Smithtown Doggie Day

It’s totally happening people.  Totally.  I can’t believe it.  And, I forgot to email myself the flier to post for you all, so to see the fun ad we made, go here and then scroll down to our October events.  Here’s the skinny…

It’s October 3rd, which is one day before the Feast of St. Francis, the blesser of animals.  I got the church across the street to agree to come one over and start our day with a blessing.  AND, announce in their bulletin that our blessing is the only blessing they are doing for the weekend, encouraging their parishioners to come on over.  BOOM.

Then we’ve got some lectures.  How to resuscitate your dog, how to properly brush your dog’s fur, a herding demo (yeah, we’ve got sheep), and maybe an agility demo.  We’re working on that.  We’ve got the town photographers doing a doggie photo booth.  I’ve got musical chairs with dogs as a game.  I’ve got a local artist whose written a kids book on dogs doing some readings.  I’ve got the Guide Dog Foundation for the Blind coming.  I’ve got the Suffolk ASPCA coming.  I’ve got our local Smithtown Animal Shelter coming for adoptions.  I’ve got raffles….LB Johnson, Jones Natural Dog Chews, Chewy.com, Bark Box…all donors…THANK YOU!  I’ve got to circle back on my local pet store to reel them in again, we’ve lost touch.  I’ve got a Hot Dawg truck coming.

I AM PSYCHED.  What say you Blogville!  Get your butts out to Long Island October 3rd!

12 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Military Wife
    Aug 14, 2015 @ 22:58:26

    Exciting! Wish we lived closer!!

  2. Kismet
    Aug 15, 2015 @ 00:57:47

    I’d love to go to Lone Geyeland in October but it’s the busy time of year for us.

  3. easyweimaraner
    Aug 15, 2015 @ 04:30:56

    Oh I wish I could come…. can the hotdog truck ship some tube steaks over the big pond to me?

  4. cecilia07
    Aug 15, 2015 @ 08:45:02

    Yay double yay! Finn and Charley…your mom is an excellent planner!
    Hugs
    Madi your bfff

  5. Genevieve Petrillo
    Aug 15, 2015 @ 09:45:21

    That sounds like a blast! A really full to the tippy-top Doggie Day! So fun.

    Love and licks,
    Cupcake

  6. Yamini MacLean
    Aug 15, 2015 @ 11:33:37

    Hari OM
    OMD…. I thought it had been quiet at your end… but you have been beetling away at making things happen – well done and oh I can feel the excitement all the way over here in The Bonny Land!!! Hugs and wags, YAM-aunty xxx

  7. Lee
    Aug 15, 2015 @ 14:50:17

    If I lived within a hundred miles of you I would certainly be there and you could bet I would be dressed for the costume event and I could even have my own reader dog booth. We did that here for an event. Now about the $1.00 per paw that means four green papers ~ well worth your money. The last event we went to had a pet psychic reader boy was that fun. Lee was told I had absolutely nothing on my mind. The psychic had a lot she got from other dogs, or so she told their owners. Lee told me the psychic was wrong, it wasn’t that I had nothing on my mind ~ it was I had nothing in my mind or no mind at all.
    Thanks for being a friend
    Sweet William The Scot

  8. rubytheairedale
    Aug 15, 2015 @ 15:07:24

    OMD!!! Congrats! Sounds like a FABulous time! I only wish we were not across the country!
    Kisses,
    Ruby ♥

  9. Lassie and Benji
    Aug 15, 2015 @ 16:58:42

    Sounds like its gonna be a pawsome event! We looked at your flyer in the events section. I love the heart paw prints.

  10. LB Johnson
    Aug 15, 2015 @ 19:55:07

    I sure wish we lived closer. What an incredibly fun and informative event. I hope you have lots of photos.

    Abby Lab

  11. Murphy & Stanley
    Aug 16, 2015 @ 16:17:10

    We wish we could!!!!!!!!!!

    Your Pals,

    Murphy & Stanley

  12. wallaceandsamuel
    Aug 17, 2015 @ 02:22:24

    O…M…D this event is going to be EPIC!! You guys must be SO proud of your momma! We’ve put in our request to fly over and join in the fun…mom says she and dada need to discuss it, something about frequent flyer miles and being spoiled.
    Wally & Sammy

