Product Review: Kong Premium Treats

We were asked to review a sampling of Kong Premium Treats!  They are one of our Park Day 2.0 sponsors and some very lucky doggies may be winning some of these treats in June if they play.  Before I begin, I should tell you first that I was not compensated in any way for this review.  Finn and Charley got the treats, so they were over the moon to try them out!  These opinions are those of  me and me alone.

The first product we tried was the Drumstick Premium Dog Chew.  I chose this treat in particular because I am always in the market for treats which I think will last more than two seconds to eat.  I was not disappointed.  They don’t contain wheat, corn or soy, any animal bi-products or colorants.  And they are made right here is the USA.

Chicken

I was so pleased that the dogs passed the dual sit test.  Regular followers of my blog know that this is complicated to achieve for any length of time, and here we have it.  Treats worth waiting for.

IMG_7194

Charley tended to chomp off the chicken part of the treat and then attack the bone.

IMG_7198

Finn was slightly more gentle at first, but then tried to just chomp off bite by bite of both meat and bone, and it took her a few extra minutes more of chew time by going this route.

IMG_7203

Overall, I give these treats two thumbs up.  They were delicious, healthy, and big enough to take them both a bit of time to eat!

We then tried Retriever Rolls, 100% all natural beef hide.  These are also made in the USA.  I was first really impressed with the packaging.  Two eight-inch rolls come in one package, and the package is resealable, which is so smart.

BeefHide

Generally, when I give Finn a rawhide roll of this size, it is devoured within an hour perhaps?  She is a real pro.  This roll lasted her for well over three hours in three sittings.  And, when we sat down to eat dinner, there was no charge on the kitchen from Finn or Charley, not even when I dropped the tomato sauce on the kitchen floor!  So I know they thought they were delicious.

IMG_7240

This was Charley’s first treat of this size, and given his delicate stomach and inexperience with the rolls, we let him munch on it for about thirty minutes.

IMG_7245

I enjoyed knowing that there also did not contain harmful preservatives or colorants, and they help clean teeth and freshen breath too.  They also contain STAY-C, a patented protected bio-available form of Vitamin C.

Overall, we were very happy with our Kong Premium Treats experience, and I would recommend them to any dog, we swear on our eight paws!

39 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Daisy
    May 28, 2013 @ 05:17:25

    We’re always on the lookout for treats that take time to demolish. There are so few.

    XXXOOO Daisy, Bella & Roxy

  2. mollie and alfie
    May 28, 2013 @ 05:33:48

    Same as Daisy, usually a chew lasts me 2 seconds..BOL, they look great 🙂 xx00xx

    Mollie and Alfie

  3. Max's Mom
    May 28, 2013 @ 05:54:09

    Gosh that drumstick would take Max months to devour! Great review! Thank you!

  4. Miss Mindy and her Mom
    May 28, 2013 @ 05:55:48

    Boy those sure sound great to me!
    Lovies, Miss Mindy

  5. Long Life Cats and Dogs
    May 28, 2013 @ 06:22:30

    We get some Kong products here but I’ve never seen Kong treats. They look great and I’m sure Litchi would do her nut to get some.

  6. urban hounds
    May 28, 2013 @ 06:38:45

    looks like a good chew

    urban hounds

  7. 2browndawgs
    May 28, 2013 @ 06:51:50

    They look yummy!

  8. Molly The Wally
    May 28, 2013 @ 07:29:26

    They looked great and nice to know they lasted . Have a terrific Tuesday.
    Best wishes Molly

  9. emma
    May 28, 2013 @ 07:30:03

    I like to chew on my stuff forever but my sister is an eating machine and wolfs hers down and then will steal mine if I leave it. They look good, wonder if it would take my sister any longer to chew up than usual?

  10. Whisppy
    May 28, 2013 @ 08:04:05

    Whisky has never been much of a chewer of raw hides but those Kong treats do look very yummy, judging from Finn and Charley’s expressions!

  11. easyweimaraner
    May 28, 2013 @ 08:41:34

    Thanks for this great review Finn&Charley … now I’m waiting for my drumstick… as big as a dinosaur leg :o)

  12. wallaceandsamuel
    May 28, 2013 @ 08:46:12

    Both those products look grrrrrreat and we especially like the fact that they last a little longer than the average treat. Wish we got them here in SA.

    Miss you my Finnie-Pie, mom is going to check for post today after work, paws crossed your envelope has arrived!

    Wally & Sammy

  13. SUGAR: Golden Woofs
    May 28, 2013 @ 09:22:54

    it’s looks HUGE. Good to hear that both Finn and Charley enjoyed it. Happy Tasty Tuesday. Make sure to add this post/url to the TT blog hop. Golden Woofs!

  14. Misaki
    May 28, 2013 @ 10:14:36

    Wow, sounds good. I can gobble up chews pretty quick so sounds good to me!

  15. cecilia07
    May 28, 2013 @ 10:25:44

    WTG Finn and Charley!
    Good to see your mom is trainable! Took her a while to find just the right treat.
    Hugs your BFFF
    Madi

  16. Lassiter Chase and Benjamin
    May 28, 2013 @ 10:27:57

    Those treats look pawsome!!!!

  17. Murphy Campbell
    May 28, 2013 @ 11:01:35

    Great review! We’re gonna have to try them out!

    Your Pals,

    Murphy & Stanley

  18. Reuben
    May 28, 2013 @ 12:26:49

    Glad you guys gotted some good noms!

    Love,
    Reuben

  19. Kat n collies
    May 28, 2013 @ 12:40:51

    I love, love, love their faces in the firs picture! I’m still smiling!

  20. sprinkles
    May 28, 2013 @ 12:44:54

    I’ll have to see if they have smaller sizes for the chi’s. They’re very picky about sizes – everything has to be small and lightweight. I’m always looking for healthy treats and foods for them, so I’ll definitely be on the lookout for these.

  21. Luke's Adventures
    May 28, 2013 @ 12:53:24

    Yummy! Must run to pet store and buy some now!!!!!

  22. Reilly & Denny
    May 28, 2013 @ 13:04:09

    We know Denny loved the Kong Treats he won in the first Park Day competition ….enough to steal the packet off the table, get the zip lock open and eat the entire packet.

  23. Lily Belle & Muffin
    May 28, 2013 @ 14:31:35

    We LOVE Kong treats too! Thanks for the very informative post (especially about them lasting a long, long, long time.)

    Hugs,
    Lily Belle & Muffin

  24. Miss Harper Lee
    May 28, 2013 @ 15:30:48

    Perfect dual sit! The treats sound excellent, and my mommy loves the idea of the resealable package. My only question is why is she sitting in this house. She should be at the store getting these yummy treats for me. 🙂

  25. Idaho PugRanch
    May 28, 2013 @ 17:08:05

    Thanks for this review. Mom is always looking for chews that will last a while.
    hugs
    Bailey, Hazel & Greta

  26. Mitch and Molly
    May 28, 2013 @ 17:33:00

    yummmmmmmm – we need to have mom look for that drumstick next time she heads to a pet store!

    Love ya lots♥
    Mitch and Molly

  27. Beagles and Bargains
    May 28, 2013 @ 17:39:36

    I’ve seen the Drumstick Premium Dog Chew and thought it looked so cool! Glad you got to try it out!

  28. Stella and Rory from Down Under
    May 28, 2013 @ 17:47:43

    Howdy mates, we love hearing about new treats, especially the chewy ones. Thanks for the review. Loved your photos! No worries, and love, Stella and Rory

  29. Dolly the Doxie
    May 28, 2013 @ 18:05:22

    Oh those look so yummy! I hope I win! I won’t eat them just bury. Love Dolly

  30. rubytheairedale
    May 28, 2013 @ 20:24:08

    Yummers!!! That drumstick looks amazin’!! Great review!!
    I’m gonna have Ma be on the look out for em’
    Kisses,
    Ruby

  31. Phantom, Thunder, Ciara, and Lightning
    May 28, 2013 @ 21:39:45

    We have heard good things about the kong treats, now to get Mom to get us some:)

    Woos – Phantom, Thunder, Ciara, and Lightning

  32. Jessica Rhae (@YDWWYW)
    May 28, 2013 @ 22:50:47

    I am curious if they do something to the rawhide to make it more digestible than regular rawhide. I couldn’t ever give my small dogs regular rawhide because they could choke or get a blockage.

  33. Two French Bulldogs
    May 28, 2013 @ 23:34:41

    Those things look tasty. But us Frenchies and those things don’t mix
    Benny & Lily

  34. usoncloud9
    May 29, 2013 @ 00:00:03

    Those Kong treats look delicious. The drumstick one is hysterical. We’ve seen them before at PetSmart. Maybe we’ll pick one up the next time we’re there 🙂

  35. Melissa
    May 29, 2013 @ 04:47:05

    Those faces waiting so patiently for the treats says it all. Glad you found something that will last a little longer.
    Kelsey

  36. Katie and Coccolino
    May 29, 2013 @ 09:27:00

    That looks like lots of ongoing entertainment. Great treats!

    Piggy kisses,
    Katie and Coccolino the mini pig

  37. freya rose blossom
    May 29, 2013 @ 15:43:14

    Looked extra licky, I’m not used to eating anything unless it has a bit of sand on it, Keeps yer pearly whites whiter than white yer know….. If it looked good tasted good (sand or no sand) it must have been good… Luvs Freya Rose Blossom X

  38. Jacobi
    May 29, 2013 @ 20:02:56

    That is a very handsome picture of the two of you waiting so politely in Sits. You are clearly Good Dogs! And Good Dogs get treats! You are lucky, those treats look pawesome!

    Licks,
    Cobi

  39. MyBrownNewfies
    May 29, 2013 @ 22:31:19

    Great review! Sounds and look delicious:)

