GeoDog Day!

geodogbadge1

Hewwwow!  Finnackles, your Director of Parks and Recreation here, along with my buddy Gizmo, the Outdoor Woodsman Guide!  Today we are going to tell you about Geodog Day!  Oh yes, you read right.  If all of our talk of geocaches didn’t give you a big enough hint that this was coming, then I dunno what to tell ya!  Geodog Day is officially August 16th!  You have two weeks to go out and find (or give a really good effort to find) a geocache.  And, you know we are flexible…if you aren’t a dog, you can send your peeps out to find one for you. And in between now and then I am going to show you some examples of ones we have found, ok, so don’t fret.

This is a long post, so grab your comfy pillow before you hunker down…

I am going to explain how to find a geocache using the app for your Iphone.  I would imagine the Android app is very similar.  Wanna see how it’s done using your computer and a hand-held GPS?  Then head on over to Gizmo’s Blog.  His post today is for folks who don’t have a smart phone.

Ok, first thing is first dogs.  Get your peeps to turn on the phone.  Hey, just because it is a smart phone DOES NOT MEAN OUR PEEPS ARE SMART.  Let’s admit it.  Go to the Apps page and search for “geocaching.”  There is a free app and there is a $10 app.  I will walk you through the free app.  If you download the $10 app and have a problem using it, let me know and I will email you with some help.

Free app in App Store

Free app in App Store

Ok, download the free app.  Go get a biscuit.  When you open it up, it will look like this:

2013-07-19 11.12.49

You click your way through the introduction and click on the area where it will find you three nearby caches. It will look like this:

2013-07-19 11.22.29

You can click on each one, read each description, each hint, see where each one is on a map.  You select one and click on Navigate Me and it will pop up a map showing where you are (the blue dot) to where it is (the green dot).  You can follow a map  or turn your app into a compass and follow along as you get closer.

2013-07-19 11.23.32

Now, what are you looking for?  This is the tricky part – you are looking for anything really that can hide a log (a piece of paper which you will sign).  There may also be a takeaway items, but you have to leave something in order to take something.  So, leave a penny, take a rubber bracelet, for example.  The caches can be nano, or they can be larger tupperware bins.  Caches can be magnetic on the side of a lightpost or they can be hidden under logs or in the base of a hollowed out tree.  The point is to go somewhere new and check it all out.  When you find the cache, you sign the log and hide it back in the same spot you found it so the next person can find it.  Then you click on your app that you’ve found it!  (With the free app, you have to go back to the website and log your find under your username manually in order fot it to take).

That was a lot.  Go get a drink of water.

Now head on over to the geocaching website and create a free account and start playing.  I always check out the website before I head out to find a cache.  Some folks post hints and pictures, and it gives me a better idea of what I am looking for, cause I am still a newbie at this too!  And when you download the app, I just suggest that you click around.  It’s very intuitive and easy to follow.

Here I go with finding a cache.

This is me finding the Cache called “Riverhead View.” (#GC1HAY4).  The location is the Peconic Riverwalk, a place I visited in the rain for Park Day 2.0!  Very pretty!  We went for a walk there one summer day with our pups and decided to see if there was a cache around.  Click on the link for the description of the cache – you see at the top it tells me the cache is a small size and the terrain isn’t difficult and overall, the cache is fairly easy to find.

2013-06-15 13.33.42

The hint told us to bring our lunch, so I knew I was approaching the location when I saw two picnic tables.  I searched one table, but had to wait to folks to move from the other table before we could search.  We hung out down the walkway.  The idea is not to be seen by muggles, which are non-geocachers.

2013-06-15 13.22.25

The hint also said to reach under, so that I did.  There was a small, black box with magnets affixed underneath the table to a pole which holds the table legs to the cement.  We signed the log and went on our merry way.

2013-06-15 13.26.59

So, that’s it! I know this was a long post, but it is really really easy. So, you have two weeks geodogs to download the app, or follow along with Gizmo’s instructions today, and find a cache. Or give a good effort to try to find one!  I will be showing you some examples of what to look for, and how to play again, for the next few posts.  On Friday, August 16th, we will have a linky link up and join in on that. And of course, we have prizes. We will randomly draw for some prizes from your pawesome hosts!

So….get hunting!  You can befriend us on the geocaching website; our profile is hobbes706 and Gizmo’s @GizmoGeodog AND Gizmo’s Momma is JerseyGirl & Bruno.  And take the badge at the top of the page if you are going to play!

40 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Daisy
    Aug 02, 2013 @ 02:22:12

    We’ll google to see if there are any near us. We don’t have a Smart phone….or even a stupid mobile.

    XXXOOO Daisy, Bella & Roxy

  2. Molly The Wally
    Aug 02, 2013 @ 04:36:48

    Wishing you both good luck. We can’t join in as we are spending our time making sure Pip is OK. She is old and her health is deteriorating. We just take it one day at a time. Have a fabulous Friday.
    Best wishes Molly

  3. jack joseph's mom
    Aug 02, 2013 @ 06:15:06

    Reblogged this on jack joseph's mom and commented:
    We ❤ Geocaching! This is a great post from our friends Finn & Charley describing the Geocaching app! We are looking forward to Geodog day, too!

    XOXO,
    Harley & Abbey

  4. Nikitaland
    Aug 02, 2013 @ 06:23:02

    This sounds like a lot of fun! Can you take pictures for the next post of yours as to what is inside a “box”, and take a picture of some of the things you have collected! That would be interesting to see what they are!

    • finnhoward
      Aug 02, 2013 @ 06:32:14

      That would be fun! I have actually never done a swap. I am still happy to find the cache and never think to bring swag with me!

      Sent from my iPhone

  5. Genevieve Petrillo
    Aug 02, 2013 @ 06:28:47

    Yay! Mom got the free app on her phone last week. I am dying to go, but she is still babying her sore, surgery knee. She keeps saying the word “Soon” and putting an ice pack on her leg. I think she’s stalling.

    Love and licks,
    Cupcake

  6. mollieandalfie
    Aug 02, 2013 @ 06:58:17

    You have the bestest fun Finn, we are sure we have one near us, gonna check it out 🙂 Have a super weekend xx00xx

    Mollie and Alfie

  7. Phantom, Ciara, and Lightning
    Aug 02, 2013 @ 07:00:32

    Thanks for the lesson, Finn. Now if we can get Mom’s back to be doing better, maybe we can do some geocaching too.

    Woos – Phantom, Ciara, and Lightning

  8. Emmadog
    Aug 02, 2013 @ 07:44:36

    Have fun, it is just too complicated for us with walking several dogs, no hands for the phone.

  9. easyweimaraner
    Aug 02, 2013 @ 07:57:32

    Wow – count me in . That sounds great! We will use the gps of the elephant skate for the first time, I hope my staff is clever enough to find this cache-thingy.

  10. Lassie and Benji
    Aug 02, 2013 @ 08:49:54

    Sounds pawsome! Interesting hearing that some cache thingy’s are magnetic.

  11. Reilly Cowspotdog
    Aug 02, 2013 @ 10:04:47

    we would so love to do this but no smart phone 😦

  12. Pip
    Aug 02, 2013 @ 10:47:17

    As long as I can brings snacks and ride most of the way, I’m in!

    Your pal, Pip

  13. Idaho PugRanch
    Aug 02, 2013 @ 11:04:49

    We have no smart phone either dang it.
    hugs
    Bailey, Hazel & Greta

  14. Stella Rose
    Aug 02, 2013 @ 12:06:22

    well we thought that was finding GEODE rocks like mom collects and that we were wayyyy ahead of the game…dang it!
    stella rose

  15. Dolly the Doxie
    Aug 02, 2013 @ 12:17:03

    I just let Gizmo know that we are on board! Can’t wait to try it! Love Dolly

  16. Urban hounds
    Aug 02, 2013 @ 12:50:01

    We r going on blog break in a week but of I do again in fall we will try
    Urban hounds

  17. Murphy Campbell
    Aug 02, 2013 @ 12:53:29

    This seems to be something that would be very fun. We will tell our pawrents about it and see if they can figure it out – thanks!

    Your Pals,

    Murphy & Stanley

  18. kirbysdawgblog
    Aug 02, 2013 @ 13:40:38

    Soo cool! Geocaching looks sooo fun, I have a feeling I might have trouble taking part in my little town but you never know I will have to look into it. Great review Finn!

  19. GizmoGeodog
    Aug 02, 2013 @ 13:53:43

    Finny you did a super job of explaining the app and you’re definitely on your way to being a great geodog…I’m so excited to have our furriends join us for Geodog Day … I can’t wait to read their stories 🙂

  20. rubytheairedale
    Aug 02, 2013 @ 13:57:51

    You guys rock! Now, if I can gets Ma’s arse off the puter, maybe we can find one!!!
    Wish me luck!
    Kisses,
    Ruby ♥

  21. Two French Bulldogs
    Aug 02, 2013 @ 14:20:01

    Nutty stuff! We know a 2 legged that does this! Neat
    Benny & Lily

  22. http://dorysbackyard.blogspot.com/
    Aug 02, 2013 @ 15:08:16

    WOWOWOWOW!!! Finn, you just gave our Mama the bestest idea on how to get to know our new area, Thanks!!!

    Smileys!
    Dory, Jakey, Bilbo and Arty

  23. Miss Harper Lee
    Aug 02, 2013 @ 16:44:59

    I’m in. My humans can tend to be a bit technically challenged, so I may be on my own for this one. 🙂

  24. writetowag
    Aug 02, 2013 @ 20:09:05

    Looks so very fun…Enjoy!!!! We LOVE Giz!!!!

  25. sprinkles
    Aug 02, 2013 @ 21:30:34

    I signed up for a free account awhile back after reading one of your posts. I never did go looking though. Now I have an excuse!

  26. Three Well Beings
    Aug 03, 2013 @ 01:22:27

    I have wanted to do this for such a long time, and just haven’t known where to begin! Now I’m going to be hooked, I can just tell!

  27. Misaki
    Aug 03, 2013 @ 12:49:14

    I will try to join in but when I’ve cached before its been with my uncle Lee and I don’t think I’ll get to see him before the 16th. which means its down to mummy to sort out…

  28. cecilia07
    Aug 03, 2013 @ 16:21:48

    FINN AND GIZMMO….MAY I BE YOUR HEAD CHEERLEADER FOR THIS EVENT?
    I DON’T GO OUT SO I CANNOT PAWTICIPATE BUMMER.
    HUGS MADI YOUR BFFF

  29. 2browndawgs
    Aug 03, 2013 @ 18:32:07

    It sounds like so much fun. We are bummed that we have to miss this one. Like your badge a lot!

  30. Murphy Campbell
    Aug 03, 2013 @ 19:08:01

    Guess what we did today!! Our app looked totally different from yours (associated with geocaching.com) but we found our first (and second) geocaches! Our post will appear on the 16th. Thanks for the info!

    Your Pals,

    Murphy & Stanley

  31. Little Reufus
    Aug 03, 2013 @ 23:36:25

    OMD!!! It iss 10:30 at night and there iss one cache just 0.17 miles from our home!!! The second iss 0.53 miles and the fird iss 0.87 miles!!! Bring me the sunlight!!! And fank yeu fur telling me about thiss!!!

  32. Human Rescues Dog
    Aug 04, 2013 @ 04:29:22

    You’re making it sound like so much fun! I have to wait for summer here in Australia …

  33. garthriley2007
    Aug 04, 2013 @ 10:26:01

    You have piqued our interest about geocaching. Now I have to convince my mom that she needs to make some time for us to try it out!

    Garth

  34. wallaceandsamuel
    Aug 04, 2013 @ 14:06:19

    Oh WOW!! Finnie & Gizmo, you guys have totally outdone yourselves – it sounds grrrreat!!

  35. Trackback: easyblog THE ADVENTURE OF WEIMARANA JONES | Easy Blog
  36. Trackback: Something New | Cupcake Speaks
