Road Trip to Saratoga, Part I, Comfort Inn

I had a little business to take care of in Saratoga Springs, NY, and we decided to make it a family affair.  We stayed for a few days at the Comfort Inn, about 5 miles from the downtown region.  The front desk staff was super friendly.  I mean, my friend Austin just loved to greet Finn with treats!

They had a little doggie area for guests to do their business, and all dogs were staying on the first floor.

Finn had a great time sniffing around, and we did our best to make her feel like home.

Buuuut, she never really seemed to get settled in.  She woke up to every noise in the hallway during the night and thus, so did I.  She bolted for the exit door everytime we left the building too.

You will see from the rest of my posts from our trip that we had a great time together, but I have to say, Finn being this unsettled was unsettling for me.  I would prefer her to be at the pet sitters where she is happy without us, than uncomfortable for a few days with us.

40 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Bassetmomma
    Oct 16, 2012 @ 06:05:20

    Awwwe! Poor Finn! It’s too bad she wasn’t that comfortable at the Inn. I don’t think my guys would be either, it’s just not something familiar. Your like me, if they don’t sleep, we don’t sleep so yes, I agree that being happy at the pet sitters would be best for everyone. But hey, at least you tried! 🙂

  2. Mollie
    Oct 16, 2012 @ 06:15:45

    Oh that’s a shame, as you said, you can’t really enjoy yourself with an unsettled dog. I think she would be happier at the sitters 🙂 Like Bassetmomma said, you tried. xx00xx
    Mollie and Alfie

  3. kaska2000
    Oct 16, 2012 @ 06:50:27

    Sorry to hear that Finn didn’t settle. It is a strange environment for dogs to be in a hotel or travel inn. I think it’s something they can get used to if they’ve done it from being really young but Finn’s probably happier at the pet sitters for now 🙂 – Leigh

  4. Daisy
    Oct 16, 2012 @ 06:56:42

    A good experience….we would probably be us all night, as well. Strange sounds and people are not very comforting to us. But we’re amazed that you got to stay in a motel, Finn!

    XXXOOO Daisy, bella & Roxy

  5. Molly The Wally
    Oct 16, 2012 @ 08:09:42

    Finn must have just been overwhelmed by everything new. We look forward to hearing more. Have a terrific Tuesday.
    Best wishes Molly

  6. Parsley
    Oct 16, 2012 @ 08:22:56

    We don’t sleep well in hotels either. Now we have a small trailer and that is our home away from home. A hotel is just a kennel for humans ya know… Ha!

  7. Lily Belle
    Oct 16, 2012 @ 08:40:38

    Oh Finn, how we know that unsettled feeling well! The same thing is gonna happen to us when we travel to Florida in a few weeks. Every little noise that goes bump in the dark Muffin and I just gotta bark at. Then Mommy doesn’t get much sleep because she’s afraid that we’re gonna jump off the big bed and get hurt. Mommy does let us run the hallways late at night when no one is looking. That give us a little bit of leg stretching after being in the car all day.

    Too bad I can’t fly bcuz that would be so much easier. But I’m just a tad too big to go under the seat and Mommy will NOT put me in cargo.

    On another note, I can’t believe you were so close to us in Saratoga Springs! Had I had know, I would have given you a few really loud barks for you to hear.

    Hugs,
    Lily Belle & Muffin

  8. carraig1
    Oct 16, 2012 @ 09:07:17

    Poor Finn. Some dogs just don’t do well with change.Chalk it up to experience.

  9. remington
    Oct 16, 2012 @ 09:10:50

    I agree with you Finn….I don’t think I would like to spend the night in a Inn….strangers all over the place! We always have to be on guard….that IS our job!

  10. Goose
    Oct 16, 2012 @ 09:20:28

    I guess such a new environment sort of puts us on guard. We are looking forward to seeing more of your trip. And Finn girl it’s OK, you were just making sure everything was OK for your family. I do the same thing.
    Blessings,
    Goose

  11. Phantom, Thunder, Ciara, and Lightning
    Oct 16, 2012 @ 09:51:06

    Mom says we would all have been unsettled too. But maybe after a few similar trips, Finn would do better. We think it would be great to go along with the humans, but taking four of us would really be a challenge.

    Woos – Phantom, Thunder, Ciara, and Lightning

  12. Frankie Furter and Ernie
    Oct 16, 2012 @ 09:58:23

    Awwwww Finn I am sorry that you didn’t get must REST. BUTT somebuddy had to be sure the peeps were SAFE in this strange place.

  13. robynwp
    Oct 16, 2012 @ 10:17:33

    On the bright side…you had a new experience and learnt that you aren’t too keen on it, so your mom and dad won’t feel bad about sending you to a dog sitter in future!

    You always look like you have HUGE grin on your face Finn – we love it!!
    Wally & Sammy

  14. Blueberry's human
    Oct 16, 2012 @ 11:04:36

    Or you can keep taking her to get her used to it! That is a little unsettling. I want to take Blueberry up north to some cabins – and I am curious to see how she does sleeping in a strange place.

  15. Eileen and Annie
    Oct 16, 2012 @ 11:58:33

    Poor Finn, not happy being away from home and it was all strange for her. She’s letting you know she’ll be happier with the pet sitters next time!

  16. Katie and Coccolino the mini pig
    Oct 16, 2012 @ 13:57:47

    Oh poor Finn! Never fun to be away from home!
    Oink oink,
    Katie and Coccolino the mini pig

  17. Murphy & Stanley
    Oct 16, 2012 @ 16:06:44

    At least she didn’t bark at every sound. Mom thinks we would bark too much. But now at least you know!

    Your friends who travel in a trailer,

    Murphy & Stanley

  18. Madi and Mom
    Oct 16, 2012 @ 16:07:11

    Madi’s Mom here: Finn I can totally relate to that problem. I hear every little noise when I’m in hotels too and the worst is when your room is near the elevator or the ice machine
    Hugs from Madi and Mom

  19. Katy
    Oct 16, 2012 @ 16:47:51

    Got to love dog-friendly hotels! Makes travelling so much nicer! And yes, the noises are always strange and Betty never sleeps quite as well as she does at home 🙂

  20. Mitch and Molly
    Oct 16, 2012 @ 18:16:08

    We think that we would be a bit unsettled too, Finn. We’d want to bark at all of those strange noises.

    Love ya lots,
    Mitch and Molly

  21. acd6pack
    Oct 16, 2012 @ 19:36:46

    I know exactly what you mean about unsettled. We had a group of four who wouldn’t settle when we were traveling to West Virginia to adopt Azule. Camping is SO much better and quieter!

  22. 2browndawgs
    Oct 16, 2012 @ 20:56:34

    As you know, we take our dogs to hotels quite a bit. It is not uncommon for them to act like Finn. The first night is usually the worst and then we make sure they get good and tired so the second is better. The more they go the better they handle it. The first time Storm was in a hotel was a bit of a disaster. She was not at all happy. Sounds a lot like Finn. But we continued to take her now and again and these days she is quite happy. She will still alert to strange sounds, but for the most part she is relaxed.

  23. Freya Rose Blossom
    Oct 16, 2012 @ 21:34:22

    Happy birthday and we luvs you lots x x xx for being there x x x

  24. dachshundnola
    Oct 16, 2012 @ 22:11:10

    Poor girl! Nola got antsy the first few times we stayed in hotels, but now she’s a pro!
    Nola’s MOm

  25. chicamom85
    Oct 17, 2012 @ 01:44:25

    Finn, I know how you feel. I don’t like all those strange noises so I don’t do well in hotels either. I would rather just go home. I hope maybe you will get more used to it.

    LOveys Sasha

  26. Declan Greyhound
    Oct 17, 2012 @ 06:11:14

    Oh that’s a tough one. I’ve never stayed in a hotel…..but I’ve never been left at pet sitters either! Deccy x

  27. Kirsten
    Oct 17, 2012 @ 10:57:48

    Sorry she didn’t settle in, I don’t blame her. My dogs used to love staying in hotels…the crisp bedspreads seemed to feel really good against their backs, and they’d climb up and roll around and make those happy groaning growling noises.

  28. Bert
    Oct 17, 2012 @ 11:23:16

    Hey Finn, Sorry you were nervous, Maybe you should go a couple more times to be sure you would rather be at the sitters or with your human. Either way as long as you are having fun, that is what matters.
    Bert

  29. Julia Williams
    Oct 17, 2012 @ 11:54:47

    I’m surprised, because I always thought dogs just kinda went with the flow and weren’t that unsettled in a new situation. Shows what I know, BOL!! What I do know is that cats definitely don’t enjoy such things. I stayed one night in a motel with my three cats when I drove them 1000 miles to my new home, and it was quite the experience. I ended up taking the entire bed apart because they had gone into hiding in the box springs. 🙂

  30. Christine
    Oct 17, 2012 @ 11:56:20

    Oh so sorry Finn! We’ll have a similar problem when we travel to New Jersey and New York in the spring. Brando and Humphrey are fine in hotels, but Ziggy and CoCo bark at every noise. They scratch on the door trying to get at the scary sound that caused them to stir. Being that we’ve stayed in tons of hotels the last 3 months, I thought they would get better, but they didn’t. Finn, you need to be where you’re happy and comfortable.

  31. Missy@dawsondogs
    Oct 17, 2012 @ 12:10:00

    So neat that Austin took the time to make his valuble guests feel so important. Now that’s service.

  32. Raelyn
    Oct 17, 2012 @ 17:07:04

    Finn….
    I am sorry that you could not get settled in that hotel, girl!! Were there too many suspecting smells there? That would drive any canine crazy!!
    Love, Raelyn…. And Rose, my BEAUTIFULLY UNIQUE “Mystery Dog”!!

  33. Goose
    Oct 17, 2012 @ 18:29:48

    Aw, Finn, I’m sorry that you were unsettled during your stay! Maybe it was the weird hotel noises or maybe it was all the other pups staying at the hotel or maybe you just wanted to investigate everything? Too much for one pup to do, huh?! 😉 I’m glad that you did have a fun time with your family though, can’t wait to see more photos!

  34. dorysbackyard
    Oct 17, 2012 @ 19:09:25

    Dory would wake up and bark at every noise….poor babies, there’s no place like home right?

    Smileys!
    Dory and the Mama

  35. wyatt
    Oct 18, 2012 @ 00:52:17

    We are uneasy at hotels too. But, mostly it is because we want to go out and look around (all night long)……we can smell the ocean and the forest and good food…BOL!

    Wyatt and Stanzie

  36. Thor and Jack
    Oct 18, 2012 @ 08:58:23

    Oh Finn, sorry to hear that you was unsettled in that hotel. We understand you!

    Thor and Jack

  37. Val
    Oct 18, 2012 @ 12:39:12

    Poor Girl…it’s tough to be in a new place with all those noises. I love the last picture of her, she’s smiling so BIG!! give your sweet girl a hug from me.

  38. Lee
    Oct 18, 2012 @ 17:59:04

    Oh Finn I wish you could get use to traveling, it can be great fun. We always stay at Baymont Inns. They treat me so nice. Lee just puts my Lands End bed on the floor and I drift off. The only time I growl is when they put that darn bill under the door at about four in the morning. Usually they put us on the second floor. Lee leaves me at the desk when she get her Continental breakfast then we take it back to the room and share.
    Thanks for being a friend
    Sweet William The Scot

  39. Roo
    Oct 19, 2012 @ 06:48:01

    Aww Finn you missed your home. Maybe with practice you will enjoy goin on adventures with your peeps 🙂

    Waggin at ya,
    Roo

  40. Little Reufus
    Oct 20, 2012 @ 23:03:24

    O Sweetheart, I amb so sorry yeu were unsettled! It iss berry good teu keeb yeur folks on their toes though… And it does look like yeur trib whas berry berry fun!~

    wif lubbs from Little Reufus

