More of Seeing the Sites – Commuter Style

Dear Friends, It is ironic that I had planned this post to go up today.  I want to tell you that although I am fine, I really am, after the hurricane, I fear some of our blogging friends are not.  Do you know the Urban Hounds?  They live in Jersey City and it is not a good scene there.  Do you know Desmond?  They are on the southwest coast of Long Island and it is not a good scene there.  The news stories are true, they are real.  They are happening.  And I hope that you don’t say that you don’t know anyone that isn’t being affected anymore by this hurricane because we do.  We are quite lucky where we are because our power lines come in underground and we were in the 10% of Long Islanders who did not lose power.  On Thursday night, my husband and I took our first drive out of our little townhouse community and saw what was happening in our neighborhoods.  There is no gas.  There is no food on the shelves in stores.  There are trees down everywhere – across houses, across power lines, in the middle of major roads.  It looks like a war zone.  And this is in area without any flooding.  My parents, my in-laws, my friends, all do not have power.  My brother-in-law cannot use his water because the sewer system in his area is backed up.  It is a surreal scene.  I haven’t been to my job all week because I can’t get there on mass transit and even if I do show up there, the building doesn’t have power.  And this is now three days after the storm ended.  I know my posts are light-hearted and yes, I did teach Finn to weave through my legs and we did go to a costume party, but there are some horrible things happening in our neck of the woods and we hope we can get through them really quickly…before people start to panic – and I fear this is going to happen soon.  Please continue to send some good vibes in our direction and stop by and let the Hounds and Desmond know you are thinking about them too.

This is what I had planned for today:

It dawned on me that from your comments in some of my other Seeing the Sites posts that you think Finn is a city gal.  We live out in the suburbs, and I commute into the Big Apple daily.  So, I thought I would give you a glimpse of my commuting life.

Local Commuter Train Station

NYC Train Station

NYC Subway Stations

  

30 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. A Day In The Life Of A Goose
    Nov 02, 2012 @ 02:11:36

    We know quite a few people in the NY, DC, WV area and although we have heard from most, almost none have power right now 😦 and some far worse. It’s so sad when natural disasters happen because you feel so helpless! I’m very glad that Finn and you are safe and I hope that your friends are as well! Hopefully the power, transit, gas situation, and regular life start to get back to a normality soon! Are thoughts remain with e eryone on the East Coast!

  2. Molly The Wally
    Nov 02, 2012 @ 05:22:06

    We are glad to read you are OK and we will visit. We have not heard from some peeps we know and we are worried and hope it is only that they have no electrics. We send good vibes and best wishes. Molly

  3. cafall
    Nov 02, 2012 @ 05:59:02

    We are missing a few other blogs, including a certain blood hound who lives in a first floor apartment in Manhattan. We are anxiously waiting for updates.

    Sam

  4. Daisy
    Nov 02, 2012 @ 06:12:09

    Your train system looks much tidier than ours in Sydney.

    We will keep our paws crossed that things get sorted in your area. Our relatives in Northern VA were relatively unscathed….one had power out for a few days…but nothing as bad as you described. Of course Sandy hit land above them.

    XXXOOO Daisy, Bella & Roxy

  5. we three doxies
    Nov 02, 2012 @ 06:23:22

    My mum has family in NJ. Da whole thing is kerazy to sees on TV and my heart goes out to everybuddy dat has been affected in anyway.
    I so wouldn’t want to commute likes dat but I guess you get used to it afters awhile.

    We will continue to pray those dat was devastated by Sandy.

    Puddles

  6. Mollie
    Nov 02, 2012 @ 06:56:35

    Oh Finn, it’s such a scary time.We know Urban hounds, God I hope they are OK and all the others we don’t know. You take care and be safe 🙂 xx00xx

    Mollie and Alfie

  7. Roo
    Nov 02, 2012 @ 07:05:35

    Hey Finn,
    I am keepin my paws crossed for all those in the hard hit areas.
    Sure hope the power gets restored to the homes of your family and friends soon! What a mess.
    Stay safe my furiend.

    Waggin at ya,
    Roo

  8. Lily Belle
    Nov 02, 2012 @ 08:01:04

    We are so saddened with all the distruction. Mommy’s much loved Long Island is a total mess and it breaks her heart. We’ve tried contacting some of her furends with no luck. Everyone remains in our hearts and prayers. We pray that the lost animals will be reuinited soon with their owners. They are scared and all alone. We cry when we watch the news.

    We’re so glad that you are all safe. Please remain that way!!

    Hugs,
    Lily Belle

  9. Magic
    Nov 02, 2012 @ 08:02:06

    So happy to know that you and Finn are all safe. The pictures we saw on TV looked pretty scary. Paws crossed for your family and friends that things get back to normal very soon. Take care – woofs and licks from Magic xx

  10. 2browndawgs
    Nov 02, 2012 @ 08:35:45

    I am guessing the subways may not look like your pictures any more. It is terrible what is happening out there. Hope those effected will get some help soon.

  11. Phantom, Thunder, Ciara, and Lightning
    Nov 02, 2012 @ 09:35:29

    This is The OP Pack Mom today. We are just so saddened by what is happening there. Every day we see things worse and worse. Today we heard people there saying they fell like they are living in a war zone. That is probably a very apt description. For those of us who are living comfortably with our warm homes, good food, and easy commutes to work, it is very difficult to grasp what your area is going through. We certainly do hope something good happens soon because we are worried about how people are going to start to react with such poor and slow response to their needs. And to think they are saying another storm is on the way – it has to be almost too much for people to bear. All our thoughts and prayers are with you and your family and all the others there.

    Hugs, the OP Pack Mom

  12. Val
    Nov 02, 2012 @ 10:41:17

    thank you for the insight of your commute. We are glad you are safe and will pray for those effected by Sandy.

  13. Murphy & Stanley
    Nov 02, 2012 @ 10:54:20

    Even though we see everything reported on TV, we cannot imagine what some people are going through from this terrible storm! And we did think Finn was a city girl. Although we are sorry for your commute, we are glad Finn is able to enjoy suburbia!

    Your friends,

    Murphy & Stanley

  14. Madi and Mom
    Nov 02, 2012 @ 10:57:15

    Well said Finn and Mom…oh we do know it is real…a very good friend of Mom and Ms. Kathy lives in New Jersey. She has no services either. After a few ice cold showers in an ice cold house she is in a hotel.

    Mom just told me about 100 years ago she road the NYC subway….
    Hugs and purrs to you, your family and friends and all in your area as the cope with post Sandy
    mess
    Madi and Mom

  15. Anonymous
    Nov 02, 2012 @ 11:25:26

    We are gald you are ok. We have paws crossed that our power will be on soon

    urban hounds

  16. Whisppy
    Nov 02, 2012 @ 13:53:49

    We’re so thankful you are all okay. We are praying for our friends who were in the path of Sandy.

  17. tarynft
    Nov 02, 2012 @ 14:17:53

    I knew you worked in the city, but I didn’t realize how smack in the middle of the hurricane you really were! How scary. So glad you are OK. It’s really hard to visualize so many millions of people this storm has significantly impacted. It could not have hit a more populated area!

  18. Bouncing Bertie
    Nov 02, 2012 @ 15:20:15

    Best wishes from across the Pond to all of you who have been suffering the effects of the storm.

  19. Mitch and Molly
    Nov 02, 2012 @ 17:10:47

    We pray daily for everyone affected by StormSandy. It’s just horrible.

    Love ya lots,
    Mitch and Molly

  20. Suka
    Nov 02, 2012 @ 17:52:36

    Thank you for the update on Sandy. I don’t have a TV so I am not seeing much about the storm’s after effects and am really shocked to read it is still so bad. I am very glad you are all safe and I pray for your family, friends, and neighbors, and our fellow pet-bloggers, that things get fixed very soon. It must be very difficult to drive around and see the destruction, and know so many are still suffering and hurting.

    Thank you also for taking the time to stop by Suka’s blog with your concern. I am doing o.k. There are times that are still very difficult, and I keep expecting Suka to show up at the door. It feels as if he is just on one of his short journeys, not his forever journey. Your friendship is much appreciated. Thank you.

    KrisAnne

  21. chicamom85
    Nov 02, 2012 @ 17:52:43

    I have paws crossed and Mommy is praying for everyone affected by the storm. I hope you are doing ok now. Mommy says it will take some time, but she is praying that soon things will start to get back to normal.

    Loveys Sasha

  22. Cobi
    Nov 02, 2012 @ 22:46:20

    Dear Finn (and Finn’s people),

    Our paws are crossed and our best wishes go out to everyone – human, Dog, and otherwise. The news stories we’ve been seeing here on the other coast are horrific, and I’m sure it’s even more so to actually be in the middle of it.

    So take care, and we hope things start to get back to normal soon.

    Licks,
    Cobi & people

  23. Little Reufus
    Nov 02, 2012 @ 22:54:04

    So habby yeu are wif the tricity and recubbering. Libbing at sea lebel on the Gulf Coast in Houston, the Mom habbs the eckspearients wif the big storms. Ike whas our lasst… and she whas wif out the tricity fur 19 days. Forchewnuttly… I whas naught yet born. Ha. Long story short… Our foughts are wif all wheu are affeckted by Sandy. Whee send our lubbs and subborts. ❤
    wif lubbs from Little Reufus

  24. Murray's Mouth
    Nov 02, 2012 @ 23:52:28

    Everyday the news seems worse. Our hearts go out to all…two legs and four.

  25. Eileen and Annie
    Nov 03, 2012 @ 03:38:25

    I’m so glad you are safe and well and I hope things get back to normal soon. I’ll say a prayer for those families affected.

  26. Thor and Jack
    Nov 03, 2012 @ 14:55:49

    We have paws crossed for all of them!

  27. Raelyn
    Nov 03, 2012 @ 17:25:35

    Sandy–or “Frankenstorm”–has, actually, become more important to me this year than any hurricane ever was. Because. Although I feel for everybody who suffers, we reside clear across the country from it all!! My loved ones are safe and sound!! This year, however, is different. Very different. Because I cannot get you, or Lauren off my mind!! I worry constantly, checking your Blogs at an obsessive rate. I am so glad that you are okay!! ;op
    Love, Raelyn…. And Rose, my BEAUTIFULLY UNIQUE “Mystery Dog”!!

  28. Chicco
    Nov 04, 2012 @ 06:13:08

    hey Finn,
    we heard about the hurricane, what a tragedy, i hope that people there will resume soon.
    Take care, my friend.
    I have paws crossed!
    Woof, woof,

    Chicco

  29. Lassiter Chase and Benjamin
    Nov 04, 2012 @ 07:55:52

    Our street has the electric wires buried underground too. Mommy was just saying to Grandma — why don’t they bury everyone’s wires underground too, so if trees come down, it doesn’t take out the wires!. Our street has it buried and others in the neighborhood don’t. It’s so weird.

  30. Curt
    Nov 04, 2012 @ 23:20:09

    I am so thankful you are safe. We are keeping you all in our hearts and thoughts.

