The pony. Got out.

That’s right.  The pony.  Got out.  This guy.  You’ve seen him before.  Here we are sharing a tender moment eating peanuts.

Bicuit

Well, he had forgotten all about that one afternoon last week when he slipped out past his fence and went for a little adventure.  I almost had a heart attack.

The story unfolded like this…Someone stopped by asking for someone on my staff.  I noticed she wasn’t at her desk, so I poked my head outside to look for her and one of my volunteers said, “Oh, she’s getting the pony back in.”

I run.  There’s my staffer with the pony, just grazing in a field.  “This isn’t good?” I say.  “No, not great,” she says.

We spend the next two and a half hours getting him back back into his pen.  He starts to eat treats from me and we begin to walk back to where he belongs.  He wises up.  He then began a good twenty minute period where he decided to just run through our property.  Twice, he sprinted towards our entrance gate, towards the traffic, towards cars, people, you name it.  All I could do was run after him in horror, shrieking out his name and “STOOPPPPPPP!” at the top of my lungs.

After all the excitement, he followed one of my volunteers back into his pen, munching on some good  treats.  You can see that here.  Cute, eh?  Yeah.  Real cute.

I want to kill the person whose carelessness lead to him escaping, but  that’s another story.  I don’t want to tell our vet that I ran around one afternoon trying to coax him back in.  Then, I thought, hey, maybe someone on here knows someone who blogs about horses who might be able to give me some friendly advice about what to do if this ever happens again??  Because my heart won’t be able to take it if I have to!

17 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. wallaceandsamuel
    Jun 04, 2015 @ 06:31:02

    Our Auntie Kym knows all about horses, we’ll ask her for you.
    Wally& Sammy

  2. Yamini MacLean
    Jun 04, 2015 @ 06:39:44

    Hari OM
    …well, weigh it up…I’m a pony and I can choose (at least for a while)…. perfectly comfy pen with lots of treats… wide open spaces…. perfectly comfy pen with lots of treats…. wide open spaces… oh yeaaahhh….. Glad things ended up with no harm done.

    Except perhaps some blood pressures…. YAM xx

  3. easyweimaraner
    Jun 04, 2015 @ 07:03:31

    I’m glad this adventure ended well… I never found out what trick could work in case of a “prison break”…. I once tried to bring our neighbors horse back to his meadow, but this giant breton horse decided rather to eat the flowers on my window sill than to go back home with me… and after my flower boxes were empty, the horse did the first step and his hoof landed on my only flip-flop-covered foot :o( butt now I can answer the question of John Baez, I know were all the flowers have gone :o)

  4. Madi and Mom
    Jun 04, 2015 @ 07:58:58

    Marianne I have a blogging friend who owns and shows horses. I sent her the link to your blog asking if she could help. What a scare you all had…not to mention a romp in the fields
    hugs cecilia

  5. Ramona
    Jun 04, 2015 @ 08:39:55

    Hey Marianne,
    I’m Cecilia’s friend. We have horses, ours know the feed bucket. So when we need to put our hands on them we put feed in it and shake it. They are all Halter Broken.

    They all have designated feeding spots. We holler “come up” and shake the bucket going to their feeding spot. In our case, their feeding spot is that they all have separate stalls with doors and a feed bucket attached to the wall.

    We feed grain twice a day. Like I said they know “come up”. And they know the grain rattling in the bucket means it’s time to eat. They automatically go to their stalls.

    They get so conditioned to feed, come up and the act of feeding that we can catch them up like this for the vet, the farrier, worming or just feeding early if we need to do so.

    If the pony is not halter broken, then I would suggest that you definitely get him that way. Because then you might have been able to walk up to him with a bucket and put a halter or a rope around it’s neck and led it back to where he belonged.

    The feed bucket, treats and a lot of time is necessary to get them to where you can walk up to them at any time and put your hands on them.

    Hope this helps.

    • finnhoward
      Jun 04, 2015 @ 08:47:59

      Hi Ramona – Thank you so much!! Since I prepped this for posting, I found out that our groundsman is able to walk him back to his pen with a rope on his neck, and he was out on vacation. They call him “Pony Whisperer!” I really appreciate you taking the time to read and write to me! And I will definitely find out more about training/come up.

  6. Mily Wifey
    Jun 04, 2015 @ 09:46:48

    Oh no. Glad he’s safely back in!

  7. Murphy & Stanley
    Jun 04, 2015 @ 10:38:15

    We only know about dogs escaping, sorry!

    Your Pals,

    Murphy& Stanley

  8. dorysbackyard
    Jun 04, 2015 @ 11:00:25

    Sounds like you got some wonderful advice!
    Smileys!
    Dory, Jakey, Arty & Bilbo

  9. Kismet
    Jun 04, 2015 @ 11:08:57

    I’d double check the corral.

  10. Taryn
    Jun 04, 2015 @ 16:41:34

    In a bind, grab your dog leash and head to the pony with fabulous treats (something sweet usually does the trick). Don’t let him see the leash, just the treats. Feed a couple and while he is pre-occupied just slip the leash over his neck near his head, and then pull the leash thru the leash handle, and voila!, you have caught your pony. With a few more treats he should happily follow you / be lead back to his pen.

  11. Frankie and Ernie
    Jun 04, 2015 @ 17:24:56

    OMD our Mom and Dad have to do this Catching of the Horse thingy about once a year…. One came to our hill from OVER a mile away… Here is how our dad does it…. he gets BIRD FOOD…. in a shallow bowl or pan…. and puts one of our strong leashes in his pocket… and he just walks up…. talking and shaking the food in the pan… and when the horse isn’t looking… he puts the leash around their neck and runs the SNAP through the Handy Hold thingy… and then WALKS UP and DOWN the Road…. looking fur where it belongs…
    He says the trick it to be Sneaky with the leash…
    OH and One time we didn’t have bird food so he used CHEERIOS and a cut up apple…

  12. susieandsidebite
    Jun 04, 2015 @ 17:29:16

    Don’t know about him….but we gots a horse behind us that gets out and just comes right to our back gate to visit……we give him nose lickies and pretty soon his owner comes and gets him….and throws a treat our way for helping.

    The Mad Scots

  13. Mitch and Molly
    Jun 04, 2015 @ 17:52:12

    Thank goodness he’s safe and where he should be!

    Love ya lots♥
    Mitch and Molly

  14. Lassie and Benji
    Jun 04, 2015 @ 21:08:48

    Reminds mommy of a story she heard where a horse jumped a fence at night and all these big manly police officers were trying to surround the horse. Anyway they woke up a little old lady who knew the horse, the old lady came out in her nightgown (and i think an apple) and the little old lady called the horses name and caught the horse.

    Its a funny image all the big men standing around hopeless and a little old lady catching the horse like a hero.

  15. LB Johnson
    Jun 04, 2015 @ 21:47:25

    i’m so glad everyone is safe and sound. Good thing you were there. Thanks for attending the Blogvile dance and I wanted to let you know you won one of Mom’s prizes, an autographed copy of either The Book of Barkley or Saving Grace – A Story of Adoption. If you do not wish to give out your address, Mom can send a kindle copy that can be read on any computer, with just an email. Let her know in a comment that she won’t post publicly and which book you want and she’ll get it out. Thanks again for joining in the fun.

    Abby the Lab

  16. Charlie
    Jun 04, 2015 @ 23:51:01

    Crikey Mum can’t even get me back if I escape. She’s got no idea on horses. Me either …… sorry!!!!!!

