Trip to Little Monsters

We took a trip up to Little Monsters, our dog sitter, to make sure that the next time we go away, everything would be copacetic.  Finn remembered where we were the minute we pulled in, and was really excited to see Lynne, and her doggie Brumbey again.  When we introduced Charley to Brumbey, Charley tried to assert some dominance, and Brumbey wasn’t having any part of it.  But a few minutes later and every doggie was taking a run a through the woods and making themselves at home.  We really love using Little Monsters – Lynne always sends us pictures and texts while we are away to let us know how Finn is doing, and I really enjoyed having this little play date just so everyone could get introduced and have some play time.

IMG_7173

IMG_7175

IMG_7172

IMG_7176

What about you? What makes your dog sitter so special?

42 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. emma
    May 07, 2013 @ 07:17:38

    We stay with my mom’s cousin. They have windows by the front door so we can spend hours sitting there waiting for mom to come back. We like it there but we miss mom. They have mini-humans which we also enjoy playing with and we just go for short walks, so it is like a vacation for us. Your place sounds really fun…wish we had that kind of a place as an alternative!

  2. Lassie and Benj the Shelties
    May 07, 2013 @ 07:22:35

    Sounded like a pawsome meet and greet. Looks like you even got treats out of it too.

  3. Bree
    May 07, 2013 @ 07:22:42

    We usually go with mom and dad if we can….we haven’t found anywhere mom likes so we haven’t used any sitters.

  4. Madi and Mom
    May 07, 2013 @ 07:39:23

    MOL Finn we loved your $10.00 word today copacetic!!
    Little monsters is a great name for a doggie B&B Ms. Lynn looks very nice too and what a great yard.

    Mom says sitter is special on all accounts PERIOD!! I like her because she is heavy handed on the kibble, she plays with me and on the last day of her visit she leaves a detailed note telling mom how gawgeous I am, what a good eater…MOL…
    and how soft my furs are!! Yep I pay her the big bucks for that note.
    Hugs madi your BFFF

  5. Lily Belle & Muffin
    May 07, 2013 @ 07:45:12

    Such beautiful property at Little Monsters! We’re glad that in the end, you all were getting along and that there would be no problems. I bet Ms. Lynn just loves having you there!!

    Hugs,
    Lily Belle & Muffin

  6. Parsley
    May 07, 2013 @ 07:59:29

    I like that she sits for them inside her house! I do this (I dog sit little ones and a couple of big dogs) but I do crate at night since I can’t keep them from mischief.

    We have our own pups in bed with us but my husband sometimes sleeps with them in the dog room in the extra bed. They love it! PS curious what she charges because that is a premium service. Love it!

    • finnhoward
      May 07, 2013 @ 08:05:48

      She is $50/ night for one dog and $70 for the two and requires half for a deposit when you book the dates you want. It is money well spent in my book. She is great an just loves Finn to death.

  7. tarynft
    May 07, 2013 @ 08:11:55

    That looks like a great place for your pups! I used to leave Wilson with a friend. It worked out great as I would sit for her in return. Since we got Jimmy, we haven’t gone on a vacation where we didn’t take the dogs, too.

  8. Goose
    May 07, 2013 @ 08:13:04

    Oh my sitter is Bert’s Miss Vicki. I guess what wakes her so special is she has become family. I feel right at home with her. And she loves loves loves me and takes very good care of me.
    Blessings,
    Goose

  9. Lori - What Remains Now
    May 07, 2013 @ 08:17:03

    We are very lucky because we have a young lady that comes to our house and does housesitting and doggysitting. The pups hardly know we’re gone.

  10. jank1961
    May 07, 2013 @ 08:43:26

    That looks like a great place to go, Finn. We hate leaving our furbabies, so there is nothing like having someone you trust to take care of them. We don’t go away alot, but we will be trying out a new pet sitter, who will come to our house, next time we do. We haven’t had our meet and greet yet, but we are hoping everyone will like her!

  11. Molly The Wally
    May 07, 2013 @ 08:43:54

    We are so glad you have a trusted dog sitter and that you are comfortable with them. Nothing worse than going away worrying. We don’t have a dog sitter. My peeps takes me everywhere and Pip too. Have a terrific Tuesday.
    Best wishes Molly

  12. Chancy and his cats
    May 07, 2013 @ 09:12:35

    The rare times that we need a sitter Mumsy and Popsy’s oldest son who lives near takes care of us. We are happy about that because there are no good sitters in our area and we love him lots. Hugs and nose kisses

  13. Pippa
    May 07, 2013 @ 10:17:17

    Hi Finn!
    I don’t have a dogsitter, but your one looks really nice! It’s in such a fine area, and it must be nice for your peeps to see texts of how you’re doing!
    Pippa 🙂

  14. easyweimaraner
    May 07, 2013 @ 10:20:48

    I haven’t a dog sitter but if I need one sometimes I would call yours :o)

  15. Frankie Furter and Ernie
    May 07, 2013 @ 10:22:16

    WE don’t ALLOW our mom and dad to go ANYWHERE without US…

  16. stella rose
    May 07, 2013 @ 10:24:16

    Well we didn’t know about petsitters cos our mom and dad never goes anywhere, i did go to my big sisters kylei’s house once to play with the grandmonsters while mom went to town…..
    stella rose

  17. Two French Bulldogs
    May 07, 2013 @ 11:26:07

    Who wouldn’t mind going there! Looks fun
    Benny & Lily

  18. Sarge
    May 07, 2013 @ 11:53:36

    Wow, that name is BOL funny! Sounds like a pawesome place and how nice that everyone gets along. I go to the doggy jail sometimes and I don’t like the other pooches much (I’m rotten that way with other critters), but I’ve learned to get along with the peeps there. Sometimes they even walk me and I don’t try to bash anyone! BOL
    Grr and Woof,
    Sarge, COP

  19. Casey the Boxer
    May 07, 2013 @ 12:03:19

    I have the best dog sitters — they’re called Grandma and Grandpa!! They spoil us SO much, and Grandpa takes us on like four walks a DAY. Whenever they can’t look after us, Momma usually asks someone from LBR (the rescue we volunteer with) to come stay at the house with us. That way we get someone who LOVES boxers and we can trust.

  20. Murphy Campbell
    May 07, 2013 @ 13:40:17

    We never had a dog sitter cuz our pawrents have never left us for more than a couple hours. But if they HAD to leave us they’d give Bert’s Miss Vickie a call.

    Your Pals,

    Murphy & Stanley

  21. Sam
    May 07, 2013 @ 14:58:47

    We haven’t left the boys. We used to leave Sam with my Mom, but watching him has gotten hard on her (her health isn’t good). We take them with us, just because we don’t feel comfortable with anyone.

    Sam

  22. Daisy
    May 07, 2013 @ 17:30:53

    That’s a fantastic ‘camp’. We don’t have so many trees. SHE likes our ‘camp’ because we’re so well cared for and anytime SHE visits, there’s no smell. We’ve been going there for about 10 years or more (different dogs).

    Once that dominance thing is over…then the games BEGIN!!

    XXXOOO Daisy, Bella & Roxy

  23. SUGAR: goldenwoofss
    May 07, 2013 @ 17:49:59

    Woof! Woof! That’s great to be acclimated. I love my vacay sitter and I am treated extra special just like you guys. Lots of Golden Woofs, Sugar

  24. Mitch and Molly
    May 07, 2013 @ 19:08:42

    We’ve never had a dog sitter before. We are feeling left out *sniff sniff*

    Love ya lots♥
    Mitch and Molly

  25. Lee
    May 07, 2013 @ 19:36:54

    That looks terrific where Finn has stayed and it is great she will take them both in her home. When my Lee has been in the hospital I go and stay with her friend. Her friend lives in a condo so I don’t have my yard, but she has a great balcony where I can watch everything. It is just four blocks from my home so the smells are the same and I see people I know.
    Thanks for stopping by my blog
    Sweet William The Scot

  26. Raelyn
    May 07, 2013 @ 19:37:01

    Finn and Charley….
    “What makes my dog sitter so special?” Well…. They are my grandparents. I trust them. Grampa love, love, loves canines. And, I do not need to pay them anything!! I am blessed…. ;op
    Love, Raelyn…. Plus Rose, my BEAUTIFULLY UNIQUE “Mystery Dog”!!

  27. Phantom, Thunder, Ciara, and Lightning
    May 07, 2013 @ 21:08:01

    Little Monsters looks like a great place. It must be very comforting to be able to go away knowing the dogs are so well cared for. We use our vets’ boarding kennel mainly because Mom feels best knowing that Phantom is near care if he needs it quickly. But we would love go to a place like you have.

    Woos – Phantom, Thunder, Ciara, and Lightning

  28. Miss Harper Lee
    May 07, 2013 @ 21:50:50

    Finn and Charley are very lucky dogs! When my humans go places where I can’t join them, I either stay with my gran and grandfather and their dog, Mille, in Texas or I stay with Miss Gaye, Mr. Frank, and The Big Dogs (their three Golden Retrievers) down the street. Either way, I’m pretty lucky, but my daddy still spends the entire trip worrying about me!

  29. Idaho PugRanch
    May 07, 2013 @ 22:11:56

    We have been lucky to have a niece that comes and stays at our house. But she is married now and has a little boy. Her husband was in the military so she was happy to come stay last year when we went to South Dakota to get Greta. Her little boy had a blast with Bailey & Hazel. But we know we are going to have to find another option before long.
    hugs
    Bailey, Hazel, Greta and Mom

  30. chicamom85
    May 08, 2013 @ 01:23:41

    I don’t have a dog sitter but I think it is very nice that you keep in touch with yours. It looks like a very nice place to stay.

    Loveys Sasha

  31. Eileen and Annie
    May 08, 2013 @ 02:58:19

    We only go away to dog friendly places.
    Finn and Charley will love their holiday place, looks grrreat!

  32. kirbysdawgblog
    May 08, 2013 @ 03:19:26

    That looks like a great place to have a little doggy vaca, soo much to do for a dog, Kirby would love it too! 🙂

  33. mollieandalfie
    May 08, 2013 @ 04:52:58

    Sorry Finn and Charley that wez so behind.. I love my sitter as she lets me sleep on the bed, can you believe it 🙂 xx00xx

    Mollie and Alfie

  34. 2browndawgs
    May 08, 2013 @ 06:57:23

    Sounds like a great place and looks like there is plenty of space to run!

  35. dogloverofmax@gmail.com
    May 08, 2013 @ 10:29:13

    That’s great to have someone you feel comfortable with! I’m lucky that Max would pretty much only be with one of his extended human family members 😉

  36. Urban hounds
    May 08, 2013 @ 12:26:26

    What a great looking dog sitter place u must enjoy vacays
    Urban hounds

  37. Misaki
    May 08, 2013 @ 16:38:39

    My nanny and grampy look after me, grampy gives me lots of cuddles and treats:-)
    I think you’re going to have loads of fun with your sitter!

  38. Jacobi
    May 08, 2013 @ 17:08:03

    Hey, I have a dog sitter too! She stays in my house with me. She stuffs her pockets full of treats, and she takes me for walks in places that I don’t get to go with my person. She’s pretty awesome. Yours looks awesome too!

    Licks,
    Cobi

  39. Gizmo
    May 08, 2013 @ 17:36:01

    Gizmo and I are super lucky…My friend Beth and I exchange dog sitting…You all saw some pictures of her crew from the week we spent there recently and Giz has spent so much time there it’s his second home so there’s no adjustment period

  40. MyBrownNewfies
    May 08, 2013 @ 19:51:19

    We don’t have a sitter cause our parents never go anywhere:) But yours sounds Super cool!

  41. Little Reufus
    May 11, 2013 @ 00:06:24

    I deu knot habbs an obernight sitter, butt I fink I might just lubbs yeurs!!!

    wif lubbs from Little Reufus

