Blogger vs WordPress

Many of you have asked me since I have switched over to wordpress why I was doing it and if I liked it.  I wanted to give you a breakdown of my blogger and wordpress experiences now that I have been over here for a while….

I moved over to wordpress for more security in the beginning.  In wordpress, spam is pulled out of your comments and it is all spam +1 W

And in wordpress, you have to authorize a new visitor to leave their first comments +1 W

That being said, Madi’s comments are always in my spam folder -1 W

I found Blogger a little more intuitive as a program.  I feel that their system is more navigable and I could figure out any changes they made to itself in a day or two +1B

WordPress seems to be slightly more professional, and you can create your own domain name for a minimal charge +1 W

When I logged into my gmail, I was logged into Blogger.  I miss having the two connected +1 B

I know that Blogger users now have to enter more information in order to leave a comment.  -1 W  But it is for security purposes, so I appreciate all you who do that.

In wordpress, you know if someone else in wordpress is responding to your comments +1 W  In blogger, you had to go back to that person’s blog to see if there was a response or comment, and I never really followed up on that.

In wordpress, you can search easier for other blogs you would like to follow or check out.  I have found a few new dog blogs on here I never knew existed on blogger +1 W

Sometimes, in wordpress, all of the blogs that I follow don’t pop up when I try to go through them.  If I log in when I wake up, it will tell me I have a handful of new posts, and then if I go back later, there will be a ton of posts that weren’t there the first time from overnight.  It is the weirdest thing -1 W

So, to break it down:

WordPress 2, Blogger 2

29 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. 2browndawgs
    Nov 20, 2012 @ 06:25:25

    Sounds pretty even. 🙂 Thanks for the breakdown I was wondering about the differences between the two.

  2. Urban Hounds
    Nov 20, 2012 @ 07:04:11

    Word press is nice but I think it might be to tough for us momma is not good with computers really and she has heard blogger is better for beginners

    urban hounds

  3. Gloria
    Nov 20, 2012 @ 07:36:38

    Thanks for the info! I sure wondered about wordpress too.

  4. Sam
    Nov 20, 2012 @ 08:17:13

    I always wondered – thanks for comparing the two. I know leaving comment wise, I like Blogger better. I don’t have a lot of the issues that other bloggers have, but, oddly enough, that could be because I don’t always pay attention!

    Sam

  5. Mollie
    Nov 20, 2012 @ 09:17:50

    I have wordpress..Touch me furz, it has gone OK xxooxx

    Mollie and Alfie

  6. Molly The Wally
    Nov 20, 2012 @ 09:31:17

    We prefer Blogger but as they say ‘Horses for Courses’. Have a terrific Tuesday.
    Best wishes Molly

  7. Taryn Tipton
    Nov 20, 2012 @ 09:38:30

    I like the look of Blogger better. WordPress does seem more professional looking if you are trying to combine having a website and blog as one site. Both have the ability to frustrate the hell out of users on occasion 🙂

  8. Parsley
    Nov 20, 2012 @ 09:40:24

    Hmmm well, so far I see a wash. Maybe as you go on, you’ll find other features you like or dislike.

  9. Phantom, Thunder, Ciara, and Lightning
    Nov 20, 2012 @ 09:41:07

    We have been fortunate for the most part with Blogger – knock on wood – but we are curious about WordPress too. Thanks for the comparison.

    Woos – Phantom, Thunder, Ciara, and Lightning

  10. Lily Belle
    Nov 20, 2012 @ 09:58:10

    it’s a tie game. My Mommy would be way to scared to switch now, she’s just getting use to Blogger after a year.

    But we will follow you Finn where ever you go!

    Hugs,
    Lily Belle & Muffin

  11. Val
    Nov 20, 2012 @ 10:42:33

    Thanks for the insight as I have wondered if one is “better” than the other. Give a hug to Finn for us.
    val and the girlz

  12. Bassetmomma
    Nov 20, 2012 @ 10:58:56

    It sounds like it is really just down to preference. Great breakdown! 🙂

  13. Goose
    Nov 20, 2012 @ 11:04:08

    It is a tie. MOM really appreciates our insights to this.
    Blessings,
    Goose

  14. Blueberry's human
    Nov 20, 2012 @ 11:19:24

    Thanks for telling us that! I always wondered what the difference was – now I know! 🙂

  15. Bailey
    Nov 20, 2012 @ 11:32:32

    Mama understands the beni’s of self-hosting and the risks of not doing it. She doesn’t have the desire to push forward on it. Word Press does have some nice attributes, though.

  16. Homer
    Nov 20, 2012 @ 12:01:39

    As long as I am able to ‘stalk’ you, it doesn’t matter if you are using blogger or wordpress! 😉

    Kisses,
    Homer

  17. Madi and Mom
    Nov 20, 2012 @ 12:16:07

    OH NOES FINN…MY COMMENTS GO INTO SPAM…WHAT IN THE WORLD.
    Maybe WordPress doesn’t understand my Southern Meows. Is there anything we can do to stop that? Thanks for looking for us in your spam folder.
    Hugs Madi your BFFF

  18. Stewey
    Nov 20, 2012 @ 13:23:32

    Thanks for the breakdown, Finn!
    My mom has thought about wp too for some time now, but for the most part
    likes Blogger.
    Have a good day!
    Stewey

  19. Katie and Coccolino the mini pig
    Nov 20, 2012 @ 14:15:18

    That’s great to know. I’m having so many issues with trackbacks/pingbacks and I think I will need to change my settings. Thanks for the breakdown!

    Oink oink,
    Katie and Coccolino the mini pig

  20. carraig1
    Nov 20, 2012 @ 14:42:24

    You can add another -, I still can’t like your blog. I even posted on their forum and got no replies.

  21. Daisy
    Nov 20, 2012 @ 15:46:04

    Thanks for your candid assessment. We do wonder about the differences.

    XXXOOO Daisy, Bella & Roxy

  22. Mitch and Molly
    Nov 20, 2012 @ 18:50:27

    What a great post, Finn, and very helpful! Thank you for posting this!

    Love ya lots,
    Mitch and Molly

  23. dachshundnola
    Nov 20, 2012 @ 20:52:39

    Thanks for the breakdown! I think I’ll stick with Blogger
    Nola

  24. Murphy & Stanley
    Nov 20, 2012 @ 21:20:48

    Good to know, thanks!

    Your Pals,

    Murphy & Stanley

  25. Eileen and Annie
    Nov 21, 2012 @ 03:34:47

    I’d be too scared to change, Blogger is OK for me.
    I do like your balloons and those faces on your WordPress blog 🙂

  26. Dougall
    Nov 21, 2012 @ 06:32:00

    WordPress doesn’t seem to like me, it keeps sending my comments to the spam box…

  27. bichonpawz
    Nov 22, 2012 @ 05:05:11

    We were wondering why everybody was going over to WordPress and appreciate your taking the time to write it out for us! Happy Thanksgiving to you and your family! xoxo Chloe and LadyBug

  28. Bert
    Nov 22, 2012 @ 22:05:11

    Hye Finn, just stoppin by to wish you a Happy Thanksgiving.
    Love
    Bert

