Finn Goes Geocaching!

Since my buddy Gizmo is the geocaching KING and we have a Bingo slot on geocaching, I thought I would take my girl out one day.  I hadn’t been geocaching in about four years, and it was my first time then.  I had visited a friend from high school who lived in Michigan.  We went to the geocaching website and printed out maybe ten caches I could find while I was visiting with her.  I remember she had me all over the place – downtown Detroit, crossing the border into Canada, visiting a park.  It was a lot of fun.

So, here we go.  I have my dog, I have my Bingo push, I head on over to the website and think to myself, “I don’t want to print out a ton of stuff.  There has got to be an App for this.”  Wouldn’t you know it?  There’s an App for that.  There’s a full version for $9.99 or a free version to get you started.  I downloaded the free one.

IMG_7291

It finds your location and gives you the three closest caches, as the crow flies.

IMG_7292

I get Finn into the car, and off we go. The App creates a map showing your location and where you need to go.  When you get closer, you can turn on a compass which should bring you right to the spot.  The first cache I tried to find is like down this road I had never been on, into the woods, bringing us past hunting sign after hunting sign. I decide it’s not a good idea to go find this one, and I opt to find another one.

Number 2 was hid by a 73 year old on her birthday. I think this is my speed. That is, until we get closer and I realize that I have to bring Finn through some serious brush in order to find it.  Uh, no thanks.

IMG_7295

Well, wouldn’t you know it, third time is the charm. The next one is on the edge of a lake nearby.  When I got close to it, I turned on my hint, which said “under the log.”  There it is.  I signed my name with the date and time, left a pressie for the next person to find it, and off we went.

IMG_7296

Oh, and here’s Finn in front of said log.  I let her get a sniff of the cache off-camera.  You know how these divas can be.

IMG_7297

And there you have it! I’m not sure how many caches the free App will let you find, but if you want to try it out once or twice, I would say it is definitely worth it. AND, you get a BINGO spot *wink* *wink*

40 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Max's Mom
    May 23, 2013 @ 06:34:22

    Hey, thanks for the app help! We still haven’t ever tried it but I have looked a little online but won’t go into areas that keep seeming to pop up that warn about snakes…no way! So this should help us give it a whirl! Also wanted to say thanks for your thoughtful comments about our precious Carly – it helps to have friends that get it 🙂 thanks!

  2. Whisppy
    May 23, 2013 @ 06:45:14

    We’ve never heard of geocaching until now. Sounds very interesting!

  3. Madi and Mom
    May 23, 2013 @ 06:51:07

    Well I’ll be that sounds like a ton of fun Finn. To be quite honest mom and I have been a tad confused by exactly what Geocaching meant. Now we know!!
    Great adventure and thanks for sharing.
    Hugs Madi and Mom

  4. wallaceandsamuel
    May 23, 2013 @ 07:15:40

    That is PAWSOME!!!

    Sammy says that it is Chuck’s turn the next time you go … I told him to mind his own business!

    xoxoxo Wally

    &

    Sammy

    • finnhoward
      May 23, 2013 @ 07:38:34

      Don’t worry Sammy, Chuck was being entertained by Pops while we were gone. He doesn’t even know what he missed! Unless you tell him, that is!

  5. Molly The Wally
    May 23, 2013 @ 07:29:52

    That is such fun we should check it out over here. Have a terrific Thursday.
    Best wishes Molly

  6. easyweimaraner
    May 23, 2013 @ 07:31:16

    How cool! Good hint with the free App – thanks! My staff promised me a geocaching-tour but they are always to lazy… I will remind them about the promised trip with excessive barking now :o)

  7. 2browndawgs
    May 23, 2013 @ 07:40:07

    Very cool! Good job!

  8. Misaki
    May 23, 2013 @ 07:52:57

    Great fun! I’ve been geocaching once before and really enjoyed. Hoping to do it again soon 🙂

  9. Rebecca
    May 23, 2013 @ 07:55:31

    Geocaching sounds like fun. I’ll have to download that app and try it out for a BINGO spot!! I’m sure where we live there are several out there to find.

  10. Goose
    May 23, 2013 @ 07:56:26

    There is an app for EVERYTHING.
    Blessings,
    Goose

  11. stella rose
    May 23, 2013 @ 09:53:37

    We do not understand the concept of geocatching …okay here is the scoop mom asked someone the other day if that meant finding geode stones, which she loves, they just shook their heads and walked away…(mom said she could here rocks rattling around in their HEADS)
    stella rose

  12. carraig1
    May 23, 2013 @ 10:01:51

    My son does that. A couple of years ago I bought him cool geocache stuff for Christmas, including cache containers that look like bugs.

    • finnhoward
      May 23, 2013 @ 10:13:46

      That is pretty awesome! Although, as a player, I would probably not be able to mentally open a container that was an oversized bug! I am too squeamish!

  13. Kat N collies
    May 23, 2013 @ 10:27:02

    We’ve never looked for a geocache, but maybe this weekend! 🙂

  14. Frankie and Ernie
    May 23, 2013 @ 10:27:59

    WE wish there was an APP fur SQuirrel catching… Butt it wouldn’t help US much since we don’t have a Smart Phone.

  15. Trackback: Catching Up on Thankful Thursday | Terrier TorrentTerrier Torrent
  16. Kirsten
    May 23, 2013 @ 11:14:19

    Geocaching sounds like a perfect dog activity. Kinda like Canine nose work for humans.

  17. Miss Mindy and her Mom
    May 23, 2013 @ 11:37:57

    This sounds like a really fun thing to do!

  18. Gizmo
    May 23, 2013 @ 11:42:54

    Way to Go Finn! I’m so proud of you …Have you logged your find on the website yet? What’s your geocaching handle?

  19. Trackback: Catching Up on Thankful Thursday
  20. Dolly the Doxie
    May 23, 2013 @ 14:08:14

    Okay we are going to have to figure out what this geocaching thingy is. It doesn’t sound like a city thing for sure. I am going to go get another bingo for Park Day 2.0 instead. Love Dolly

  21. Idaho PugRanch
    May 23, 2013 @ 14:13:10

    We must admit we had not heard of geocaching till now, so we did not now what to do. Sounds like fun, but no smart phone at our house. But Mom told us we are going to go on an adventure this weekend and find someplace new to check out. Maybe there is a one more Bingo in our future!
    hugs
    Bailey, Hazel & Greta

  22. Bouncing Bertie
    May 23, 2013 @ 15:06:40

    Oh that does sound tremendous fun Finn. I am going to have Gail investigate whether one can geocache in the UK too.
    Toodle pip!
    Bertie (always on the lookout for a new adventure)

  23. rubytheairedale
    May 23, 2013 @ 15:26:27

    That sounds soooo cool!! If Ma tried that, there would end up being search and rescue teams being called out to find her!! (she gets lost alots…)
    Kisses,
    Ruby

  24. Millie & Walter
    May 23, 2013 @ 16:15:32

    That sound like a lot of fun…once you find one that doesn’t require going through thick brush.

  25. Phantom, Thunder, Ciara, and Lightning
    May 23, 2013 @ 17:21:30

    That sounds like a great way for the humans to have fun and the pups to get some exercise. Thanks for telling us about it.

    Woos – Phantom, Thunder, Ciara, and Lightning

  26. Murray's Mouth
    May 23, 2013 @ 17:34:45

    Very cool! Didn’t know about this!

  27. Daisy
    May 23, 2013 @ 17:51:06

    That sounds like fun for both dogs and their peeps….except for the hunting signs…

    XXXOOO Daisy, Bella & Roxy

  28. usoncloud9
    May 23, 2013 @ 22:53:52

    Geocaching looks so cool. I saw it on a show that talked about cheap dates you could go on and it looked like a lot of fun. Plus, being a broke student, this was very appealing to me! If you left a pressie behind, did you take something too? Do you think you’re going to buy the full app? $10 seems kind of steep for an app, but it also sounds like a lot of fun.

  29. acd6pack
    May 23, 2013 @ 23:06:07

    We’ve never been geocaching but have found a few by accident! Wandering the wilderness and seeing a plastic jar in the crook of a tree or under a log…makes me curious!

  30. Urban hounds
    May 24, 2013 @ 10:36:49

    U know I hAd no clue what a geocache was thanks 4 the info
    Urban hounds

  31. Flea
    May 24, 2013 @ 10:51:43

    Oh what fun! I’ve gone geocaching exactly once and didn’t care for it. I do love getting lost in the country, though! Especially passing those signs which say, “Do Not Shoot Over Road”. They’re usually filled with buckshot holes. Heh. Did you hear banjos?

  32. astanyAsta
    May 24, 2013 @ 12:25:20

    Finn, i nevew heawd of geocaching, but it sounds like a fun adventoowe. I hope you had a gweat time
    Smoochie kisses
    Asta

  33. Molly The Wally
    May 24, 2013 @ 13:54:52

    Got your comment and thanks. We are all just so shocked and saddened. After all we went through with the IRA we NEVER thought we’d see this on our shores again. Our troops are precious to us and we feel lost and dismayed. Thank you for thinking of us.
    Best wishes Molly

  34. MyBrownNewfies
    May 24, 2013 @ 15:10:21

    That is pretty neat! I’ve never done it before but it sounds fun!

  35. Pip
    May 24, 2013 @ 16:31:55

    That’s very cool! Sorry I am missing Bingo!!

    Your pal, Pip

  36. humanrescuesdog
    May 29, 2013 @ 04:35:58

    Wow, thanks for the very cool idea; I’ve never thought of geocaching with my dogs. I’m intrigued, will google it!

  37. Lassiter chase and Benjamin
    Jun 01, 2013 @ 13:20:13

    Just got a chance to look up your geocaching post. That log was really small compared to the one we had to find. Glad u found it.

