Smithtown’s Dog Day Update

SOOOOO much has happened since I posted about my Dog Day plans!  We are a go for October 3rd from 12pm-4pm.  If you are in the metro New York area with your pooch, save the date…

Our local pet store in Smithtown, Pet Supplies Plus, has sent off our sponsorship information to corporate.  They are totally ready to hook us up with raffle prizes, sponsorship, and all out support.  Woohoo.  Miss Sydney at Chewy.com secured us a raffle basket, and Madi, and LB said they would donate items for raffle baskets too!  I’ve reached out to Flea from Jones Natural Chews who is working on her people.  We have two vendors for our vendor area, Scoochie Pet and a lovely woman who sells doggie charms locally.

I have a soft yes from other doggie groups in the area to join us, but I will save the details on those until I know more.

I have sent letters to every vet, groomer, and doggie place in town!  There’s one trainer who is seriously thinking about doing some demos.  We can’t wait!  I am hoping to get a vet do some doggie health lectures too.

And I am sponsoring our event’s hydration station.  We can’t have our doggies go thirsty while they are out there exploring the farm, now can we?

Now, we need some food don’t we?  Long Island’s Hot Dawg Truck will be there.  You think October will be too cold to get maybe an ice cream truck there?  Maybe an icie place?  What do you think?  I’d like a dessert option there.  I’ve reached out to a couple of places who make doggie ice cream, but they don’t want to take a chance on a first time event.  Harmph.

So who am I missing?  Is there anyone else from Blogville that I can reach out to?  Let me know folks.  I am so excited to see this come together!

15 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. bichonpawz
    Jul 07, 2015 @ 06:55:01

    It sure sounds like you have everything under control! What a fun time it will be!!

  2. veganlibrarianintheburbs
    Jul 07, 2015 @ 07:05:10

    So exciting! Have you considered having a pet photographer or portrait artist there? I think that would be fun.

  3. Yamini MacLean
    Jul 07, 2015 @ 09:16:35

    Hari OM
    Crikey – you’re gonna be busy!!! I do hope it is a supery-dupery success and many more will come of it… a cold(er)-weather option for ‘dessert’ might be roasting chestnuts???… or berry pies…. YAM xx

  4. cecilia07
    Jul 07, 2015 @ 09:35:52

    YOU ARE ON A ROLL!! WHAT A FUN DAY YOU HAVE PLANNED AND IT WILL BE A PRETTY TIME OF YEAR TO BE OUTSIDE
    HUGS MADI YOUR BFFF

  5. Kismet
    Jul 07, 2015 @ 10:26:04

    Sounds great to me. I know that you’re not supposed to scream “FIRE” in a crowded movie theater. Is it OK to scream “SQUIRREL” at a dog gathering?

  6. Mili Wifey
    Jul 07, 2015 @ 10:34:50

    That sounds so fun!

  7. Miss Harper Lee
    Jul 07, 2015 @ 12:28:19

    Wow! Sounds like you are going to have a very, very fun day. Do you think I can interest my humans in a New Orleans-to-New York road trip?

  8. Frankie and Ernie
    Jul 07, 2015 @ 14:06:21

    It is gonna be EPIC fur sure…

  9. Murphy & Stanley
    Jul 07, 2015 @ 15:22:48

    How exciting when things start coming together!

    Your Pals,

    Murphy & Stanley

  10. Idaho PugRanch
    Jul 07, 2015 @ 17:54:18

    Sounds like you are getting things lined up! How fun!
    hugs
    Mr Bailey, Hazel & Mabel

  11. wallaceandsamuel
    Jul 08, 2015 @ 02:25:38

    OMD! Tit is going to be PAWSOME! High Five Paws for all the hard work you’ve done so far Auntie Marianne.
    BIG licks,
    Wally & Sammy

  12. Lee
    Jul 08, 2015 @ 09:55:44

    I wish I was in the area I would definitely come for sure. You mentioned about getting a vet. Well think perhaps of a vet tech. They do a lot of things for our pets and are quite knowledgeable. This person keeps e-mailing me about putting a post on my blog Andrea Hupp perhaps she can put you in touch with someone in your area or come up with some ideas.
    Wish I could be there.
    Sweet William The Scot

  13. Lee
    Jul 08, 2015 @ 09:57:27

