Ranting Momma

Finn’s Momma here. Bit of a different blog post again today.  And probably the next few times.  Since we have Charley and he is driving me nutso, I am going to blog about him for a while.  But this is ok because I will give you the Finn fix.

2013-03-06 19.56.38

She’s alive, and she is happy. I swear it.  When I take her out by herself, she looks back for Charley to come too.  It’s sweet.  Of course she is still a little jealous and we’re working on that, but today I want to focus on Charley.

I think I was duped. Lied to. Deceived. Had a rug pulled over my eyes. I think Charley had been previously adopted by another family and had been returned. Not that I mind per se, I just want to know why they returned him.

You see, Charley was horsing around on one of the first days we had him, and I had decided that training would begin then. So after a quick “Sit” command, he sat. Thinking back about it, he instinctively walked on my left side when we went for our first walk together. He can roll-over and he knew “stay” and “come” the first time we tried it with him. I doubt the kennel worked with him on this, since the times we went to visit him, there was overworked staff, barely keeping up with visitors’ requests, just trying to clean up after and feed all the animals. Training doesn’t seem to be the number 1 priority there.  So do I have a genius dog or was he home with another family?

And if he was home with another family, WHY THE COMPLICATIONS WITH THE POTTY TRAINING?  He can hold it overnight for up to 11 hours, but peeing in the house is just second nature to him.  We are working on it, and some days we take two steps forward and other days, we take four steps back.  I know we will get there.  I just needed to rant.

And, do I have a right to know about the supposed return?  Should I call the kennel and ask?  Will they really tell me?  Should I even care?

Oh, and just so you don’t think we are horrible hu-parents who are providing a loving home to one doggie and a horrible one to another, we’re not.  Charley’s getting love.  I think he’s a happy doggie.  Oh, and he can do the stairs now too.  Finn showed him how.

2013-03-06 19.36.34

27 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Madi and Mom
    Mar 11, 2013 @ 07:41:42

    Dear Finn Mom
    Bless your heart I wish I knew how to help you. When I was trying to house break our dachshund, I often said I’d rather house break 10 little human boys, at one time, than one Doxie boy. OH GOSH he was so stubborn. As you said NOT that it matter…but if it were me I’d ask the rescue about Charley. If it was the potty issue then you can possibly get more advice as to how it can be handled. Obviously he is smart. When a cat has litter box issues it is always caused by something associated with the box that was BAD experience. Maybe Charley did have potty issues and was disciplined the wrong way bringing on bad reactions!! I’m sure you have asked everyone you know but somewhere along the way some advice w click with him. Have you tried treats when he potties outside?
    Good news is he has a sweet personality and is loving to Finn!! Mistreating her would be HUGE
    and hard to correct…this can/will be corrected.
    Lots of hugs and purrs for quick results.

  2. Parsley
    Mar 11, 2013 @ 07:56:09

    Oh that’s a hard one and probably WHY he was returned if he was. Is he just marking or really letting a lot of water out? I hope he figures it out because that’s not fun for momma!

  3. 2browndawgs
    Mar 11, 2013 @ 07:58:26

    We got our first golden when he was 14 months old. The breeder who had him said he was house trained. But he wasn’t at our house. We worked it and he was getting the picture. At the time I was working at my dad’s house and took him with me. He would have accidents there. I figured out that he understood that he could not go in our house, but hadn’t made the connection that he could not go in any house. Sometimes training is situational. Or maybe Charley is marking. If he is marking I would definitely discourage that behavior. But it is a fine line because if it is just an “accident” you don’t want to play it up.

    Storm took forever to house train…seriously. She was a bit slow catching on. I mean months and we got her as a pup. lol

    You are probably doing this, but I would just make sure to take Charley out a lot when you are home with him. More than you think and praise praise praise when he does his business and keep on praising. I still praise my dogs, even Thunder who will be 7 this week. Charley is a smart dog. He will get it.

  4. Pip
    Mar 11, 2013 @ 08:35:59

    Hang in there!

    Your pal, Pip

  5. Lassie and Benji the Shelties
    Mar 11, 2013 @ 08:56:05

    Hang in there Finn’s Momma, it will get better. Maybe try spraying something on the furniture to get him to stop peeing there. I know we used to put vinegar on the carpet when Benji had a pee accident on the carpet. It seemed to help. Oh and about wanting to know Charley’s history — we always wanted to know Benji’s history. Benji is allergic — we would have loved to have known if his doggie parents were allergic. And if they were allergic — do they know from what. (I don’t think the kennel would tell you about Charley’s past.)

  6. katiebblogs
    Mar 11, 2013 @ 09:01:50

    Oh Finn, we so relate! We are right there with you after hmm, nine months, and we think you will beat our progress in no time. Hang in there, we promise soon you’ll be reading about all of Cocco’s issues and think “phew, that’s over for us at least.” 🙂

    Oink oink,
    Katie and Coccolino the mini pig

  7. tarynft
    Mar 11, 2013 @ 09:19:36

    At 8 months, Charlie is still very much a puppy. At that age it is common for house training to regress for a while. You have to be very diligent about keeping him crated when you can’t watch him closely. Don’t give him the opportunity to make a mistake. If he’s out of the crate, keep him tethered to you with a leash, no wandering around at all. Treat him like you would a young puppy.

    Good Luck! He’ll get there!

  8. Casey the Boxer
    Mar 11, 2013 @ 09:32:25

    Have you tried a belly band? Put a pad over his lipstick and wrap (loosely) with an ace bandage. Leave it on whenever he’s in the house. If he tries to pee, he’ll pee on himself. Take it off whenever you need to take him out, and make sure you do that OFTEN. It usually doesn’t take fosters very long to pick up the trick that way!

  9. we three doxies
    Mar 11, 2013 @ 09:46:26

    You go right ahead and rant. I wish I knew what to tells you but I has no idea. Furst, my mum sucks at training. Second, we is doxies and notoriously hard to house train. Fur instance my brudder is 10 yrs. ols and though quick to break and never peed in da house…guess what, he did last night…after 10 years of NEVER doin’ it. I think my mum cried.
    Just a gut feelin’ though, I am led to think Charley is doin’ it fur territorial reasons. Just a hunch though.

    Puddles

  10. Kirsten
    Mar 11, 2013 @ 09:52:09

    Huh, that is a tricky one. But maybe it doesn’t matter so much why he was returned…you’ve got that “black box” of animal behavior, and if you can find the solution to your potty training problem, that’s all that matters! At least, so they say:)

    I’ve found potty training to be a really stubborn problem too sometimes, and then all of a sudden it’s just clicked. I think the tough thing is that it just requires such vigilance…not letting pup out of your sight for a moment so that you can always catch him “in the act” and bring him outside immediately. Hang in there–it will click for Charley too!

  11. Molly The Wally
    Mar 11, 2013 @ 09:58:45

    I think we’d rather not know and move forward in our own way. The main thing is Finn gets on with him and the rest will slot into place. Feel free to have a rant anytime. Have a marvelous Monday.
    Best wishes Molly

  12. Goose
    Mar 11, 2013 @ 10:03:09

    If it matters to you I think it’s ok to call and ask. It’s not like you are going to return him if he was. As far as potty training, well I just don’t know what to suggest. MOM says that all she had to do with me was say no once and bamb I never peed in the house again. But we all are different and our learning curve is not the same. I’m 13 and STILL have not learned how to heel by MOM’s side.
    Blessings,
    Goose

  13. Bailey
    Mar 11, 2013 @ 10:30:31

    It does sound like someone worked with him if he knows his commands. Bailey was potty trained by his foster Mom, but had no other training. Katy was 2 and wasn’t potty trained. She had only been in foster a short time and struggled with stairs and all kinds of issues. Ironically, I expected Bailey to have more challenges than Katy because she was older. In fact because she’d been neglected longer, she’s taken longer to train. However, like Finn, Bailey has been a huge helping in teaching her how to do things. It’s funny when you see her make one of his habits her own. She’ll do it, but in her own unique way.

    It is frustrating when you don’t have a good history. We know a good deal about where Bailey came from, etc. We even have his papers that the original owners surrendered to the breed rescue. We know next to nothing about Katy and it will help to know when dealing with some of her challenges. We keep working through them, but it would be easier if you knew the reasons for them to find solutions.

    I wish you well on your journey. It sounds like they are bonding.

  14. Murphy Campbell
    Mar 11, 2013 @ 11:05:35

    These are natural things to wonder. When we went to our first training class there was another doodle in the class named Marley. Her people had a trouble with housebreaking her too. But the problem was with the people not the dog. The parents worked a lot of hours and were leaving the job up to the kids. The kids would forget to take Marley out until after she peed. The vet told us once if the dog imprints with going to the bathroom in the house it is a lot harder to deal with (but not impossible, just harder). Sounds like Charley is just going to take some time in this area. Once you get through all this initial stuff and Charley finds his place in the household, you will be glad you did! Good luck.

    Your Pals,

    Murphy & Stanley
    Online Doods

  15. Whisppy
    Mar 11, 2013 @ 11:28:23

    I think you’re doing a good job with Charley and all that hard work will pay off. I would call the kennel to ask if he was indeed returned by another family after assuring them you would not return him. Maybe they are afraid to tell you about his history, fearing you may return him.

  16. Blueberry's human
    Mar 11, 2013 @ 11:39:25

    I’d call – who knows, they may be honest and at least you’ll have some answers. If not, you’re no worse off than you were before. A lot of kennels, rescues, shelters will “mask” or just plain lie about a dog’s background in order to get them adopted out. This is not in the dog’s best interest as they will often get bounced back to those places when their “issues” start showing up. At least if these places are up front about the history of the dog – you have a fighting chance in training them or at least can honestly say “you know I’m not ready to take on that kind of challenge right now” and maybe adopt a different dog.

    I agree with what Taryn said about making sure you either keep him in a crate or you partition off an area of the kitchen or something to at least better manage where he is peeing and pooping. I know it’s a pain, but hopefully in the long run it’ll pay off. As he becomes more trustworthy in those areas, you can expand his “world” a little. He may also just still be settling in and is too distracted to care about where he’s at when he needs to do his business.

    Keep us posted!

  17. Reilly & Denny
    Mar 11, 2013 @ 11:45:48

    I guess the question is – will knowing change anything? Will knowing change his potty habit – will knowing change how you feel about him – will knowing make you question keeping him?

  18. freya rose blossom
    Mar 11, 2013 @ 14:37:10

    Maybe he is trying to tell everyone that it is his home…. yep hang on in there. Give him time because he needs time to settle down… aw.. .poor guy… poor mum… you have lots of luvs from us. Luvs Freya Rose Blossom X

  19. Frankie Furter and Ernie
    Mar 11, 2013 @ 15:32:23

    It looks like you got Tons of good advice here. He has OBVIOUSLY had some Major training of SOME type… Maybe it was too much fur him… being as he is so young… and he just couldn’t learn it ALL at once.. It might be that he has some sort of Infection. Perhaps the Belly band thing.. with the… USED ones being taken OUTSIDE and left there fur him to RE Visit…

  20. Daisy
    Mar 11, 2013 @ 17:02:50

    Yeah, it would be nice to know where he was…..maybe he needs one of those belly thingys boy dogs have.

    XXXOOO Daisy, Bella & Roxy

  21. Milo
    Mar 11, 2013 @ 17:23:52

    Hello Finns mummy!
    Please tell Finn i apologize for not coming to visit her blog in a while, i completely forgots you guys moved to wordpress!! Buts now i will make sure i keep up!! Potty training can be very depressing, especially when you wake up or come home to a load of pee and poops everywhere, Molly used to always do this (she was one at the time and we only just gots her so we also wondered how the previous people coped for so long withouts training there doggy how to pee outside!). But then again maybe that is why they returned Charley? Perhaps it was because he couldn’t get the hand of toilet training, then again if they taught him roll over i’m sure they would try to teach him where to potty!!! Have you checked with your vet abouts this yet? Although it seems harmless it could be the signs of an underlaying problem, good luck!!
    Love Milo 🙂

  22. Mitch and Molly
    Mar 11, 2013 @ 19:13:19

    We think you have a right to know the answer to any questions that you have! And we think you’re doing wonderfully with Charley for the short period of time that he’s lived with you. Hang in there! It will get better!

    Love ya lots,
    Mitch and Molly

  23. Eileen and Annie
    Mar 12, 2013 @ 03:13:31

    Hope things get better soon. I’ve never had a male dog so can’t help you.
    Do ask the rescue why he was put up for re-homing, they really should tell you.
    Much respect to you x

  24. urban hounds
    Mar 12, 2013 @ 12:12:57

    I am not sure I would ask, because will it make a difference? I am sure that it will get better and I am sure that it is tough. I have actually found males easier to train then females. Is he marking? Then I would try a belly band. Hang in there because your efforts will be worth it.

  25. Roo
    Mar 13, 2013 @ 05:22:15

    Isn’t that cool that Finn showed him how to get down the stairs! Way to go Sis! 😀

    I would think the only thing that may be useful about any prior home is if the shelter has info on behavioral issues that Charley has displayed – this way you’d at least have a starting point from training vs. finding out about it on the fly and then figuring out a way to change the behaviors.

    If you can get that info, Great! Butt, I think you’ll do just fine if you don’t – I have total faith in y’all’s Pawrentin abilities 😀

    Waggin at ya,
    Roo

  26. dougalldog
    Mar 13, 2013 @ 05:49:13

    How old is he?? It took me a long time to learn the right place to go…. Floyd got it in like 4 days, but I took MONTHS… The peeps thought I would NEVER get it… But I did eventually. He will too! 🙂

  27. humanrescuesdog
    Mar 17, 2013 @ 05:04:02

    Your goldies are adorable 🙂 I sympathise with the toilet training issues. If it helps, I’ve got a post on my blog called ‘To Wee or Not to Wee’ which were 7 steps that really helped me in toilet training my chocolate lab. You may have already tried these but I found those steps very helpful and learnt them the hard way. Going to explore the rest of your blog now.

