Houston, We Have a Problem.

Roger that Charley.

photo-109

At least I haven’t lost my sense of humor…yet. I want to apologize for not visiting you all as much as I would like to. I am having some adjustment issues in my house….just getting into a routine with the two doggies.

Sometimes I feel like Finn is adjusting just fine. And then other times (see above picture), I don’t think she is doing fine. That would be her resting her head in between my thighs.  Note to self: this camera angle is not complimentary to my thighs.  I just try to give her some special one on one time every day and some extra rubs and treats. I am quite mindful of the jealousy situation.

photo-110

I heard what some of you said about Charley perhaps being housebroken and just nervous about the new situation and that’s why there were accidents. I have had the pleasure of being woken up at 3 am and 4 am to let him out.  He rattles in his crate a bit to let us know it’s time and off we go.  We also had our dog walker come last week and make sure he was getting out, and there weren’t any problems mid-day.  However, there have been random peeps and poops in the house, and we are just trying to give him the opportunity to go out with reward as much as possible.  Ah, the learning curve.  We’re getting there.

My apprehension is really because I have never owned more than one dog at one time. And remember, Finn was my first dog. So, I am sure for a while you’ll have to hear about my latest trials and tribulations with the two of them. But, I figure if I throw in a cute picture of Finn here and there, you won’t mind, will you?

photo-111

28 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Kari
    Mar 09, 2013 @ 07:30:21

    It takes some time to adjust to a multidog house so dont stress out!

    Stop on by for a visit
    Kari
    http://dogisgodinreverse.com/

  2. Whisppy
    Mar 09, 2013 @ 07:40:53

    I think now is a period of adjusting for everyone in the family. You’re definitely doing it right by making sure Finn still has her one to one time with her Mommy. 🙂
    Love that photo of Finn laughing. Such a pretty girl.

  3. Frankie Furter and Ernie
    Mar 09, 2013 @ 07:43:36

    Out often…. and remember that I (Frankie Furter) am a big believer in the Cheese fur Pees Plan. hehhehe

  4. Bouncing Bertie
    Mar 09, 2013 @ 08:14:37

    I’ve never been brave enough to go for a second dog, so it’s good to hear about your experiences as I am sure they are not unique. I know Bertie’s friend Horatio had several ‘adjustment’ issues when a new pup was introduced to the house, and his owner wondered if they would be resolved or not. In that case things did eventually settle down.
    Wishing you patience and good humour!
    Cheers, Gail.

  5. Molly The Wally
    Mar 09, 2013 @ 08:34:13

    Pip hated me and I mean hated me. She could not get far enough away. Three weeks later we were mother and daughter. Things will sort themslevs out. Fret not! Have a super Saturday.
    Best wishes Molly

  6. Sam
    Mar 09, 2013 @ 09:03:58

    We understand completely. We had at one time 17 Great Danes and my Golden. Once you have one Dane, folks tend to think you run a rescue and we couldn’t say no. We had the time and space then so it wasn’t a hardship. LOL – it also meant we had no trick or treaters for almost 15 years. The house training will pass before you know it, consistency is the key, but it sounds like you are doing fine. We put bells on the un-house trained pups. It helps us hear them when they start moving around. …and we set a timer. Every so many minutes (15 for new pups, 20 for older, and 30 until we new what worked) that timer would ring and we would run the dog out. If they went, lots of praise. We would then go back in and reset the timer. This takes a little bit of effort but it really worked to solve potty training issues. We are thinking of you! 😀

    Sam

  7. Sam
    Mar 09, 2013 @ 09:04:50

    …and I meant “knew” not “new”. It’s time for more coffee…

    Sam

  8. Reilly
    Mar 09, 2013 @ 09:20:01

    It does take time and don’t worry if there is an occasional fight…that is the normal dog hierarchy at work…making sure someone’s knows the pecking order. Some dogs just take a little longer to get the idea of house training..simple rule to follow….after nap…outside…after food..outside….after playing…outside…just before bed and first thing in the morning….outside….it will soon become habit 🙂

  9. bringingupbella
    Mar 09, 2013 @ 09:50:29

    It’s reasonable to expect Finn’s nose to be a bit out of joint, so to speak. She’s been top (and only) dog in the house for quite a while. It sounds like maybe she’s figured out now Charley’s not “just visiting” and is a little uncertain of what that means for her.

    It’s been a LONG time since I’ve had more than one dog in my house but it sounds like you’re doing everything right from what I’ve read and heard. A little extra “Mommie and Me” time, a few extra belly rubs, maybe a solo walk here and there. I wouldn’t sweat it too much. Finn’s a good girl and you’ve raised her well. She’ll adjust and I bet these two will be acting like siblings (for better or for worse ;)) in no time.

  10. Goose
    Mar 09, 2013 @ 10:38:15

    I won’t mind at all to hear the tales and see photos. I have been an only dog for 13 years and I am not so sure I would handle another coming into my house. MOM says I would do fine. But I don’t know…. Good thing the lease says there can be only one dog weighing no more than 120lbs. Whewww.
    Blessings,
    Goose

  11. Lily Belle
    Mar 09, 2013 @ 11:03:53

    Oh we know how it goes. Going from one to two is not always easy. Mommy found that I was very jealous when Muffin joined our family full time. She had to make “special” time for each of us which was not easy to do. Sometimes too, it wasn’t always Muffin doing the peeing and pooping in the house either. Yup, Mommy caught me in the act more than once. So she said to keep an eye on that. Eventually it all worked out and now we’re just one big happy family. Remember, Rome wasn’t built in a day!

    Hugs,
    Lily Belle

  12. Madi and Mom
    Mar 09, 2013 @ 11:38:54

    Sending Meows and hugs that Charley will soon get a handle on his house training and
    learn to sleep through the night. Much like have a new baby.

    Extra hugs to Finn for being so patient with her new sib and peeps.
    Madi and Mom your BFFF

  13. Murphy Campbell
    Mar 09, 2013 @ 13:54:19

    You are still at the time where everyone is getting used to each other. It will get better and these two will be good friends.
    Your Pals,

    Murphy & Stanley
    Online Doods

  14. Urban Hounds
    Mar 09, 2013 @ 14:36:43

    Adjusting takes a bit and then they will be great friends

    urban hounds

  15. Daisy
    Mar 09, 2013 @ 16:43:20

    Bella and Roxy get in some huge blues. When Roxy was still a pup, it was okay, but now that she wants to move up a rank, they have some doozies. They are both jealous and want HER attention. They’ll sort it out. Don’t worry about the sad eyes. Finn knows how to use them!

    Maybe you can try Frankie’s cheese for pees idea for outdoor pees.

    XXXOOO Daisy, Bella & Roxy

  16. Stella and Rory from Down Under
    Mar 09, 2013 @ 17:01:05

    Howdy Finn and Charley’s mum, sounds like you are doing everything right! Bringing a new pup (albeit a big one hehe) home will upset Finn for a little while, that’s only natural. We have been through the same thing very recently when our daughter adopted her dog and they live with our other daughter who has a choc lab Tyler. It took about four weeks for them to become comfortable with each other and now they are just wonderful. I am a great believer in exercising them together, somewhere away from the home situation. I think walking them both at the same time (with help from someone else?) or letting them have a run off lead somewhere safe is a great way for them to bond. Good luck with the housetraining. I send you sympathy on this one cause there’s not much fun in getting woken during the night is there. Good luck with your new addition. No worries, and love, Carol (and Stella and Rory)

  17. Mitch and Molly
    Mar 09, 2013 @ 18:31:01

    We so understand the jealousy issue. Mom says that’s the worst part of owning two pups!
    The adjustment period does take awhile. Hang in there, Finn! You and Charley will become the best of friends. We’re sure of it!

    Love ya lots,
    Mitch and Molly

  18. dougalldog
    Mar 09, 2013 @ 21:43:35

    Who said siblings were meant to get along? Floyd and I still have the odd argument!

  19. whatremainsnow
    Mar 10, 2013 @ 02:37:57

    I am a huge fan of consistency and routine. It’s been funny around our house recently…I had my hours at work cut, so I’m home on days the pups are used to me not being around. The first few days I was home, Casper kept wanting to go outside (I let them outside before I do my final “going to work” preparations). I think he was trying to get me to go to work (ha). So, I had to establish a new routine. On the days I’m home, I keep the same routine as the days I go to work. I let them out and then give them a little treat around the same time I do on work days, then I “ignore” them during my work day time. It took a few days, but now they ignore me right back.

  20. Piappies World
    Mar 10, 2013 @ 04:16:41

    Hello there Finn,
    Give it some time for more adjustments and things will be fine. Do enjoy the weekend! Charley will be your fun playmate soon. We love your photos, too!

    Love,
    Piappies Fudgie, Princess, Frappie, Mocha, Sugar, Wai-Max, Wai-Pai & Forgie

  21. Lassiter chase and Benjamin
    Mar 10, 2013 @ 05:29:50

    Finn I think u are doing great. Adjusting to new situations is ruff at first. Hang in there, Charley will get potty trained soon.

  22. Chicco
    Mar 10, 2013 @ 06:28:46

    Hey Finn,
    Have a nice sunday.
    Woof, woof,

    Chicco

  23. pawsitivelyhumane
    Mar 10, 2013 @ 13:00:25

    Thank you for visiting our blog. The transition from one dog to multiple dogs is not easy for you and them. But don’t worry they will adapt. It only takes time and patience. They seem to be great dogs. Have a great sunday!

  24. Bert
    Mar 10, 2013 @ 20:29:06

    You are all very brave to become a bigger family, but we have total faith in each and everyone of you. You’ll work it out and this will all just be a tiny ripple in the water of life.
    Love
    Bert

  25. FiveSibes™Mom (@FiveSibesMom)
    Mar 10, 2013 @ 22:48:01

    Adding new family members is always fun…a little bit of a challenge, but so rewarding! We love pics!!! And we love to hear how the larger family is doing!

  26. 2browndawgs
    Mar 11, 2013 @ 07:44:18

    I bet the doggies have been keeping you on your toes. Once you figure out a routine, it will get better, (says the person with now three dogs…lol).

  27. Blueberry's human
    Mar 11, 2013 @ 11:29:32

    I feel your pain and frustration. I went through a lot of the same things back when I had my dog Shadow and then 4 years later added Copper to the mix. He was a challenge to say the least. In every area of training – he was a challenge. Eventually, I got to a point where I could live with it (he never did stop scent marking in the house for the 9 years I had him – ugh) and we all learned to get along (mostly).

    Some dogs just integrate into a family very easily and others are more challenging. I am sorry to hear Charley is one of the more challenging ones, but hopefully with consistence, patience and love, you will all be just fine. It does take at least a few months to get used to another dog (at least it did for me) and the extra responsibilities it brings. Hang in there – and please feel free to rant or ask questions. We’re here for you in Blogville! 🙂

  28. Little Reufus
    Mar 15, 2013 @ 22:52:52

    When I came here teu libbs wif the Mom and my brother the Bleu, I did occasionally deu some businesses in the house. My the Mom did solbe it by taking me straight from crate out side on leash. I whas knot taken off leash until I did the businesses… and my reward whas Freedom. It worked quickly! That may or may knot helb yeu wif the Charley…

    I deu habbs teu tell yeu how much whee lubbs yeu all.Whee are conbinced it iss fate yeu are all teugeffer… reasons whee whill tell yeu a nodder day.

    wif lubbs from Little Reufus

