Marketplace Monday – Dog Park Finder

I wanted to tell you about an app that Bailey mentioned on her blog for your I-phone.  It’s called Dog Park Finder.  It’s $2.99 to download and you have to turn your location navigator on so the app can find you and tell you what’s around.  There’s a setting for dog-friendly restaurants and dog-friendly parks.

I was slightly disappointed when I turned mine on and saw how little dog parks there were in the area.  I knew there were more parks that existed than those that were coming up in my app.  I wonder if the app relies on users adding parks and eateries.  You can also read reviews of the places, but again, there didn’t seem to be any reviews or photographs available of the places either.  But it links you to each place’s website so you can read more about it.

I decided to give this app it’s fair go of it, and so I looked up a park that was a good half hour away from us and asked for it to give me directions, and off we went!  We found our way there and completely enjoyed ourselves!

Want to know why we are sitting
in front of a pile of bricks?
There was an Eagle Scout project to
replace the brick walkway!  Nice job!
So my review – I think it’s a great app, but I think until more people know about it and use it, then it will be lacking.  It did tell me about parks and restaurants that I didn’t know about before, and I think it would be great if you were on a road trip with your furry friend and didn’t know anywhere dog friendly around you (exactly how Bailey used it when she mentioned it!).  But for everyday uses in your neck of the woods, it’s probably not the best tool.

Comments are closed.

