Show and Tell – The Gift I Hated

Momma taking over here to join in Bacon’s Show and Tell for today!  Today’s Show and Tell was a gift that I hated.  I thought about writing this from Finn and Charley’s perspective, but that didn’t seem to work, I mean they just love everything.  So, I can can definitely tell you about something I received that I did not like.  I actually bought it for myself….

On a vacation a few years back, I decided it would be fun to visit the Capilano Suspension Bridge in Vancouver.

IMG_5639

It was my idea, and I made all the arrangements.  The day comes to go and the plans fall into motion.  We would catch a bus from our hotel that would take us to the park and we would spend the day there, away from the city.  When we get there, we decide that before we try out the suspension bridge, we would first try the sky walk.  Easy peasy.

Suspension 1 IMG_5632

Great!  Fun!  Look at me, I’m a rock star!

Then, we move over to the suspension bridge.

Bridge 2

I start to head out on the bridge.  My knees buckle.  I panic.  My hands start sweating.  I have to turn around and head back to the beginning.  I walk over to a bench, I watch person after person after person walk across the bridge and make it to the other side in complete safety.  I try again.  I take a step.  I feel the bridge sway in the wind.  I begin to cry.  I walk off it again.  I sit to the side for a second time, watching everyone else walk across.  I try for the third time.  This time, a complete meltdown.  Hysterics.  People staring.  Snot streaming down from my nose.  We literally have to leave the park because my fears have just taken control of my body and I broke down.  Ugh, it was horrible.  I hated myself for not being able to go over it!

The rest of our time in Vancouver was really nice – I would highly recommend it to anyone considering a visit there.  But I will just never forget this one thing!

So there you have it, a gift I hated….given to me by myself!

17 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. easyweimaraner
    May 29, 2015 @ 06:00:12

    I’m with you… I wouldn’t enter that bridge… not even for moneeh or cake… I’m so sorry that it turned into a horror-movie…. :o(

  2. PigLove
    May 29, 2015 @ 09:52:37

    Oh my dear piggy heavens – I would RUN like a streak in the wind squealing from that thing. There is no way I could do it either. Nothing could make me – not even a bucketful of bananas and apples (my favorites) on the other side. I’m with you my sweet friend – I would gladly sit on the sidelines with you. XOXO – Bacon
    P.S. I think I wet myself just reading your post – snorts

  3. dorysbackyard
    May 29, 2015 @ 10:22:18

    Oh my…what a “not so wonderful” experience! I don’t think I would have been able to venture all the way across either….bridges really shouldn’t sway….

  4. Madi and Mom
    May 29, 2015 @ 11:39:56

    OH MARIANNE I TRULY KNOW YOUR FEELING. WE HAVE THE MILE HIGH SWINGING BRIDGE IN OUR MOUNTAINS…I’VE TRIED UNSUCCESSFULLY MANY TIMES TO CROSS IT ONLY TO ACTUALLY MAKE A FEW STEPS. I DON’T KNOW IF WHEN YOU CROSS THE SUSPENSION BRIDGE YOU HAVE ANOTHER WAY OTHER THAN A RETURN TRIP BUT ON OURS ONCE ACROSS YOU TO MAKE IT A CROSS A RETURN TRIP THE SAME WAY IS THE ONLY WAY BACK….I MIGHT MAKE IT ACROSS ONCE BUT I’D PROBABLY GET OVER TO THE OTHER SIDE TO BE STUCK FOR LIFE OR UNTIL RESCUE SQUAD COMES FOR ME.
    LOTS OF HUGS CECILIA

  5. Kismet
    May 29, 2015 @ 12:48:58

    Come to Arizona where you won’t go on the bridge over part of the Grand Canyon.

  6. Murphy & Stanley
    May 29, 2015 @ 13:04:58

    Our mom totally understands being scared of the bridge! She had to go over one that crossed from Canada to the USA on an International hike. She finally did it but dog was she scared!

    Your Pals,

    Murphy & Stanley

  7. Frankie and Ernie
    May 29, 2015 @ 16:18:20

    OMD OMD WE totally UNDERSTAND this one…. WE would not do it… and you couldn’t even get our MOM….. CLOSE to it…
    SHIVER SHAKE SHIVER….

  8. LB Johnson
    May 29, 2015 @ 17:14:38

    I don’t even like the ramp mom uses to get me up into her tall four wheel drive truck. No ways a I going on that lovely piece of suspension engineering (I mean deathtrap).

    Abby the Lab

  9. Mitch and Molly
    May 29, 2015 @ 18:18:27

    Your momma is not alone, boys. Our mom wouldn’t had stuck one foot on that bridge without screaming bloody murder. She’s not a huge fan of heights at all!

    Love ya lots♥
    Mitch and Molly

  10. susieandsidebite
    May 29, 2015 @ 19:01:03

    Well don’t feel so bad….it seems like every peep has something that turns them to jelly….our Dad hates needles!

    The Mad Scots

  11. Ranger
    May 29, 2015 @ 19:09:04

    Oh my. I think dat da sky bridge looks scary and you did dat. No way would you catch my Mom on a swinging bridge.
    Wags,
    Ranger

  12. Lassie and Benji
    May 29, 2015 @ 20:35:13

    That looked scary. Mommy would have sat on the bench next to u. See thats what friends are fur.

  13. Idaho PugRanch
    May 29, 2015 @ 23:07:17

    Oh our mom would have been right there with you, she is petrified of heights.
    hugs
    Mr Bailey, Hazel & Mabel

  14. wallaceandsamuel
    Jun 01, 2015 @ 01:37:00

    We started reading the post and then realised that it is was more for mom, so we handed it over to her. Mom started reading and this is basically how it went: “oh no. no. no. no.” … “Marianne what were you thinking” … “Oh HELL no!”

    To sum it up, there is NO WAY you would get mom on that bridge – she’d be crying twice as hard as you *BOL*

    Wally & Sammy

  15. Cinnamon
    Jun 01, 2015 @ 08:00:48

    We know how painful that must have been.
    My mom doesn’t even like Deception Pass Bridge.
    She said hell no I won’t go over that.
    xo Cinnamon

  16. Taryn
    Jun 01, 2015 @ 12:38:40

    I definitely have a fear of heights so my reaction might well have been the same. I remember one time climbing to the top of a very high waterslide with a nearly vertical drop. I had to take the walk of shame back down. There was NO WAY I was going to drop down that thing!

  17. Kathy Webb
    Jun 02, 2015 @ 18:20:28

    I am really with you on that crazy suspension bridge! The slightest step anybody makes shakes the whole thing! Very spooky! I could not do that one in Vancouver!! You are a braver woman than me!! lol

