are brave and hearty souls, to enjoy Doggie Day in the rain! But I’m glad it was very successful! Proud Finn in a Parade with the Poodle Scarf! BOL
    Molly & Kathy

  10. cafall
    Oct 13, 2015 @ 15:42:34

    I’m so glad you had a good day! A little rain never hurt anyone. 🙂

    Monty and Harlow

