Road Trip to Saratoga, Part IV, Malta Ecological Park

Ok, so I really enjoy Saratoga, but if it isn’t track season or ski season, the mile or so of downtown can become a bit dry, so we ventured out of town and came across the Malta Ecological Park.  (Malta is the next town over).

So, I should also tell you a little story that is slightly humiliating.  I went on this road trip with one pair of shoes – a pair of canvas sneakers that had seen better days.  Our first night in Saratoga, I discovered my big toe had worn through the canvas and the shoes are, essentially, unwearable.  I needed a new pair of shoes, and pronto.  I ran into the nearest Kohls and found a pair of flip flops on sale for $4.  I decided to go for it because:

1.  I wear a size 10W.  I was excited to find these sandals in an 11.  I mean those with big feet can understand.

2.  I think to myself that I only need to get myself through another 24 hours in Saratoga, and so, flip-flops will be fine (mind you it is raining and autumn, but I do not fear.)

Now we come upon an ecological park.  Unpaved trails.  Flipflops.  We decide to give it a try because we are over Saratoga.

My feet become muddy instantaneously.  We find a tick on Finn.  Even thought it hadn’t started to burrow, now I wonder if this is where we began to have our recent tick troubles!  We do a quick tick check of Finn’s body.  We do a quick tick check on my feet and lower legs.  We climb back in the car.  We spent a total of 7 minutes at the ecological park.  I am sure it is lovely, but I lost control of my sanity after the tick sighting.  And my toes were cold and muddy.

30 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. 2browndawgs
    Oct 24, 2012 @ 08:05:44

    Oh no. It looks like a nice place, but I am with you on the tick thing. I would have been out of there too. No way would I have attempted it in flip-flops because my feet would have cramped up from the cold…lol. (Even a little cold can do it.)

    Do you know how long after exposure that disease to develops?

  2. Molly The Wally
    Oct 24, 2012 @ 08:10:34

    Oh dear. Don’t think we’d like to be in tick country. We once went to some woods were there were vets numbers for adder bites. We left straight away and went somewhere else. Have a wonderful Wednesday.
    Best wishes Molly

  3. cafall
    Oct 24, 2012 @ 09:19:41

    Oh no! We’ve had hikes like that, and yes, a bug infestation usually sucks all the fun out of anything!

    Sam

  4. Madi and Mom
    Oct 24, 2012 @ 09:59:11

    OH MY DOGS….winter of 2011 was not cold enough anywhere. Spring and summer of 2012 was absolutely bug infested. We are accustomed to bugs here in the South due to the heat, rain and humidity but we had more this year and it appears you all did too. I hate ticks and fleas there are so small and hard to see. Thank goodness you found them and now Finn is being treated.
    Here’s hoping you have a cold enough winter to make next spring and summer buglesss.
    hugs Madi your BFFF and Mom

  5. Bassetmomma
    Oct 24, 2012 @ 10:31:08

    A whole 7 minutes! You must have been exhausted! LOL! Seriously, I don’t blame you one bit for cutting that outing short. Flip flops and trails would not be a good combo and then ticks….yikes! I’d be outta there so fast too!

  6. robynwp
    Oct 24, 2012 @ 11:23:33

    Mom says you did the right thing…we’ve never had ticks but we trust what mom says, so we think you did the right thing too!

    Wally & Sammy

  7. Murphy & Stanley
    Oct 24, 2012 @ 11:26:17

    Mom says she’d have no patience with those ticks either!

    Your pals,

    Murphy & Stanley

  8. Blueberry's human
    Oct 24, 2012 @ 11:52:52

    I probably would have left soon after the tick sighting too. Those things creep me out!

    And flip flops? Tsk tsk – that’s so funny!

  9. Jacobi
    Oct 24, 2012 @ 12:08:01

    Dear Finn,
    That looks like a wonderful place to Sniff! Did you find some interesting things?
    Licks,
    Cobi

  10. Goose
    Oct 24, 2012 @ 13:41:52

    It did look like a lovely 7 minutes. But with flip flops I can see why you left and add a tick to that. Yea smart choice.
    Blessings,
    Goose

  11. Asta
    Oct 24, 2012 @ 14:13:23

    Hehehehe, Finn,
    Mommi wouldn’t have lasted that long once she saw the tick and the mud. Wawm , cozy wooms sound mowe and mowe enticing, hehehe
    Glad that howwid tick didn’t buwwow
    Smoochie kisses
    Asta

  12. Katie and Coccolino the mini pig
    Oct 24, 2012 @ 14:26:48

    Oh no! Ticks are no fun. Smart choice!
    Oink oink,
    Katie and Coccolino the mini pig

  13. we three doxies
    Oct 24, 2012 @ 15:20:42

    Bwhahahahaha…I is SOOOOO sorry I is laughin’ but I swear dis is stuffs dat would happen to my mum…but hers would never be ables to fin a pair of shoes.
    You such a hoot.

    Puddles

  14. Daisy
    Oct 24, 2012 @ 16:25:56

    It LOOKS like a beautiful place. Too bad it had ticks. You could probably put up with the mud.

    XXXOOO Daisy, Bella & Roxy

  15. Dougall
    Oct 24, 2012 @ 16:38:58

    Uh oh, ticks are no good!

  16. Higgins
    Oct 24, 2012 @ 16:42:27

    Flip flops and ticks….yikes!!! The pictures are beautiful!!!

    ~Higgins

  17. Mitch and Molly
    Oct 24, 2012 @ 17:03:05

    Mom freaks when she sees a tick too. She’s got to get rid of it asap or she goes nuts!
    Flip flops in October?!

    Love ya lots,
    Mitch and Molly

  18. kate
    Oct 24, 2012 @ 17:51:53

    Guess what, our mom grew up there!

    urban hounds

  19. Sarge
    Oct 24, 2012 @ 18:39:19

    Hey Finn!
    Wow, if our peeps would just learn to enjoy going barefoot like us! Mud between our pads is the bestest feeling! BOL
    Grr and Woof,
    Sarge, COP

  20. Henry's Human, Sue
    Oct 24, 2012 @ 19:38:10

    Yikes! We have not experienced ticks yet. The pictures were beautiful…but I would have beat you to the exit!

  21. Raelyn
    Oct 24, 2012 @ 22:22:29

    Finn’s Mom….
    Your story reminded me of a time when we attended some kid’s birthday. He requested this scavenger hunt. Outside. On their acres and acres of muddy, bramble-littered, branch-filled property!! And. Me, an asthmatic-inflicted, out-of-shape, never-been-agile crazy woman decided to participate. With nothing but orange-colored croc-like shoes on my feet!! Bad idea!! All the while the kid’s gentlemanly uncle having my back. I was a bit embarrassed!! Amazingly, however, our team won!! ;-D
    Huh!! And you think you’re insane!! Wanna compete? ;op
    Love, Raelyn…. And Rose, my BEAUTIFULLY UNIQUE “Mystery Dog”!!

  22. chicamom85
    Oct 25, 2012 @ 03:26:31

    It looks beautiful, but those ticks freak my Mommy out also.

    Loveys Sasha

  23. Roo
    Oct 25, 2012 @ 06:42:25

    Finn that has to be the quickest walkie ever! BOL!
    Sorry you were attacked by ticks. Maybe when the weather cools some more they’ll all be deaded 🙂

    Waggin at ya,
    Roo

  24. Lassiter Chase and Benjamin
    Oct 25, 2012 @ 08:51:02

    Bad ticks! Why do fleas and ticks have to ruin all our fun! The walk sounded like fun — before the whole tick thing though.

  25. Parsley
    Oct 25, 2012 @ 09:19:49

    Just a thought about going on outings where ticks are found…could you spray citronella on Finn’s legs to repel them? Ask your vet.

  26. Kirsten
    Oct 25, 2012 @ 11:17:51

    I wear sandals as long as I can into the fall/winter and early as possible in the spring. Ticks are far from my favorite beasts but a small price to pay for a fun outing, I always figure.

  27. Mollie
    Oct 25, 2012 @ 16:04:07

    Oh I’ve never had ticks but we nose doggie’s who have. That’s a good idea in your comments, citronella, Wez heard listrin mouth wash is good too. Looks such a wonderful place. xx00xx

    Mollie and Alfie

  28. Smile with your tail
    Oct 25, 2012 @ 16:30:22

    Looks gorgeous, besides the icky tickys!

  29. tweedles
    Oct 25, 2012 @ 21:14:08

    Thank you for your kind thoughts of love and healing for my mommy
    love
    tweedles

  30. Cotton
    Oct 25, 2012 @ 21:24:58

    It’s a beautiful place! Careful, girl, I’ve had ticks before and they’re no good! Wash your toes 🙂
    Cotton

