We Went to the Vet Yesterday

Hewwwow!  Finnackles here.  I wanted to let you know about my trip to the vet yesterday.  It was just for the normal six month check-up.  Momma wants to let you know that even though we have been walking EVERYWHERE in our attempts at Operation Phat, I still need to lose two pounds!  Ughghg.  Now, since she has been cutting back my food and has been walking me, she wonders if someone else in the house is feeding me extra treats.  I told her NOOOOO WAY.

Would I lie to you?

ANNNNNND…even though I get treated for ticks every three weeks since we live in a woody place, I have been diagnosed with ehrlichia.  Momma feels sick about the whole thing.  Because she’s the one who applies the tick medication on me religiously.  We were told to come back today to pick up the meds and I have to take it every day for a month.  I told her I don’t wanna because I haven’t been exhibiting any of the symptoms, you know???

So, she is wondering if any of you have ever had that???

42 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Roo
    Oct 22, 2012 @ 06:06:42

    Well nuts Finn. Bad ol ticks! Arg! Sounds like your vet caught it early though and you’ll be rid of the bacteria soon. Only good thing about meds is you get more treats 🙂 Guess operation phat will be on the back burner for a bit. Oh well 😉

    Waggin at ya,
    Roo

  2. Magic
    Oct 22, 2012 @ 06:13:05

    Bad news about the ticks Finn – and the weight. Hope the meds sort out the problem. We’ve never had that illness – paws crossed – so can’t help you with any other information – sorry! Take care – woofs and licks from Magic xx

  3. Mollie
    Oct 22, 2012 @ 06:22:00

    Well’z you’z look’z just purfect to me’ z Finn..Oh, I’z never had a tick..Hope’z the cream work’z will quick 🙂 xx00xx

    Mollie and Alfie

  4. Molly The Wally
    Oct 22, 2012 @ 06:37:03

    We have never had that. Good luck Finn with the diet and meds. Have a lovely Monday.
    Best wishes Molly

  5. Dougall
    Oct 22, 2012 @ 06:41:02

    Oh dear, you’d better take the medicine, even if you don’t feel sickie!

  6. 2browndawgs
    Oct 22, 2012 @ 07:28:29

    I had to google it because I have never heard of that particular disease. The tick meds are just preventative so your mom should not feel bad. Sometimes they fail. I sure hope the meds clear it up quickly. It sounds very treatable.

    So did they diagnose with a blood test?

  7. Madi and Mom
    Oct 22, 2012 @ 07:44:42

    OH Noes Finn don’t tell me the dreaded D word was mentioned for you too. I had only gained
    2 ounces from last July to this July and Dr. Vet utter the D word too.

    Oh my gosh what are those nasty ticks doing biting my sweet girl? I don’t go outside but we do have lots of pine trees and pine straw. Ticks love to hide in them. Mom threatens to make Dad disrobe in the garage sometimes.
    MOL
    Hugs Madi your BFFF

  8. Katie and Coccolino the mini pig
    Oct 22, 2012 @ 09:08:54

    You look pretty good to us, Finn! Hope we don’t fatten you up too much with this: My Mini Pet Pig
    Oink oink,
    Katie and Coccolino the mini pig

  9. Casey the Boxer
    Oct 22, 2012 @ 09:36:32

    Ticks just can’t leave you alone ’cause you’re so sweet! It sounds like your v-e-t caught it early, though, so hopefully it won’t be too bad!

  10. remington
    Oct 22, 2012 @ 09:37:30

    Ticks are BAD! ICKY! Take care, my friend….

  11. Sam
    Oct 22, 2012 @ 09:43:10

    We are lucky and don’t have ticks or fleas where we live in AZ. We still check, but so far so good! (Knocks on wood – just to be safe). Sam lost a few of those pesky pounds when we were vacations. The boys got 4 walks a day, one of which was letting them loose in the dog run.

    Sam

  12. robynwp
    Oct 22, 2012 @ 09:57:19

    Oh dear Miss Finn…sorry about the ticks. We can’t believe your dogter says you need to shed more weight – you look just perfect to us!
    Wally & Sammy

  13. Lily Belle
    Oct 22, 2012 @ 10:03:52

    Holy Guacamole Finn! Just how did you get that? My Mom just looked it up and it’s not something to be taken lightly. Please be a good girl and be sure to take your med’s. No giving Mom a hard time about it!! Maybe you can blame the weight gain on the ticks….

    Hugs,
    Lily Belle & Muffin

  14. Frankie Furter and Ernie
    Oct 22, 2012 @ 10:24:30

    OMD OMD FINN… I have never even HEARD of this one… I know about LYME Disease butt this is NEW to me. Glad that it was caught EARLY.
    Now that Tick stuffs… WE get it RELIGIOUSLY also… butt it does NOT keep the Ticks from getting on and starting to suck our blood.. it only Kills them after they get started to be the VAMPIRES that they are. SO your mom should NOT feel guilty. it is the nasty Ticks… not HER>

  15. harrispen
    Oct 22, 2012 @ 10:29:07

    Sorry to hear you are not well, but at least you aren’t feeling bad from it.

    Cindy

  16. Bassetmomma
    Oct 22, 2012 @ 10:40:52

    Poor Finnackles!! I’ve never even heard of that ehrlichia but it sounds nasty! It must have really upset your Momma since she treats you for ticks so religiously. Hopefully the meds make it all better though. Now that diet it sucks! I’m trying to get Freddie to lose some weight because of his hips. But since I put him on the salmon oil, it just doesn’t seem to be working. 😦

  17. Goose
    Oct 22, 2012 @ 11:01:43

    You look good to me girl. Where are you suppose to lose those 2lbs? Don’t know what to say about the tick thing. I know your momma is upset, but from all I know she is a great caretaker. I have not had a tick in all my 12 and 1/2 years. MOM always checks me after we have been in the mountains, but none. I guess I don’t taste as sweet as you.
    Blessings,
    Goose

  18. Kirsten
    Oct 22, 2012 @ 11:11:48

    Huh–that’s so weird! Ticks are really nasty; I try to love all creatures but ticks are definitely a challenge. We find them on the pups sometimes but no tick-borne diseases, yet!

  19. Blueberry's human
    Oct 22, 2012 @ 12:27:13

    You aren’t fat – just fluffy! Although because of the treats I give Blueberry I do cut down on her dog food and that definitely helped her lose a few more pounds!

    I have never had a dog with that particular disease. Glad it is curable though and that’s great that she is not exhibiting symptoms!

  20. dachshundnola
    Oct 22, 2012 @ 13:07:51

    Yuck, ticks! Poor baby 😦
    You’re just fluffy! I went and got weighed yesterday and yay! Mom’s upping my food a bit because I need to gain a few ounces
    Nola

  21. Julia Williams
    Oct 22, 2012 @ 13:27:53

    I have not heard of that disease either, but I hope the meds help you. I know you’ll be a good girl and take them if the doc thinks they are necessary … right? I think you can lose those two pounds because it sounds like your Mom is doing everything right, it just takes time! And I have been trying to lose two pounds for like, forever! So don’t feel bad, BOL.

  22. Kari
    Oct 22, 2012 @ 14:21:56

    Oh we have heard that ticks can be nasty even with the medication 😦 I am so sorry

    Stop on by for a visit
    Kari
    http://dogisgodinreverse.com

  23. Daisy
    Oct 22, 2012 @ 16:09:29

    We haven’t heard of that sicky before either. We’re lucky that we don’t really get ticks and fleas right where we live. It’s very uncommon. Bummer about the two pounds. Maybe you should get some beans and carrots in your bowl as a filler. Seems to be working here.

    XXXOOO Daisy, Bella & Roxy

  24. Raelyn
    Oct 22, 2012 @ 16:49:21

    Finn….
    Two pounds?! That’s it?! You only have to lose two pounds? Good job, girl!! Keep going!! 😉
    Ehrlichia. I have never heard of that ailment!! 😦
    Take care. And swallow that medicine!! It will make you better!! ;op
    Love, Raelyn…. And Rose, my BEAUTIFULLY UNIQUE “Mystery Dog”!!

  25. Urban Hounds
    Oct 22, 2012 @ 16:50:50

    So glad we found your new blog as you know from our post we HATE ticks. It seems there is almost no way to get rid of them.

    urban hounds

  26. Murray's Mouth
    Oct 22, 2012 @ 17:25:44

    No, never heard of it! 😦

  27. Mitch and Molly
    Oct 22, 2012 @ 17:40:33

    I have lyme disease and recently had a flare-up but I was a good boy and took my Doxy and I was back to my normal self in a few days, Finn.
    Make sure you take your medicine. We want you all better soon!

    Love ya lots,
    Mitch and Molly

  28. Goose
    Oct 22, 2012 @ 18:05:13

    Those darn ticks will work their magic and get you…pft! Don’t feel bad, Finn’s Mom! At least it’s only a month’s worth of meds and then hopefully you’ll be right as rain! 😀

  29. Murphy & Stanley
    Oct 22, 2012 @ 18:20:45

    We don’t have a tic problem here. We don’t have fleas either. Being in a semi arid climate does offer a few advantages. We are sorry you have to take medicine but you better do what the vet says!

    Your pals,

    Murphy & Stanley

  30. Sarge
    Oct 22, 2012 @ 18:47:46

    Hey Finn!
    Wow, my Mom had to consult Mr Webster about that rotten tick thing you got! I’m so sorry to hear you have that, but your dogtor will fix you all up. Healing vibes headed out to you. BTW: I love that puppy pix on your header!
    Grr and Woof,
    Sarge, COP

  31. Parsley
    Oct 22, 2012 @ 19:40:32

    Hey Finn! You look like a perfect weight to me. As to the tick borne illness, yes, we know about it. It only takes one bite from a tick to get sick so tell your momma it’s not her fault. One thing for you to know is that it does reoccur, especially under stress. I’d tell mom that diets are stressful. Lol. Hugs and prayers you get that nasty yuck out of your system.

  32. Val
    Oct 22, 2012 @ 20:44:52

    We hate da ticks and make sure you take your meds like the Dr. says. 🙂

  33. dorysbackyard
    Oct 22, 2012 @ 20:54:37

    Oh man…the V-E-T is no fun! Hopefully the medicine will get it under control!

    Smileys!
    Dory

  34. Jen
    Oct 22, 2012 @ 22:34:16

    Sorry to hear that about the ticks Finn! We have never had that here but we know that the flea and tick medicine can be tricky to apply on thick coats!

  35. Stella and Rory from Down Under
    Oct 22, 2012 @ 22:38:11

    Howdy Finn, sorry about the tick stuffs. We don’t really know much about them except they make you sick if they stay on sucking your bloods. Shudder. They are nasty little buxxars! Did you tell the Vet your name was FINN, not phat? Two pounds doesn’t sound worth worrying about. Take it easy sweetie pie. No worries, and love, Stella and Rory

  36. Cobi
    Oct 22, 2012 @ 23:49:59

    Dear Finn,

    Oh no – the terrible-horrible-no-good-very-bad-place-called-vet!!

    I have never heard of… whatever that is. Are you sure the nice-person-does-bad-things-named-vet didn’t make it up?

    I too have a problem with my “sweater”. I think it makes me looks fantastic, but my person says I need to lose my sweater so my skin feels like a t-shirt instead. This is very unfortunate, especially with all the yummy soups and stews the people cook in the fall. Sigh.

    Good luck with all this!
    Cobi

  37. Meeka
    Oct 23, 2012 @ 01:27:24

    You need to lose two pounds? Nah, you probably drank too much water before going to the vet.

  38. Tootsie
    Oct 23, 2012 @ 02:53:58

    Hi, Finn,

    As a fellow dog who has struggled with weight loss, I know how hard it can be to lose two pounds! I used to be 20 pounds. Now I weigh 10.5 pounds. I went from fat to fit! My mom was a total task master. My special weight loss food helped. The other thing that really helped me were carrot and green bean treats in the middle of the day. My vet said it was fine to eat as many carrots and green beans and sweet potatoes, too. That helped me with the last stage from 16 pounds down to 12 pounds. Last Christmas, I went back up to 14 pounds, and my mom freaked out. Anyway… all to say… you can do it! Slow and steady.

    Your friend in walkies.
    Tootsie

  39. bichonpawz
    Oct 23, 2012 @ 04:55:43

    We have never heard of that Finn…and we are sorry to hear that you are suffering with this awful thing. Ticks are BAD. When we were in Minnesota, we saw many of them!! Hope you feel better soon buddy!! xoxo Chloe and LadyBug (ps…tell your mom not to feel bad as she’s doing just what she is supposed to be doing. And also…we love your new blog!)

  40. Taryn
    Oct 23, 2012 @ 13:01:24

    I didn’t read all the comments so someone may have already mentioned this…..Erlichia is a tropical tick-born disease. It was brought to the US with the military dogs returning from the Vietnam War. Unfortunately, it has spread across the country. Left untreated, it is a fatal disease. Even w/ antibiotics, it never really goes away. The reason I know these fun facts is because both my boys have had it/been treated/ and still show a very light positive for it everytime they are tested. Wilson was originally tested because he was depressed and low energy, and his blood counts were bad. Jimmy was diagnosed as part of the heart worm/lyme/erlichia test the vet does at check-up time. He had no symptoms. Once treated they are usually OK but it can re-emerge if the dog’s immune system gets too weak. With a generally healthy dog, the antibiotics will keep it in check.

    The ticks in my area are a nightmare! Wilson has had Lyme, Erlichia, and Rocky Mountain Spotted Fever, Jimmy has had RMSF and Erlichia, and I have had Lyme and RMSF!

    • finnhoward
      Oct 23, 2012 @ 13:04:12

      Thank you for your comment! I was reading last night that she could become infected again if she gets stressed, etc. I can’t believe all the things you’ve had there too!!!

  41. Stewey
    Oct 23, 2012 @ 13:07:45

    Finn – you don’t look phat to me. You look perfect, just the way you are! And, I’m sure that you would never lie ’bout someone else slipping you an occasional treat 😉
    I never had that ehrlichia problem, but I have had ringworm 😦
    That causes lesions, which I lick incessantly to try to stop the itch. Then, my mom gives me anti-itch medicine and anti-lick cream(that smells like pickles). So, my family calls me “Pickle Foot” sometimes – sigh 😦
    Hope you feel better soon, Finn!
    Stewey

