Wind Sprints with Charley

Wordy Wednesday!
If you signed up for the Christmas in July, you should have received an email by now with your swap partner. Today, Sprinkles will have all the partners listed on her blog. Stop on over and see who is participating this year!

And, I am sorry about the problem with this post! When I created it on Saturday, I accidentally set it to post on 7/4 instead of 7/24. So those of you who get email notifications saw that I had a new post. But then I set it to a future date and you couldn’t see it. Here it is! Hope it was well worth the wait!

Well, I have had enough.  Enough of summer, enough of the heat, enough of being lazy.  Finn is not a fan of the heat but Charley doesn’t seem to mind as much.  So after reading this post last week at To Dog with Love, I decided Charley and I were doing wind sprints.

Our development ends near our backyard, so I decided we were going to use three points to run towards and then head back to our starting point.

1.  The basketball hoop

2.  The bend in the road

3.  Go around the bend in the road to the left of #2 back around to #3, back to start.

IMG_1452-001

I was prepared with the Get Off Your Butt, Work Out With Your Mutt shirt from Slim Doggy.  That’s right.  Finn and Charley got it for me for my birthday.  Little did they know it meant they would be getting of their butts too.  Muh huh huh *evil laugh*

IMG_1451

Ok, here we go…

IMG_1456

I could probably add this on to our early morning walks from time to time.  I know Charley got a little warm because on our way around the loop, he just caught across the grass back to our house.  I really had no problem with that, it was super hot!

I also want to give a shout out to Jack Joseph’s Mom.  She’s been doing a monthly fitness challenge and her posts motivated me to do this too.  She doesn’t know it, but one day when there was just me in the office, I did ten burpees in the conference room.  It was awesome!

25 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Madi and Mom
    Jul 24, 2013 @ 06:50:31

    MOL MOL MOL CHARELY I LOVE LAST PICTURE….WHO IS SPRINTING WITH WHOM?
    HUGS YOUR BFFF MADI

  2. jack joseph's mom
    Jul 24, 2013 @ 07:36:21

    Love!!! Yay on the burpees! Wind sprints sound awesome. If only my dogs would cooperate! That shirt is so cool. So proud of you!

  3. What Remains Now
    Jul 24, 2013 @ 07:44:55

    Wind sprints are no longer in my vocabulary, but with admiration, I’m glad they are still in yours.

  4. Kari
    Jul 24, 2013 @ 09:35:24

    I will work out with my mutt this weekend!

    Stop on by for a visit
    Kari
    http://dogisgodinreverse.com/

  5. Kathy Webb
    Jul 24, 2013 @ 10:07:47

    Great idea, working out with the dogs! Maybe you need some Oregon coast weather to cool you off. It was 49 degrees and foggy yesterday at lunch! We were running to keep warm! BOL
    Molly and Kathy

  6. easyweimaraner
    Jul 24, 2013 @ 10:13:50

    Please make a video of this event :o) I always have the leash in my mouth too – that feels like I would walk my staff LOL.

  7. Luke's Adventures
    Jul 24, 2013 @ 10:25:31

    I would totally join Charley in wind sprints! Especially with a leash in my mouth.

    Is it autumn yet? I’m well done with this searing heat.

  8. Kuruk
    Jul 24, 2013 @ 11:10:07

    Wind sprints are so much fun! I like to take Mama on them up the biggest hills! Woooooowooooooo, Ku

  9. Reilly & Denny
    Jul 24, 2013 @ 11:59:58

    Ohhhh love that t-shirt – of coarse we need one to make Mom slow down so we can sniff the pee mail!

  10. Miss Harper Lee
    Jul 24, 2013 @ 12:52:21

    Love that last picture of Charley walking you. I hope you were healing at a good pace. 🙂

  11. sprinkles
    Jul 24, 2013 @ 15:05:11

    I’ve always wanted to do something fun like that with my boys! I always seem to find an excuse not to though, like it’s too hot or cold.

    Is that Charley walking you or himself in that last pic? bol

    Thanks so much for co-hosting and pawticipating in the Christmas in July swap!

  12. Julia Williams
    Jul 24, 2013 @ 15:35:27

    How are either of you doing wind sprints in this heat? BOL! I like that t-shirt, except for the typo that always bugs me when I see it: work out is two words when “work” is a verb, and when you are doing a workout, it’s one word.

  13. Gizmo
    Jul 24, 2013 @ 15:37:41

    *highpaws* on the burpees! Love that t-shirt…maybe Gizmo will get me one *hint hint* It is motivating…good for you for starting those windsprints…easy way to get some running in even in all the heat

  14. Genevieve Petrillo
    Jul 24, 2013 @ 18:43:34

    Cool shirt! What a great idea!

  15. Lassie and Benji
    Jul 25, 2013 @ 08:55:01

    Love the picture with Charlie carrying the leash. Looks like he is the one who is taking you for a walk. LOL

  16. Urban hounds
    Jul 25, 2013 @ 12:04:43

    Wow I’m impressed with your activity
    Urban hounds

  17. Trackback: Join Me at My Happy Hour! | jack joseph's mom
  18. wallaceandsamuel
    Jul 25, 2013 @ 13:44:07

    We are super impressed – the thought of exercising in the blistering heat is not at all appealing, so well done!!

    Ah Chuck, we just love how you hold your lead like that BOL

    Hey Finnie-Pie … miss you…do you miss me too???

  19. Jan K
    Jul 25, 2013 @ 17:23:10

    I did have to wonder who was walking who in that last photo! 🙂
    Good for you and Charley for getting out there and doing it, especially in spite of the heat! We have started running some, but haven’t worked our way up to sprinting yet.
    I was lucky enough to win a SlimDoggy t-shirt, and I love it too!

  20. Jacobi
    Jul 25, 2013 @ 18:36:40

    Hurray for exercising with our people! We always love the company.

    Licks,
    Cobi

  21. 2browndawgs
    Jul 25, 2013 @ 19:35:54

    Good for you. I’m tired! 🙂

  22. Diane Silver (@ToDogWithLove)
    Jul 26, 2013 @ 10:20:38

    hee hee! So glad we could inspire you! I’m still sore after our workout with Dolvett. Love your wind sprint course AND that you did burpees in the conference room too!
    Your pals,
    DIane and Rocco

  23. SlimDoggy (@MySlimDoggy)
    Jul 26, 2013 @ 16:56:25

    What a great t-shirt 😉

