Avoidance

Charley’s avoidance of the pool continues. Should I just let him not enjoy the water? He doesn’t willingly get into a bath either, so I am wondering if there is a deep-rooted issue here. Or, should we keep trying? I don’t pick him up and try to throw him in anymore. I did throw a biscuit in the pool, and he waited for it to float towards the edge and then he pawed at it and stuck his face in. ย I more or less let him sniff around the pool and come back in to the house if he chooses. He has also just dipped his paws into the lake when we go…thoughts please?

photo-50

And a reminder….sign up for our Christmas in July swap! Click here for details!

50 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. mollie and alfie
    Jul 15, 2013 @ 06:09:38

    What if you got in with him ๐Ÿ™‚ and had treats? xx00xx

    Mollie and Alfie

  2. Nikitaland
    Jul 15, 2013 @ 06:18:16

    Is Charlie afraid of baths? I wonder if he is associating the pool with a bath? Could you pick him up and step into the pool with him, then slowly dip his paws in to feel the water? I think something like this will have to be dealt with slowly to NOT scare him. Good luck!

  3. Molly The Wally
    Jul 15, 2013 @ 06:49:01

    Think Mollies’ idea sounds good. Have a marvellous Monday.
    Best wishes Molly

  4. Madi and Mom
    Jul 15, 2013 @ 06:59:42

    Morning Finn and Charley
    One thing for sure I would not force him. He definitely had a very bad experience with water. Probably has no clue it can be fun!!! Eventually watching Finn having fun will get his curiosity. Mollie’s idea is good too. Seeing you and Finn in the pool having fun will be a positive thing.
    Hugs Madi and Mom

  5. Whisppy
    Jul 15, 2013 @ 07:00:06

    How about playing with Charley in the set up pool (but no water) and once he’s comfy playing and eating in there, start filling the pool slowly? Do you think that might work?

  6. humanrescuesdog
    Jul 15, 2013 @ 07:01:41

    Hannah is scared of water too – I think it’s best to let him explore on his own, if you try to force it it any way it will scare him off. What about getting him really really excited about a new toy and then throw the toy in the water so he’ll have to go in to get it? Although he might just pick it up with his mouth instead of getting into the water…

  7. Caren, Dakota and Cody
    Jul 15, 2013 @ 07:34:22

    I don’t see why he should have to use the pool if he doesn’t want to. You said you “don’t pick him up and throw him in anymore” did that happen? That is probably why he is afraid. I have heard that contrary to popular opinion, not all dogs like water. I say let him be. I agree with Human Rescues Dog. Let him explore on his own, if he doesn’t want to go in, so be it.

    • finnhoward
      Jul 15, 2013 @ 07:49:10

      I didn’t actually throw him in, no! I did pick him up and then place him in the pool when we first started using it this summer, that I did. I definitely didn’t hurl him through the air to land in the pool though, that’s just my funny side! ๐Ÿ™‚

  8. Emmadog
    Jul 15, 2013 @ 07:43:52

    Some dogs just don’t like to be wet or the pool. Even dogs that are supposed to love swimming may not like water. Don’t force him, if he wants to try at some point he will, otherwise, let it go. My sister won’t get in the pool either.

  9. Goose
    Jul 15, 2013 @ 07:54:24

    Yea for years MOM tried to get me to go into my gal pals big pool and go into ponds and rivers. Nope I was having none of it. She no longer tried. But then a couple of years ago I just went right into the river to save a stick and now I will go in water. Now I still don’t like it to be past my belly, but even when it is I can swim. My buddy Bert also helped me see that water is fun.
    Blessings,
    Goose

  10. Bouncing Bertie
    Jul 15, 2013 @ 08:02:27

    I think that maybe he has a little bit of terrier in him. We, on the whole, are not huge fans of water (although there are obviously exceptions). Don’t force the issue, would be my advice.
    Toodle pip!
    Bertie.
    PS Who needs baths anyway?

  11. Lily Belle & Muffin
    Jul 15, 2013 @ 08:53:15

    Muffin doesn’t like the water either (silly girl) so Mommy doesn’t force her into our pool. I however, will get right in there and dive for treats! Sometimes Mommy gets in the pool with me which is pretty funny. It looks like she out-grew it years ago ๐Ÿ™‚

    We say let Charlie be and do his own thing. Maybe someday he’ll come around.

    Hugs,
    Lily Belle

  12. easyweimaraner
    Jul 15, 2013 @ 09:54:01

    I agree wit Charley – water is a special thingy your love it or you hate it. I’m also not a fan of wet things. Maybe sometimes he will like it at a moment’s notice .

  13. Reilly & Denny
    Jul 15, 2013 @ 09:56:31

    Some dogs just don’t like water – much like some people don’t. My boys won’t even set foot in a puddle. Dogs can also pick up on when you want them to do something and it often make them more resistant….so maybe just let him choose whether he wants to play in it or not.

  14. Bailey
    Jul 15, 2013 @ 10:15:43

    Bailey got knocked into my brother’s pool by two golden’s when he was a pup and he’s been terrified of water ever since. As a result Katy has been resistant to try, too. My understanding is Shelties aren’t by nature water dogs, but there resistance is stronger than most. This summer we got them to wade a bit at the docks during one of our charity walks at a State Park. It was a big step forward for both of them.

    The only time they’ve ever been forced into water is for bathing.

  15. Frankie and Ernie
    Jul 15, 2013 @ 10:17:26

    Of COURSE we KNOW your didn’t HURL Charley into the water… it was just a fun thingy fur you to SAY you did.

    Our mom puts CARROTS and Floaty toys in the water fur us… Maybe you could try those.

  16. Eileen
    Jul 15, 2013 @ 10:31:39

    Dogs are different about water.
    My Amber used to love to swim, but Annie will only reluctantly have a little paddle.
    We live on the coast and she was scared of the waves from the very start.
    Don’t think you can force the issue really.

  17. Stella Rose
    Jul 15, 2013 @ 10:51:48

    My Mom is scared of water so she understands how he is feeling. I think the less said to him about it the better, he will go in (or not) when he is ready. Stella rose

  18. Kirsten
    Jul 15, 2013 @ 12:04:54

    My dogs like the water but they get spooked and won’t go in if they feel even the least bit forced. Maybe teach him that he can go in gradually on the steps, but for sure let him do it at his own pace. Treats and going in yourself are great ideas.

  19. tarynft
    Jul 15, 2013 @ 12:43:23

    How about trying a different body of water? Try a lake where Charlie can just get his feet wet on the edge. Do it on a hot day when the water will feel extra good. If Finn will go in all the way, Charlie can watch her…..

    I’ve never had a dog that didn’t love water….seems so odd!

  20. Blueberry's human
    Jul 15, 2013 @ 12:48:10

    As you know by now – Blueberry isn’t a fan of water except when it is on her terms. And she’s really weird about water at home vs water out in public. I have learned not to force her (except during bath time).

    I like Nikitaland’s suggestion though!

  21. Two French Bulldogs
    Jul 15, 2013 @ 13:14:27

    I am not a fan of wet feets but mom stands me in it. I drink it all the step out
    Benny & (Lily)

  22. Luke's Adventures
    Jul 15, 2013 @ 13:38:39

    I’m sure Charlie has his reasons for not liking the baby pool. Maybe in time he will. He’ll probably join Finn in the water one day, especially when it looks like too much fun.

  23. Idaho PugRanch
    Jul 15, 2013 @ 14:06:54

    I (Greta) like our pool but Bailey & Hazel do not and won’t willing get in it. So I get the pool all to myself!
    hugs
    Bailey, Hazel & Greta

  24. sprinkles
    Jul 15, 2013 @ 14:16:35

    I think that dogs are similar to people in that not all of them really like water. Growing up, we had poodles who just LOVED to play in the sprinkler. When they died, we got another dog who had no interest in it whatsoever. I’d say don’t force him, but let him decide if/when he wants to get in the pool.

    I do like Nikitaland’s suggestion of getting in the pool with him, slowly dipping his feet in and making it a positive experience for him.

  25. GizmoGeodog
    Jul 15, 2013 @ 14:44:39

    Like Mollie said, maybe if you get in with him he’ll feel more comfortable? Or just leave him to figure it out on his own? Charley may never become a water dog, but if he gets hot enough he might just give it a try

  26. Lassiter chase and Benjamin
    Jul 15, 2013 @ 14:47:41

    We like the shade in the house tokeep cool. Maybe charlie does too.

  27. Dolly the Doxie
    Jul 15, 2013 @ 14:49:20

    Wrong dog to ask I hate the water! But a retriever? Not natural, don’t force him otherwise it’ll make him worse (mom uhuhmmm). Love Dolly

  28. Tamara McRill
    Jul 15, 2013 @ 15:01:48

    Sounds like you’re doing a good job of taking it slow — sure seems like a deep issue. Maybe Charlie would like a sprinkler he can run in and out of better?

  29. Miss Harper Lee
    Jul 15, 2013 @ 15:03:19

    I’m with you, Charley. What is it about this obsession the humans have with getting us into those silly little pools? Let Finn have the pool to herself, and I say you and I grab a couple of towels and some tropical cocktails and hit the lounge chairs. ๐Ÿ™‚

  30. Tamara McRill
    Jul 15, 2013 @ 15:03:28

    Sounds like you’re doing a good job of taking it slow — sure seems like a deep issue. Maybe Charlie would like running through the sprinklers better?

  31. wallaceandsamuel
    Jul 15, 2013 @ 15:19:34

    We think that maybe he isn’t a water lover…kinda like me (Sammy). I’m happy to drink out the pool & bark at Wally while he is in it…I don’t need any 1st paw experience of it.

    We asked mom about Xmas in July & she said that she & dad are saving for some trip in Dec! Can you believe it!? They just got back from a holiday!! We don’t know where they are going but we’ll let you know when we find out.

  32. writetowag
    Jul 15, 2013 @ 16:00:50

    What a great expression!!!! BOL!!!!

  33. Lee
    Jul 15, 2013 @ 17:34:21

    Oh Charley you are just a sun bather not a swimmer.
    Thanks for stopping by my blog last week having friends stop by at this time means so much to us.
    Sweet William The Scot

  34. Daisy
    Jul 15, 2013 @ 17:44:35

    Some of us …..not us mind you….just don’t like wet feet and definitely baths.

    XXXOOO Daisy, Bella & Roxy

  35. Melissa
    Jul 15, 2013 @ 18:15:28

    I have tried to get Kelsey interested in the pool too. I have to gently put her feet in because she won’t climb in. She will stay in long enough to get a treat and then she is done. Charley’s expression says it all though.

  36. Mitch and Molly
    Jul 15, 2013 @ 18:23:44

    It sounds like Charley is just not ready. Maybe patience will pay off?

    Love ya lotsโ™ฅ
    Mitch and Molly

  37. 2browndawgs
    Jul 15, 2013 @ 20:41:26

    Some dogs don’t like water plain and simple. Whenever we have introduced our dogs to water, it has always been in combination with a retrieve. We get them retrieving outside of the water and then toss the bumper in the water (close to the shore) so it is really just getting paws wet. Then we slowly lengthen over time and over sessions if necessary. We also make sure the water is not too cold (doubt that is the problem since it is downright hot out).

    Freighter was in the water very young. He loves it, but that is partly his breeding. ๐Ÿ™‚

  38. MyBrownNewfies
    Jul 15, 2013 @ 22:24:07

    Leroy avoids our pool too, I learned my lesson about trying to help him get in, from now on he is on his own and if he doesn’t want to go in, it’s his choice! Sherman however, loves the little pool. He actually sat in there yesterday and waited for me to fill it!

  39. Champ's Mom
    Jul 16, 2013 @ 01:26:45

    Yep, as some others have mentioned, I’d let him make the choice, too, and quit worrying ’bout it. ๐Ÿ˜‰ Some of our dogs like getting in–and out of them, only a couple like laying down in it, the others will stand. The others will only drink from it. They have other options for cooling down, so I don’t fret.

  40. Dalton
    Jul 16, 2013 @ 05:04:28

    My thought would be wait and see if he wants to or not, there is no point forcing the issue.

  41. dougalldog
    Jul 16, 2013 @ 06:04:44

    Floydie doesn’t like the pool either. But I LOVE it!

  42. urban hounds
    Jul 16, 2013 @ 06:35:30

    I personally would not force it. We have five dogs, as you know, and only one likes water. Occasionally I force teh pugs in the baby pool just to cool down but otherwise they just walk around it and drink out of it. Bob loves it! Thanks for your well wishes to Ping and for visiting my other blog I really appreciate it

    urban hounds

  43. fivesibesmom
    Jul 16, 2013 @ 12:23:13

    Out of our five, we have four who go in, Gibson, Harley & Bandit love the pool! Wolf can take it or leave it, but Chloe wants absolutely nothing to do with it. She runs and hide. This summer, I added squeaky dog toys in the water and she actually, very carefully, tip-toed into the pool! Now, she hasn’t gone back in since…but that was a big break-through! Why she hates it? I have no idea. We’ve had them all since pups…but my suggestion would be to just let her do her own thing…maybe just tap her paws in or toss in a toy and let her decide. I wouldn’t push it…we don’t either with Chloe.

  44. Misaki
    Jul 16, 2013 @ 13:27:19

    I used to hate water. Daddy would put me in the paddling pool and I’d jump straight out again. Until I was out in the woods one day and followed a friend into the river, after that I started to get braver and now I’ll play in my pool. I think patience is the key and letting us come round to playing in water in our own time.

  45. Jan K
    Jul 16, 2013 @ 14:51:16

    I agree with some of the other comments….some dogs just do not like water. It isn’t even necessarily breed specific I don’t think. Our beagle Cricket loves the water but our other beagle doesn’t. We even put treats in the pool to try to entice him and he wouldn’t go in (that told us just how much he didn’t like it!). So we never pushed the issue, and now when we take Kobi on walks he will sometimes at least wade into the water and not avoid it completely. Dogs can be funny….our Golden Sheba will get in the pool, but she will not lay down in it. Yet Cricket, the Beagle!, will immerse herself completely! Sometimes I just gently dump a little water on Sheba to cool her off a little more, and she is OK with that.

  46. wyatt
    Jul 17, 2013 @ 00:13:47

    It’s okay to not be a water dog, Charley. My sister doesn’t like the pool or the pond. She is more of a dirt dog!
    Wyatt

  47. Newton's Mom
    Jul 17, 2013 @ 20:09:46

    Our Farley would only wade in his pool, never lay down. Newton has only gotten in a few times, but he has sunk down in it. Hopefully he will one day feel comfortable with it and enjoy cooling off ๐Ÿ™‚

