Am I a Creep?

Just went for a walk outside at work.  I noticed that I tend to smile at dogs when they are being walked past me.  And not all dogs, mainly golden retrievers and labs, bigger dogs.  And really there are times when I think the dogs are looking up at me, smiling.

So, am I a creep?  For smiling?  For 2-5 seconds as another golden retriever walks past me as I am meandering down the streets on my way to pick up lunch?  Do you smile at other dogs that look like yours?

This is what I am pondering.  Life’s big mysteries.  There is much wrong with me….

Have a great weekend folks!

49 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. mollieandalfie
    May 17, 2013 @ 12:40:51

    No you are not a creep..LOL you are just admiring beauty xx00xx

    Mollie and Alfie

  2. stella rose
    May 17, 2013 @ 12:49:15

    Oh heavens sake Finn you are far from a creep, my mom says she has known some creepies in her time and you don’t fit the bill at all!
    stella rose

  3. Taryn
    May 17, 2013 @ 12:50:50

    Well, it’s a rare day that I see another Cardigan Corgi, but when I do, I don’t just smile, I gush!

  4. jansfunnyfarm
    May 17, 2013 @ 12:56:01

    Glad to meet you. We’re glad you came by to enter our giveaway.

  5. Bouncing Bertie
    May 17, 2013 @ 13:00:23

    On the rare occasions that we see another wire-haired fox terrier (about three times a year, on average) I invariably rush up to the owner, and so far I have never encountered a WFT owner who isn’t happy to discuss their dog at length with a perfect stranger. We talk about where our dogs were bred, compare notes on their habits, discuss approaches to grooming – is the dog clipped or hand-stripped, etc. etc.
    And other WFT owners do this to me too.
    Cheers, Gail.

  6. Molly The Wally
    May 17, 2013 @ 13:17:20

    Oh yes anything that is a spaniel and Pip too specially if it is a puppy and looks like me when I was smaller.Have a fabulous Friday.
    Best wishes Molly

  7. Goose
    May 17, 2013 @ 13:19:03

    Creep…NO WAY. My MOM smiles real big when she see’s “another me”. She smiles when she see’s other dogs in general. They bring sunshine to her day. So again no way. If you are, then my MOM is one of the biggest creeps around.
    Blessings,
    Goose

  8. Frankie and Ernie
    May 17, 2013 @ 13:21:42

    are you a Jeep??? NO WAY… You don’t look anythingy at all like Jennifer.. OH sorry. I guess I need glasses… NO you are Not a Creep Either.

  9. Lori - What Remains Now
    May 17, 2013 @ 13:31:15

    I always smile when I see a dog. I just can’t help it.

  10. Miss Mindy and her Mom
    May 17, 2013 @ 14:09:29

    If your a creep, then so am I!!! lol How could I not smile at any dog?

  11. Whisppy
    May 17, 2013 @ 14:10:21

    I smile when I meet a dog or cat. And I usually end up chatting with them too. LOL.

  12. Sarge
    May 17, 2013 @ 14:36:38

    Wow, my peeps smile at other pooches all the time! I’m a little jelly over that, but they do it anyway. Mom even tries to talk to lots of them, even when she should know they can’t hear her. shesh. Definitely not creepy! Just furiendly!
    Grr and Woof,
    Sarge, COP

  13. Kat N collies
    May 17, 2013 @ 14:49:57

    I smile at dogs, and say hello. I’ve even waved to the neighbors chocolate labs. I actually tend to greet people’s dog before them! Lol

  14. Freckles
    May 17, 2013 @ 14:52:33

    Hahaha, Domeek always smiles at dogs, whether they are looking up at us or just going on their way! We think you’re definitely not a creep…but sometimes the other dog parents look and glare at us (so maybe they think that we are)! Hehehe, who cares what others think!

  15. Madi and Mom
    May 17, 2013 @ 15:26:03

    ABSOLUTELY NOT….MOM IS THE BIGGEST ANIMAL LOVER, SMILER AT’ER
    IN THE WORLD. SOME TIMES DAD HAS TO REMIND HER THOSE DOGS/CATS DON’T KNOW HER AND TO APPROACH WITH CARE.
    YESTERDAY SHE WAS TOURING AN ASSISTED LIVING FACILITY FOR MY GRANDMA…THEY HAVE A RESIDENT DOG AND CAT. THE DOG, COPPER IS A BASSET HOUND/SHEPARD MIX JUST ABOUT TOO ADORABLE FOR WORDS.
    THEY CAT WAS BEING A CAT NO WHERE IN SIGHT.
    HUGS MADI YOUR BFFF

  16. rubytheairedale
    May 17, 2013 @ 15:29:07

    Why would you say that??? Ma smiles at ALL doggies!! She thinks all doggies and adorables!! If your Moms a creep, then so is my Ma!! BOL
    Kisses,
    Ruby

  17. jank1961
    May 17, 2013 @ 15:56:27

    I’d say the consensus is that you are not a creep, and I agree! I also smile at all dogs, especially if they are the same breed as mine. And I’ll usually say something silly like “hi puppy” too! Most dog parents are proud and are happy if you are enjoying their dog! I think I’m more put off if I’m walking my dog and people pass by without even acknowledging them! 🙂

  18. urban hounds
    May 17, 2013 @ 16:18:06

    No you are most definitely not a creep I smile and often talk to dogs while I walk so if you are a creep I am a zillion times worse

    urban hounds

  19. carraig1
    May 17, 2013 @ 16:19:20

    I smile at dogs, too. Grady smiles when he smells dougnuts.

  20. freya rose blossom
    May 17, 2013 @ 16:42:22

    My lot smile at every dog … luvs Freya Rose Blossom 🙂 X

  21. Idaho PugRanch
    May 17, 2013 @ 17:16:17

    Mom always gets excited when she sees other pugs, she always wants to meet them and pet them!
    hugs
    Bailey, Hazel & Greta

  22. Daisy
    May 17, 2013 @ 17:29:38

    We don’t see many scotties–and nothin’ like Roxy. But SHE just loves to see happy dogs out with their peeps. Makes her smile, too.

    XXXOOO Daisy, Bella & Roxy

  23. Stella and Rory from Down Under
    May 17, 2013 @ 17:53:42

    Nah, not a chance. Our mum usually has dog biscuits in her pocket and as well as smiling, sometimes asks if she can give some dogs a biscuit! It’s always good to smile, especially where dogs are concerned! No worries, and love, Stella and Rory

  24. 2browndawgs
    May 17, 2013 @ 19:02:09

    LOL if I ever saw any Chessies, I am sure I would smile. 🙂

  25. harrispen
    May 17, 2013 @ 19:13:21

    Nothing wrong with you at all…unless there is something wrong with me too. I always smile at dogs no matter where they are.

    Cindy

  26. Max's Mom
    May 17, 2013 @ 19:38:29

    Ha! I’m laughing cuz I do the same thing and will bend down and talk to them too and I don’t even bother with the human except to ask if it’s ok to pet the pup, etc.but I’ll generally do it with any dog!

  27. Murphy Campbell
    May 17, 2013 @ 19:58:00

    You don’t say “hello”? People smile and talk to us all the time and our pawrents talk to other dogs.

    Your Pals,

    Murphy & Stanley

  28. Human Rescues Dog
    May 17, 2013 @ 21:12:44

    That’s so funny! I do this all the time and I’m pretty sure they smile back 🙂 You’re definitely not a creep!

  29. Lassiter chase and Benjamin
    May 17, 2013 @ 21:44:21

    Mommy smiles at all dogs.

  30. acd6pack
    May 17, 2013 @ 22:21:57

    It’s fantastic to smile at dogs! It’s those little unexpected moments of happiness that make the day, especially a work day, a bit brighter. If that makes you a creep, well, you’ve got lots of company!

  31. K-9 Katastrophie
    May 17, 2013 @ 22:31:30

    Haha! I do the same thing too! And I also wonder if people think I am weird!!

    Kim

  32. Jazzi
    May 18, 2013 @ 02:30:39

    Mom ewws and awws…and well….i just run up and mall them to see if they wanna play!! bol

    wags
    Jazzi and Addi

  33. bailey unleashed
    May 18, 2013 @ 03:59:57

    my mom always smiles at other doggies. how can you not? we are irresistible!
    wags, bailey

  34. Mango Momma
    May 18, 2013 @ 06:23:21

    Well, it depends if you smile at all dogs or just the golden types (in which case you are maybe a snob, but not a creep). I am almost always happy to see a dog, but I get extra happy when I see one that reminds me of one of mine. Personally, I smile the most at Airedales (don’t tell Dexter).

    Mango Momma

  35. Lee
    May 18, 2013 @ 10:00:59

    We always smile and now we think why that dog looks like so and so that lives in blogville.
    Sweet William The Scot

  36. Two French Bulldogs
    May 18, 2013 @ 10:20:11

    Mom is the only one smiling here most of the time. We are more curious
    Benny & Lily

  37. BunkThePug
    May 18, 2013 @ 11:45:02

    Oh yes, you are and so am I so I still love you!

  38. whitedogpuperie
    May 18, 2013 @ 12:14:00

    Absolutely NOT! That’s our lot in life — to make the two footers smile!

  39. Kathy Webb
    May 18, 2013 @ 12:49:14

    No Way, you are a Kindred Spirit, you are not a creep! I often do the same, it is always good to show other dogs you care by a smile. And yes, I agree, they do smile back! 🙂

  40. Mitch and Molly
    May 18, 2013 @ 13:11:36

    We just happen to think that’s being very nice and friendly. Mom says that we need to learn from you, Finn!

    Love ya lots♥
    Mitch and Molly

  41. Curt
    May 18, 2013 @ 14:07:18

    Duncan and I meet A LOT of dogs on our walks. Nearly all the dogs here at our apartment complex know me and struggle against their leashes to get close. You see, we never walk without treats so I’ve come to be known as the Treat Guy.

    We meet a lot of dogs at the park, too. Most I ignore completely. Unless they’re Goldens. And I always make a beeline for them. I like Duncan to interact with them and it’s always nice to meet new people and talk about how wonderful and utterly superior our companions are to other breeds.

    You’re not a creep at all. You’re a human with a Heart of Gold.

  42. Misaki
    May 18, 2013 @ 15:09:45

    No way, mummy smiles at every dog that walks past:-)

  43. emma
    May 18, 2013 @ 22:30:07

    My mom says that she just smiles at animals in general…me, I am just busy watching for squirrels and wabbits.

  44. Raelyn
    May 19, 2013 @ 01:43:35

    There is nothing wrong with you!! I smile at every canine I see…. Whether “she” looks like Rose or not!! {Which is nearly impossible, as my girl is a Beautifully Unique mix!! ;op
    –Raelyn and Rose

  45. K-9 Katastrophie
    May 19, 2013 @ 09:34:49

    Hi Finn, we have officially restarted the chronicle! Peemail us if you would like to write for us again!

    Licks,
    Ruthie

  46. Dalton
    May 20, 2013 @ 04:24:57

    Nope not a creep and at least you just smile, typist is one of those annoying people who will come across and tell the poor unsuspecting person all about her dog that their dog happens to resemble – even if the resembalance is that they both have 4 legs and a tail! She really is a nightmare!!

  47. Kirsten
    May 20, 2013 @ 10:28:42

    No you’re not a creep! I have been known to lean out car windows when I see dogs, and in a high squeaky voice say something like hello my tiny itty bitty toasty cutie frito bear! Now that, you could argue, is creepy…

  48. Flea
    May 20, 2013 @ 16:04:14

    That’s hilarious. I do the same with dogs and toddlers and often wonder the same. It’s probably creepier, as a mom, to have someone staring and smiling at your toddler.

  49. Lauren @ Life With Desmond
    May 21, 2013 @ 08:29:36

    This is SO funny, because I totally do the exact same thing, though I don’t really care what kind of dog it is. I also often say to it, “Hi pup!” in the quietest voice you can muster while being excited. I just really love dogs, and they make me happy. I’ve also been known to go to dog parks by myself and lurk outside them. Now THAT’S creepy. lol

