Wally Comes to New York

Hewwwow! Finnackles here. I want to tell you about my date today with my BF Wally. I asked his Momma is he could come to NY for a visit and she said yes! I was really nervous, but Momma and Pops helped me map out some things for us to do together.

First Wally flew into NY and met up with my Momma, since that’s where she works. She showed him around the city…

2013-02-20 11.36.56

…and he helped her a bit in her office too, waiting for her to take him back home to me for our date!

2013-02-20 11.56.19

Then Momma brought Wally home to meeee!  And he was so sweet!  He brought me flowers!  I sniffed and sniffed them.  And then I remembered to give him a big kiss hello!

photo-22

I had decided that I wanted to show Wally around my regular stomping grounds, you know? All the things I normally do.  And, Wally told me he was still a little tired from his visit with Pip and Puddles, and their super wild animal safari adventure earlier in the week.  So, I took him for a nice long walk in my neighborhood. I showed off the community dog run where I go running around with some of the other local dogs and to the jungle gym where Momma lets me climb up and down the slide…

photo-23

And then we walked down the street to the local dog park, where I loooooove going. This is where I get all my serious sniffing done.

photo-27

My Wally was so brave and strong, he played in the big dog area with me and my friends!

photo-26

I love the dog park!!  Especially romping around with you in it Wally!  After we got tired from all of our running around, we decided we needed a little snack.  So, I took Wally to the supermarket, otherwise known as the pet store, and we bought and shared a couple of treats!

photo-100

Then we decided to do something more cultural.  Sometimes I head into Momma’s part-time job to keep her company.  She works at a local art gallery.  I convinced Wally that there was a sculpture there he really really needed to see.  Pretty cool, eh?

photo (4)

After we scooped out the art scene, Wally told me he was really hungry.  I wanted to treat him to some nice NY Italian food, since I am being raised as an Italian dog.  And outside of Italy, I think the best Italian food is in New York, right?  So we headed over to our local pizza joint, where Momma and Pops say the owners should know us on a first name basis by now.

photo-103

And Wally and I shared a nice big meatball sub!  I am super glad he didn’t want to share a bowl of spaghetti and do something so cliche, you know?

photo-104

After we ate, we talked a little bit more. And then I was sad to see my Wally leave to go back home. I hope he enjoyed seeing my everyday life and being a New Yorker for a day. Think he’ll come back again soon so I can show him around some more?

27 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Long Life Cats and Dogs
    Mar 01, 2013 @ 04:03:31

    Wow, what a time you had. Great trip 🙂

  2. mollieandalfie
    Mar 01, 2013 @ 04:55:48

    What a fun date, flowers and a Meat Ball sub 🙂 Wally is the purfect gentleman, you didn’t see Sammy hiding anywhere ..BOL xx00xx

    Mollie and Alfie

  3. Daisy
    Mar 01, 2013 @ 05:03:07

    We’re sure Wally had a fantastic time and will be back. That meatball sub looks scrumptious. Great date.

    XXXOOO Daisy, Bella & Roxy

    Bet Sammy has his nose out of joint.

  4. Molly The Wally
    Mar 01, 2013 @ 05:46:35

    Meatballs Yummy! Pawsome date Finnacles. Wally is a gent. Have a fabulous Friday.
    Best wishes Molly

  5. Urban Hounds
    Mar 01, 2013 @ 07:26:41

    Lots of cool stuff to see you must be so excited for tommorow
    urban hounds

  6. Lily Belle
    Mar 01, 2013 @ 07:31:10

    How nice that Wally was able to come and visit with you Finn. You gave him a wonderful tour and showed him all your popular sites. I bet the best part was getting a slice of that NY Pizza! Yummy…. Mommy said she’d kill for a good slice right about now.

    Hugs,
    Lily Belle

  7. 2browndawgs
    Mar 01, 2013 @ 07:48:59

    Wow what a fun packed tour!

  8. robynwp
    Mar 01, 2013 @ 07:52:50

    Hi Finn, Wally’s mom here – wow you sure did show him a good time! I am very jealous that my little boy got to go to NYC, a place I have always wanted to visit.

    I am trying to keep Sammy away from this post ‘cos I think his head may just explode when he sees how much fun you two had *LOL*

    I will be going to pick Wally up from the airport after work, so don’t worry that he hasn’t commented yet.

    Have a great weekend & please send your momma & pop my love & thanks too
    Robyn

  9. Goose
    Mar 01, 2013 @ 09:23:53

    What a wonderful visit! I am still a little drooly over the meatball sub. Finn you are such a wonderful host. I know Wally had a super time.
    Blessings,
    Goose

  10. Taryn
    Mar 01, 2013 @ 09:28:46

    A whirlwind visit, for sure!

  11. Lassiter Chase and Benjamin
    Mar 01, 2013 @ 09:30:13

    The meatball sub sounded pawsome!

  12. Millie
    Mar 01, 2013 @ 10:43:23

    What a fun visit! Too bad he couldn’t stay longer.

  13. astany
    Mar 01, 2013 @ 10:48:47

    Dawling Finn
    I just know that yoow Wally had a fantastically good time. Yoo took him to all yoow favowite places and that makes them his favowites too, i bet..i wemembew my dog wun fwom when I lived in the Vllage in manhattan…i still miss those times wif my pals. I agwee that NY has the bestest italian food next to Italy. I bet Wally will be back ovew and ovew to see you
    Smoochie kisses
    Asta

  14. Katie and Coccolino
    Mar 01, 2013 @ 11:28:24

    What a fun time you must have had!

    Oink oink,
    Katie and Coccolino the mini pig

  15. Madi and Mom
    Mar 01, 2013 @ 12:03:31

    Finn
    Wally is very lucky to have a very organized and fan girl like you. I think you covered all the bases in your fine City.
    Lots of hugs and are you excited about tomorrow? I am!!
    Hugs Madi your BFFF

  16. robynwp
    Mar 01, 2013 @ 12:09:09

    Hi My Finnie – I just got home!

    Where do I begin? Mom says “thank you” is probably a good place (sheesh…can’t a dog get some privacy while he types to his girlfuriend!).

    As I was saying…Thank You for the most pawsome 24 hours EVER! I LOVE New York…what a grrrreat place. Those parks you took me to…the arty place…the Italian restaurant (I think meatball subs are my new favourite food) but most of all it is where you live and I love wherever you are.

    I hope you had as good a time as I did. I miss you already 😦

    Good luck for tomorrow and Charley’s arrival – don’t worry it is going to be grrreat, I promise you your momma & pop have more than enough love to go around.

    Licks & love
    Your Wally
    xoxoxo

    • finnhoward
      Mar 01, 2013 @ 12:26:07

      Oh Wally, I am so glad that you had a really nice time. I miss you too. Hope you can find a good meatball sub around your neck of the woods. And that you had a safe flight home…

  17. Dachshund Nola
    Mar 01, 2013 @ 12:49:25

    What a great time!
    Nola

  18. Anonymous
    Mar 01, 2013 @ 13:01:37

    What a wonderful time you had with Wally! We’re sure he will be back to spend more time with you. 🙂

  19. Frankie Furter and Ernie
    Mar 01, 2013 @ 13:33:20

    THAT was a FANGtastic time that you and WALLY had Miss Finn. I am glad that you didn’t chews the Busghetti , too.
    You two make a gorgeous couple.

  20. Casey the Boxer
    Mar 01, 2013 @ 16:39:52

    Aww, it looks like a very sweet date you had!

  21. Murphy Campbell
    Mar 02, 2013 @ 00:51:12

    You are a wonderful tour guide. Thanks for showing us all around!

    Your Pals,

    Murphy & Stanley
    Online Doods

  22. A Day In The Life Of A Goose
    Mar 02, 2013 @ 04:12:54

    Oh Finn, what a wonderful experience you gave Wally! I bet that he had an incredible time! That sub looked delish! I’m glad you were able to hang together in your Hood! 🙂

  23. Maggie Mae and Max
    Mar 02, 2013 @ 08:49:23

    Finn,

    Wally is so very lucky to have been able to visit you, what a great day full of lots to do AND yummy foodables!

    Woofs and Licks,
    Maggie Mae and Max

  24. Sarge
    Mar 02, 2013 @ 19:23:34

    Hey Finnackles!
    Wow, you had a wonderful date with your beau Wally! I’m so happy for both of you because you are a great couple. What a nice time around your territory…made even better because you were together. That sub’s making me drool all over my Mr Dell. I hope you two have another date soon. Congrats on such a great date!
    Grr and Woof,
    Sarge, COP

  25. Sasha
    Mar 02, 2013 @ 20:07:12

    What a lovely day you had. The food looked wonderful, I was drooling just reading about it. I am so happy for you that everything went so well. I am sure you will have sweet dreams for a while.

    Loveys Sasha

  26. Lee
    Mar 02, 2013 @ 20:33:45

    All the way from South Africa for a meatball sub that’s love! I am sure Wally was just happy looking into your eyes.
    Thanks for being a friend
    Sweet William The Scot

