Voices

I’ve been thinking about the dogs’ personalities.  We gave Finn a voice, and sometimes when we are having conversations, we insert her voice into it like she’s talking.  She usually says things like…

A new person I have never met before?  Lemme come over and say “hewwwow!”

Someone I have met 87 times before?  Lemme come over and say “hewwwow!”

Car keys jingling?  We’re going somewhere?  Let’s go, let’s go, LET’S GOOOOOOOO.

Park?  Did you say park?  YAYAYAY.  I am standing by the door ready to go, get your shoes on, I am READY TO GO.

2013-04-03 19.48.37

Charley, well, he’s a bit more relaxed.  We’ve decided that his voice is that…of…a surfer dude.  He is super mellow.  Like just really chill and in no rush at all.  He’d say…

Mom.  Pops.  Why are you telling me to “come, come, come?”  I am trotting over, I’ll be there in a sec.

Dude, I will drop the stick when I drop the stick.  No worries.  Stick being dropped.

Why did Finn just plow me over in an effort to play?  I have to sniff around first.  Get a lay of the land.  Then I will chase her.

Munchies, I have the munchies.  I shall lick the garbage can.  Tastes soooooo good.

We’re going for a walk, man?  Ok, let me get my leash on first.  Let me scratch.  Let me take a drink of water.  I’ll just meet you over there. No rush. The park will be there in five minutes.

2013-03-30 18.09.07

Typical siblings! Complete opposites.

36 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. astanyAsta
    May 02, 2013 @ 06:06:17

    Finn and Chawley
    I think yoo two awe pawfect complement to each othew. Pawfect siblings
    Smoochie kisses
    Asta

  2. Mona, Weenie & the Mommy too!!
    May 02, 2013 @ 06:50:24

    Love it. Sounds like me and Weenie. Nothig gets him in a hurry…….except food
    Gotta love him.

    {{{hugies}}}….Mona

  3. Reilly
    May 02, 2013 @ 07:08:48

    So true…..theft do have different voices and personalities. Reilly is so laid back and super smart..he has that under current of sarcasm going on from that attitude of “tell me something I don’t know already” and of course Denny ….well his ” weird cared little dude” voice is there all the time. Yep …Finn and Charlie have the perfect voices for them

  4. emma
    May 02, 2013 @ 07:29:14

    Mom does the same with us sometimes and we too are total opposites!

  5. Lily Belle & Muffin
    May 02, 2013 @ 07:32:10

    That was so cute (and soooo true!) Same thing here at our house. Muffin says please just let me stay in bed for another 12 hours…. while I talk to everyone around me to tell them its time to play!

    Hugs,
    Lily Belle & Muffin

  6. Taryn
    May 02, 2013 @ 07:33:40

    I’m surprised that such a young Golden could even be mellow!

    And, yep, my two guys are complete opposites, too!

  7. 2browndawgs
    May 02, 2013 @ 07:39:11

    LOL cute post! You are lucky to have a mellow dog. Brown dawgs can all be crazy. Now that Thunder is 7, he is stating to mellow. Just a bit. But he would not qualify to use mellow surfer dude voice. 🙂

  8. Gizmo
    May 02, 2013 @ 07:57:03

    Gizmo has a voice that I’ve described as a cross between Apu from the Simpsons and Herve Villechaize (“the plane, the plane”)…I’m not sure what Finn’s sounds like but I know Charley is Jeff Bridges in “The Big Lebowski”…Left you something on the blog today 🙂

  9. Goose
    May 02, 2013 @ 08:14:31

    You two compliment each other so well. Your parents have the best of both worlds.
    Blessings,
    Goose

  10. dogloverofmax@gmail.com
    May 02, 2013 @ 08:15:15

    Ha ha ha!😄 I love it! We do that ALL the time too! Glad we aren’t alone!

  11. Jan K
    May 02, 2013 @ 08:26:40

    I think you capture their different personalities perfectly, I love it!

  12. Trackback: It's Great to Be Family on Thankful Thursday | Terrier TorrentTerrier Torrent
  13. Molly The Wally
    May 02, 2013 @ 09:04:24

    Love complete opposites. I with Finn and Pip s like Charley except when it comes to food and then she is a pocket rocket. Have a terrific Thursday.
    Best wishes Molly

  14. Lori - What Remains Now
    May 02, 2013 @ 09:08:54

    You said it EXACTLY. Isn’t it funny how the voices just seem to come out.

  15. easyweimaraner
    May 02, 2013 @ 09:23:52

    Great! What a nice kind to describe the different personalities :o) I have always conversations with my mom, because she is talking about IMPORTANT things first with me. (maybe that’s the reason why we have a lot of mischief in my crib?)

  16. Curt
    May 02, 2013 @ 09:43:38

    This is so funny. A bunch of people have told me they imagine Goldens to have surfer dude voices but when I imagine Duncan’s I don’t hear that at all. I wish I did because it would probably help me relate better. Sometimes I think I hear a type of Charlie Brown voice, educated and conscientious but still innocent. Other times I almost imagine it’s like Rudolph’s from that animatronic Christmas special. I wish I could it hear it as clearly as you guys hear Finn and Charlie’s.

  17. Frankie Furter and Ernie
    May 02, 2013 @ 09:50:02

    WE think you both have SUPER VOICES…
    Just be glad you don’t have to listen to ERNIE’s all day long…

  18. Parsley
    May 02, 2013 @ 10:33:45

    Sibling opposites are fun. And since opposites attract, Charlie might really like Molly. She isn’t too hyper since she is getting older but she can go from sleepy to ‘let’s take out the trash’ in a blurr!

    PS the cone hotel is in Disneys California Adventure.

  19. FleaByte
    May 02, 2013 @ 10:41:00

    Hilarious. 🙂 Neither of mine is laid back. Lucky you. 😉

  20. Two French Bulldogs
    May 02, 2013 @ 10:51:35

    So funny. Mom does the same with us. Humans are nutty
    Benny & Lily

  21. Kat n collies
    May 02, 2013 @ 11:56:00

    We talk for our dogs all the time. (Sometimes in public, and we do get some strange looks! lol)

  22. Eileen and Annie
    May 02, 2013 @ 12:50:22

    Hahaha.
    Strange for Charley to be so laid back when Finn is so excited –
    you’d think he’d get the idea:-)

  23. Whisppy
    May 02, 2013 @ 14:16:20

    We always thought Charley would be the excitable kid, being the younger of the two. Though to be honest, he does seem very laid back in all the photos of him so far.

  24. Madi and Mom
    May 02, 2013 @ 14:32:36

    Finn and Charley…we have a question…so when you two are out walking or sitting in the back seat does your voice say “Mom make Finn/Charley stop touching, looking or poking me?” MOL MOL MOL
    Mom has a Madi voice too she and I talk to Dad with it some times.
    If there was a nanny cam in this house we’d all be committed
    Hugs madi your BFFF

  25. Sam
    May 02, 2013 @ 14:47:40

    Oh gosh, we do that too! Maybe it is a Golden thing?

    Sam

  26. Phantom, Thunder, Ciara, and Lightning
    May 02, 2013 @ 16:53:21

    Opposites attract or something like that, right? Charley sounds like the pawfect complement to Finn. Thunder is pretty laid back too – Mom says he needs to get a move on – he takes forever to come across the yard when she calls. He says he IS coming, but at his own pace:)

    Woos – Phantom, Thunder, Ciara, and Lightning

  27. Daisy
    May 02, 2013 @ 16:57:10

    We have different personalities, too, BUT not when there’s a walk involved. Then we are a wild force to be reckoned with! SHE is sooooo slow to get ready.

    XXXOOO Daisy, Bella & Roxy

  28. Lassiter chase and Benjamin
    May 02, 2013 @ 19:59:25

    Love both their voices.

  29. Murphy Campbell
    May 02, 2013 @ 23:32:58

    Me and Stanley have voices too. We are exactly the same in some things and totally opposite in others!

  30. robynwp
    May 03, 2013 @ 01:24:46

    Finnie had me at “Hewwow” <- see what I did there?

    xoxoxox love you Finnie,
    Wally

  31. Miss Harper Lee
    May 03, 2013 @ 11:10:11

    My human do this, too. (Humans are such funny creatures.) Apparently Sheffield, a canine who preceded me, had quite a potty mouth. My humans have no idea how he developed such a vocabulary!

  32. Julia Williams
    May 03, 2013 @ 19:57:35

    Haha!! I never really thought about my cats having distinct voices, but I think you nailed those for Finn and Charley.

  33. dougalldog
    May 04, 2013 @ 07:19:30

    Teehee, my peeps always give Floyd and I voices, Floyd’s the excited one, I’m layed back!

  34. Nessy San
    May 04, 2013 @ 11:28:11

    Hi! I just found your blog, what beautiful dogs you have! 😀

  35. Kari
    May 07, 2013 @ 16:38:43

    all of my pups have voices 🙂

    Stop on by for a visit
    Kari
    http://dogisgodinreverse.com/

