Confessions from Finnie’s Momma

I admit it. Getting Finn wasn’t my idea. Well, let’s rewind.

I never had any pets growing up, as my veteran readers know. My husband grew up with dogs and he wanted a dog for us, and so I went along. When it came to pick out a dog, yes, I stood amongst many choices of dogs and pointed her out and said, “That one, please.” But I had no idea what I was getting myself into.

This is my first confession:  I used to google, “I hate my puppy.” Yes, I thought I was going to kill her. The crying, the whining, the biting, the constant need to pee. To poop. The walking, the training, the shots, the vet. I wanted to kill her. I read every person who agreed with me – they were puppy owners who were losing it…slowly…as they raised their dog. Then I kept reading, “wait,” they said, “you will love your dog in a year.” I thought it would never happen. How could I love this…animal….this dirty thing who was suddenly, and without any real planning, in my life. For like, ten years. Or more. *gulp*

So, I started to blog about Finn. I thought it if could see her grow and mature, I would learn to love her. This is my second confession: Blogging has enriched Finn’s little life.  And mine.  The toy reviews, training tips, advice on Finn’s wacky behavior. She has benefitted from this leaps and bounds. And so have I. I have a constant flow of different ideas from folks around the world. And for that, I thank you. I thank you for welcoming Finnie and a I into Blogville, giving us a place to laugh and share our crazy stories, and for giving us inspiration to try new things.

This is my third confession: Somewhere along the line, I didn’t have to learn to love Finn anymore, I just did. I can’t remember when it exactly happened, but one day I stopped dreading to take her out, I looked at her pictures and a big smile came across my face, and at some point, I knew I was sold. I want to thank you all, my readers, my inspiration, for being there whenever it was that I fell in love with Finn.  You have all meant the world to us and have made such a difference in our lives!

Comments are closed.

