Trip to the V-E-T

Ugh, Momma here.  I will spare you the photos today and just describe.

Charley has always produced more ear wax then Finn, and since he’s been with us now, I’ve cleaned his ears out once a week and all has been fine.  Well, last week I noticed there was a wax explosion in his ear and I started to clean it out every other day.  Then his ear got all red with little white spots and the wax wouldn’t stop coming.  We decided this was beyond our control and made the appointment.

So, he has a yeast infection in his ear.  We have meds to give him for that for the next two weeks.  If it comes back, it could mean an allergy.

Then, the vet starts to poke around.  He’ll be one year this week (have no fear, there will be cake), and he weighs 43 pounds.   Since we’ve had him, he has only gained 6 pounds.  Not good.  I wonder if you bigger dog owners weigh your dogs?  Because the vet looked at me like I was nuts when I said we didn’t weigh him regularly but he really is growing.  I know he has gotten bigger and longer.  It’s not like he’s going to fit on a regular scale so how the heck would I be able to weigh him regularly?  Whatever.

So, we have done a parasite test and some blood work to see if there is a liver shunt.  We will find out today, but we really have no idea what to expect.  I am hoping for not too horrible news but am kind of feeling like a bad dog Momma right now.

48 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. mollieandalfie
    Jun 25, 2013 @ 03:29:23

    You are not a bad Mom at all, ear infection cannot be helped and yes how the heck are you suppose to weigh a big dog..Mollie only gets weighed when she goes to the vets every 6 months.. ( I got told off as she had put on a couple of pounds, I felt like saying, Have you looked at yourself in the mirror..LOL ) Keep us posted, all will be fine so stop worrying 🙂 Hugs and love xx00xx

    Mollie and Alfie

  2. humanrescuesdog
    Jun 25, 2013 @ 03:34:14

    I hope it all comes back OK. Yeast ear infections are quite common, we have to regularly put in ear drops and even then our dogs get them. I’ve never heard of dogs being weighed regularly at home – usually we get them weighed at the vets anyway. Good luck!

  3. wallaceandsamuel
    Jun 25, 2013 @ 04:06:12

    You are a wonderful momma and don’t ever doubt that! We only ever get weighed when we go to the vet – mom has banned all scales from our house *BOL*.

    Please let us know what the test results say – we are keeping our paws crossed that all is fine & Chuck is just a svelt, slinky model of a retriever.

  4. Molly The Wally
    Jun 25, 2013 @ 04:35:00

    We hope everything will be OK. Try not to worry but we know it is not easy. I had stinky ears when I was little but as I grew up it stopped. Peeps was pleased as ear cleaning is not nice. Hmm re weighing what are you supposed to do? Let us know how things go we have our fingers and paws crossed for you.
    Best wishes Molly

  5. weliveinaflat
    Jun 25, 2013 @ 04:43:31

    Donna gets ear infection too because floppy ears trap moisture readily, you are not alone!! : )

  6. easyweimaraner
    Jun 25, 2013 @ 04:53:36

    I need an ear cleaning everyday, because or whole back yard is inside – no idea why :o) Our weigh-ritual is this: first my dad goes on the scale and we look how much he has. Then he lifts me up and we go together on the scale, subtract his weight and then we realize that I had too much treats :o) You are a great doggy-mom and I hope all things will fall in a row.

  7. Dalton
    Jun 25, 2013 @ 05:27:53

    You are not a bad mumma! Fingers crossed that it is all good news! Have you seen our body score charts? http://www.waggfoods.com/content/UK/dog-feeding-guide-body-score-chart maybe a useful guide if you are worried!

    Please let us know what the test results are!

  8. Whisppy
    Jun 25, 2013 @ 06:02:43

    Yeast ear infections are pretty common, especially for dogs with floppy ears like Charley. Are you able to “air” his ear canals (you’ll have to be creative)?
    You’re NOT a bad dog Momma!

  9. urban hounds
    Jun 25, 2013 @ 06:33:14

    you are a fantastic momma! in 11 years I have never weighed Norbert or Bob and to be honest I never weighed the small dogs either, only at the VET. For years Norbert struggled to keep on weight then we switched to grain free and he got older and he mantained his weight we are sending you good wishes

    urban hounds

  10. Nikitaland
    Jun 25, 2013 @ 06:38:30

    Dear Mommy,
    Don’t beat yourself up on this one. When you are with your dogs all the time, it is sometimes hard to recognize that they may have lost weight, unless it was a dramatic weight loss. We get our dogs weighed only when we head to the vets, and yes, I do keep a chart of the dates and weights for both of them, just to keep track if they went up or down in weight.

    I know when we rescued Bella and added her to our little family, Nikita had a little weight loss, one because of a little anxiety at first for introducing another dog to the household, and second, because she became more and more active around the house chasing Bella the pup all over.

    It is just a daily constant care of things we need to do for our pets. Like, I brush the dogs teeth twice a week (and yes, that is not an easy thing to do either), I am just glad that the toothpaste tastes like chicken, so they like that part at least. Nikita has quite long hair, and if it was not for me brushing her every day, her hair would be in knots.

    Keep up the good work, and don’t fret……YOU are a great Mommy and your dogs are glad they have you around! 🙂

  11. 2browndawgs
    Jun 25, 2013 @ 06:42:47

    I hope it is nothing serious. In the pictures he does not look overly small to me and his coat has always looked nice. I am surprised to hear he is so small. He may just be a small dog. It happens. Is he proportional weight to body style/height? Or maybe his food is not working for him?

    Our Golden had yeast infections in his ears all of his life. (He lived to 13.) The vet we had at the time never suggested a different protein (it was chicken which obviously was an issue for him). We should have changed his food but never did. We also tried to keep the fur around his ears clipped and make sure his ears get air.

    Yes we weighed our dogs periodically while they were pups. Sometimes just went to the vet to use the scale. But not everybody does that. If the dog is otherwise healthy, I don’t think it is necessary.

  12. Rebecca
    Jun 25, 2013 @ 07:13:44

    You aren’t a bad momma!! I don’t weigh Teach at all. The only time he gets weighed is when he goes in for a check-up with the vet or is feeling under the weather. Sending good thoughts your way that all is well with Charley!!

  13. tarynft
    Jun 25, 2013 @ 07:40:23

    Do some research on coconut oil, both as part of Charley’s diet and also as a topical treatment. It is well known to help with yeast infections…

    http://www.naturalnews.com/025199_oil_coconut.html

    Hope the blood tests come back OK!

  14. Emmadog
    Jun 25, 2013 @ 07:49:31

    Hope it is nothing serious. We get weighed at least twice a year when we are at the vet for various things like check ups or to get medications for heartworm, etc. When we were pups we did get weighed fairly frequently as we were at the vet more often but mom doesn’t own a scale…she is scared of her own weight even though she is thin. She says if the clothes fit, she is ok. I think if we don’t get weighed the best judge is someone that doesn’t see us daily, they will tell mom that we look thin or heavy as mom doesn’t notice being with us all the time.

  15. Reilly & Denny
    Jun 25, 2013 @ 07:55:56

    The only time I weight the boys is when they go to vets – who has scales at home big enough for a dog! Silly vet. ANd not dogs within a breed are the same size…heck Reilly is 20″ tall and Denny is only 15″ so of coarse they don’t weight the same……hopefully all is well and he’s just a smaller body dog then finn

  16. Goose
    Jun 25, 2013 @ 08:01:34

    Bad dog mom… NO WAY! My MOM does not weigh me ever. I only get weighed at the vets. I mean is she suppose to pick me up and step on a scale? Come to think of it that would not work because we don’t have a scale at home. You are a wonderful mom. I do hope all turns out well. You know just like people we all come in different sizes. I mean l hey look at my buddy Bert, a golden, he is huge! But he is also the perfect weight for his structure. Sometimes people think he is not a pure breed because he is so big, but they would be wrong. He’s all Golden.
    Blessings,
    Goose

  17. Lily Belle & Muffin
    Jun 25, 2013 @ 08:37:22

    What???? Not a bad Mama at all that’s fur sure! So you don’t weigh the puppers, seriously? Like you said, just how the heck you gonna do that trick. We’re small and Mommy doesn’t put us on the scale.

    We got our paws crossed for Charley.

    Hugs,
    Lily Belle & Muffin

  18. harrispen
    Jun 25, 2013 @ 09:14:12

    We hope the health news isn’t all that bad for Charley. The PetSmart near us has a scale that is accessible to anyone so our pawrents take us there every few weeks to see how we are doing. They mostly do it frequently now because we are young pups and still growing. It is fun to step on the scale and wait until it beeps to let you know how much you weigh.

    Millie & Walter

  19. Frankie and Ernie
    Jun 25, 2013 @ 09:39:11

    NO WAY are you a bad mom. Ear infections HAPPEN.. OFTEN to LOTS of us.
    There is no good way to WEIGH us at home… THAT dogtor is nutty.
    We have our paws crossed tightly fur GOOD NEWS.

  20. Stella Rose
    Jun 25, 2013 @ 09:50:51

    Well your mom a bad mom that is for sure, ear infections are sneaky and often show up before you know it, we are little dogs and mom still has a hard time weighing us ….i hope you get good news..potp!!!
    Stella Rose

  21. carraig1
    Jun 25, 2013 @ 10:22:53

    His growth has likley just outstripped his food’s ability to give him what he needs. Perhaps more food, or a change of food is in order. If you are thinking allergies, I would choose something without grains, and with a single protein source.

  22. Idaho PugRanch
    Jun 25, 2013 @ 11:27:44

    Oh My we would just have to repeat what everyones else has said. Who weighs their big dog at home??? And ear stuff happens. We are struggling with Greta right now (she has the itchies) trying to figure our what has triggered it. You are a GOOD MOM!
    love
    Bailey, Hazel & Greta

  23. Two French Bulldogs
    Jun 25, 2013 @ 11:43:43

    All our feets are crossed the tests are negative
    Benny & Lily

  24. Phantom, Thunder, Ciara, and Lightning
    Jun 25, 2013 @ 12:20:24

    Not a bad mom at all. There is no way Mom can lift us to weigh us, but she takes us once a month or so to the vet for a free weight check – that is mainly if there is a concern about too much or too little weight:) Ear infections can be annoying – With his flop ear, it may be too moist in there and weekly cleaning with an ear cleaner may help. Mom had a golden once who had chronic ear infections and she was finally able to put an end to them by adding a bit of oil to his kibble.

    Hope the tests come back good. We know all too well how tough that can be.

    Woos – Phantom, Thunder, Ciara, and Lightning

  25. Caren, Dakota and Cody
    Jun 25, 2013 @ 13:43:01

    Hoping for good news for you and you are NOT a bad doggy Mama!

  26. Lassie and Benji
    Jun 25, 2013 @ 14:42:27

    You are a good dog momma! The medicine will clear up that ear infection in no time.

  27. Miss Harper Lee
    Jun 25, 2013 @ 15:16:20

    You are not a bad dog momma. In fact, my mommy says you’re an excellent dog momma, and I believe everything my mommy says! I’ve had my share of ear infections, and it’s not fun for me or for my mommy who has to get those horrible drops into my ear–always the right ear, by the way. Good luck to you and Charley with the ear thing. My daddy is obsessed with weight (he’s a runner; don’t get my mommy started!), so I get weighed almost every time I go to PetSmart. The clinic scale is out in the open and the clinic people are happy to let me use it. My vet also says I can go there any time I’d like just for a weigh in (although PetSmart is waaaay more fun). Hope those are possible options for you and that Charley’s tests come out well.

  28. rubytheairedale
    Jun 25, 2013 @ 15:31:16

    Are you kiddin’? The ONLY time Ma weighs me is when I go to the vets! (usually not good news for me…fewer treaties!). I was gettin’ ear infections at least every three or four months, then the vettie said it was allergies, so now I take Benadryl if I start shakin’ my head ~ does the trick. No ear infections so far!
    I thinks that was kinda mean. What the heck does she want us to do? I barely sit still on the big doggie scale at the vetties, I can’t imagine lettin’ Ma HOLD me while she stands on hers!
    I thinks your Moms needs a {{{{hug}}}} and you feel betters!
    Paws crossed that that is all, and all the tests come back negative!
    Kisses,
    Ruby ♥

  29. cecilia07
    Jun 25, 2013 @ 16:19:44

    Hey Marianne I hope and pray you have received good news from Charley’s vet. Give that sweet boy a hug. Do not beat yourself up about the weighing. You are an excellent dog mom…w/o you no telling where charley would be now! I would never have thought to weigh a dog that was growing. Live and learn. Hugs Cecilia

    Sent from Cecilia’s pad Please pardon all typos, auto correct has a mind of it’s own

    There are few things in life more heartwarming than to be welcomed by a cat~~~Tay Hohoff

  30. Murphy Campbell
    Jun 25, 2013 @ 16:21:54

    We sure hope he is just smaller and there aren’t any problems! Me and Stanley got weighed weekly until we were 1 year old and now we get weighed monthly. We are free-fed so our pawrents are making sure we DON’T gain weight. BUTT, we are small enough that dad just holds us on the scale. Maybe you can just stop in every now and again and weigh at the vet office? Some of the PetSmart stores have scales too.

    Your Pals,

    Murphy & Stanley
    Ambassadors of love

  31. Daisy
    Jun 25, 2013 @ 17:36:10

    We only get weighed when we go to the VETs! We think ears are more important and you ARE taking care of them.

    Some VETs just let you bring the dogs in to weigh them more often if you’re worried. But just go by the feel of the ribs.

    XXXOOO Daisy, Bella & Roxy

  32. Mitch and Molly
    Jun 25, 2013 @ 18:03:10

    No way will our mom weigh us because then she’ll know how much she weighs! You are not a bad doggie mama!
    We’re sending you tons of positive thoughts, Charley!

    Love ya lots♥
    Mitch and Molly

  33. Genevieve Petrillo
    Jun 25, 2013 @ 18:15:55

    Do Charley’s ears smell like dirty socks? Mom says that’s a sign of an ear infection. You are a GOOD Mom doing so much ear cleaning. Yikes! Mom weighs me a lot, because I’m little. She weighs herself, picks me up and weighs us both, and then does math on her calculator. Then she says NO MORE TREATS FOR YOU! Then she gives me a treat.

    Love and licks,
    Cupcake

  34. Melissa
    Jun 25, 2013 @ 19:39:02

    It’s a good thing you paid so close attention to Charley’s ears and I hope they heal up quickly. Our family has never weighed our large dogs regularly either as long as they are healthy and happy (but I have done it with a smaller dog by weighing with and without me).

  35. Wiley Schmidt
    Jun 25, 2013 @ 20:43:35

    You are a fabulous doggie mom! You are such a good mom for doing so many ear cleanings like you do, and paying such close attention to that. I hate being weighed. 😉 I hope Charley’s ears heal quickly. Lots of love!!!

  36. wyatt
    Jun 25, 2013 @ 23:06:45

    Sorry about the ears Charley, but you have a Super Good mom. We never get on the scales except for the vets office. Mom says as long as food goes in and we poop correctly…it’s all good! Hee hee.
    Hey, we are having a 4 week Give-a Way, come over and see!

    Wyatt and Stanzie

  37. bichonpawz
    Jun 26, 2013 @ 02:39:22

    You are an awesome Dog Mom!! When our big brother was around, there was no way for mama to pick him up!! He was a Newfy mix and weighed like 87 million pounds!! He only got weighed at the vet! Actually we are quite a bit smaller and we only get weighed at the vet too. LadyBug got one of those yeast infections in her ears but the medicine they gave her made it better…the trick was trying to actually get it IN the ear and make it stay in!! Hope all results come back good and you all are feeling better! xoxo Chloe and LadyBug

  38. sprinkles
    Jun 26, 2013 @ 03:00:15

    Poor little guy! Don’t feel like a bad mama. Lots of owners don’t check their dogs’ ears ever, and you were able to catch the yeast infection before it got too out of control. I hope the meds work and that he’ll be good as new.

    I have smaller dogs and don’t weigh them regularly either. Chico’s weight tends to go up and down, but I can tell just by looking at him or lifting him up if I need to worry.

    I know what it’s like to have a vet make you feel insecure. That happened to me with a certain vet I used to take my (now deceased) cat to. I ended up having to go to a different vet in an emergency one time though, and ended up preferring the new vet considerably more and have gone to that office ever since. Don’t know if you need to necessarily go to that extreme though.

    My mom just took her beagle to the vet yesterday and had some tests run. They didn’t find anything conclusive, other than his heartworm test came back negative.

    Keeping Charley in my prayers that he’ll be OK.

    I’ll be emailing you in the next day or two probably.

  39. Stella and Rory from Down Under
    Jun 26, 2013 @ 05:26:29

    Howdy Mum, yeah right, we all weigh our dogs on a regular basis. Yep, I just step on the scales, holding Rory in my arms and bingo. Hehehe. Don’t feel bad at all mate. Ear infections aren’t uncommon, our daughter’s lab seems to suffer from them on a semi regular basis. What we did with Rory when he was smaller and lighter was, my hubby would weigh himself then pick up Rory and weigh them together then deduct his weight from the total. That worked until he was just too heavy. Its just an idea. Now we only weigh them once a year at their annual vaccination. It just shows you are a GOOD mum cause you feel guilty when you SHOULD NOT!!! We all feel like that at times. It’s part of being a dog owner/parent hehe. We have paws crossed here Charley will be just fine. Take care all. NO WORRIES, and LOVE, Carol (and Stella and Rory)

  40. Misaki
    Jun 26, 2013 @ 05:42:55

    You’re not a bad dog mummy at all. As someone said above, you’ve shown that youre a good one just by worrying that you’re not!
    I’m weighed every 3 months when I get my worming tablet but that’s the only reason they know how much I weigh.

  41. Sue at Talking Dogs
    Jun 26, 2013 @ 06:43:25

    If you’re a bad dog mom, so am I. (and I’m not!) Our dogs are BIG and they get weighed at the vet when they go for check ups. We have sometimes weighed them when they were puppies, but even puppy Rosie has outgrown home weighing (holding the pup and subtracting the human weight). And Lucy had those ear problems, too. It just goes along with having those lovely floppy ears 🙂 Hope those test results turn out to be nothing to worry about.

  42. HH and The Boys
    Jun 26, 2013 @ 10:54:49

    We are little and HH doesn’t weigh us. She didn’t know she should. Anyway, we’re sending you purrrrrrs that all your tests are good.

    Have a great day.

    hugs, Bugsy and Knuckles

  43. Kari
    Jun 26, 2013 @ 13:37:00

    Nope, we only weighed our dogs when we had appointments 🙂

    Stop on by for a visit
    Kari
    http://dogisgodinreverse.com/

  44. Blueberry's human
    Jun 26, 2013 @ 14:20:31

    I would not think to weigh a dog often either. Blueberry only gets weighed at the vet’s a few times a year when she has to go in. You are NOT a bad dog mom. So stop that right now.

    I hope the results are favorable – keep us posted! Hugs!

  45. Nicole
    Jun 26, 2013 @ 19:52:57

    Yuck! I don’t know why my dogs love the vet. They always poke and prod! I’m a weirdo, but I’ve weighed Yuki every time I measure her on her growth chart on the wall (again weirdo). But Aladdin’s weight doesn’t fluctuate enough for me to weigh him constantly. Once Yuki is done growing, I will not be lifting up a now 35lb dog and playing peek-a-boo with the scale below me to do the subtraction.

    We’ll be thinking of you and hoping for good test results. The wait is always the worst, but try to keep thinking positive.

    As a groomer, I see bad ears all the time. It might be beneficial to look into some high end ear cleaner and powder. Keeping those ears dry is key, at least until you find out if there is another benefactor to their dirtiness.

  46. What's Going on at Mumsy's
    Jun 26, 2013 @ 20:55:49

    What is going on with Charley is not your fault, you are a good doggie mama we know that for a fact. We hope the report is good when the tests come back and Charley can be taken care of quickly and easily. Hugs and nose kisses

  47. cafall
    Jun 27, 2013 @ 09:38:37

    Do you have a Petsmart or Petco nearby? They usually have scales you can use. We are weighing Harlow since she is truly underweight – we can feel ribs and back bone. Other than that, we only get our boys weighed at the vet. ;/

    Sam

  48. Clowie
    Jun 27, 2013 @ 15:50:32

    I hope the ear infection clears up quickly.
    They weighed my regularly while they could still pick me up! So that stopped when I was about four months old, since then only on visits to the vets on the special scales.

